Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search See all 49 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Application, Implementation Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire14 January 2019
With the right funding the hospital could thrive, the work place culture can be a little down and disheartening due to the lack of support from the government. The most enjoyable part of the job is making a difference to patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough workplace in light of national NHS changes
Molecular Biologist & Resident Bioinformatician (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire17 December 2018
Tough place to work in light of government legislation, but the camaraderie within the team is excellent, providing the best and most thoughtful care for patients.
Pros
Team support
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Service Assistant
Food Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  QMC13 December 2018
If you decide to be a food service assistant, just give you heads up, your working week is a 6 day week. You work a 7 week rota, so you work 4 weekends on, get a Friday / Saturday off then a Saturday/ Sunday off then Sunday/ Monday off. So only 1 weekend off in 7. The jobs not difficult depends what ward you are because some are really busy. Most people are friendly .
Pros
Pay
Cons
To many weekends, needs looking at because it’s not working if you have a high turnover of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very informative
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Nottingham25 November 2018
Consisted of two training days within the medical field, first aid course, diagnosis training. Food was provided at the uni and extra work experience opportunities were available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Clinical Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire6 November 2018
A typical day at work
Start work at 7 in the morning or evening go to roll call get allocated where you work normally 99% of the time in the initial assesment unit you get 2 cubicles patients come in i do observations ECGS blood tests then nurses make a triage and decide where to go.

What have I learnt
I have learnt many skills and a lot of knowledge around acutely unwell patients and how to treat them. And see a improvement in the outcomes.

Management
I feel they do not consolidate front line staff when changes are going to happen to cope with demand there is no support and it doesnt help that the clinical support division has been messed around for years with no proper management to go to. Our concerns and complaints don't get taken seriously and when you have no backing from senior management then you just give up.

Workplace culture
Morale is very low i believe

Hardest part of the job
Can not cope with demand and feel like your not giving your best care and attention because everything is based on money targets time and numbers all before patient care. Patient flow no smooth journey through out the department to other hospital departments

Most enjoyable part
When you can give something back help someone that in pain see them a couple of hours later and with the right medication and pain relief there up and walking you know you've played a bit of success in that situation poorly elderly people that look like there on deaths door but actually you get a intravenous drip in commence antibiotics and they are slowly improving but just listening
  more... to patients and there story's not forgetting they are human aswell.  less
Pros
None
Cons
long hours, no rota consistancy
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Workplace
Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  Nottingham1 October 2018
Employed through NHS Professional on zero hour contract with good pay rate. Medical environment broaden my network of professional connections. Overall, good working environment
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
no window in my office
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Molecular Biologist & Resident Bioinformatician (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire18 July 2018
Very tough environment, as any NHS facility is, but the staff here are excellent, supportive and actually care. The entire ethos is starting to evolve into one of discovery and best methods for patient care.
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
Red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enjoying it...
Health Care Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Nottinghamshire8 June 2018
I am not enjoying my time with NUH as much as i was expecting it to be. There is no / very little job progression and applications received are in large numbers, very little internal transfers or secondment opportunities.
I also had a large wage drop.
Unable to use skills and was made to re train in skills that i have had for long time frames i.e. ECG'S and Cannulation Skills.
Not very supportive staff and management in my ward.
Pros
Lots of Patient Care Work
Cons
lots.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and rewarding
Administration (Current Employee) –  Nottingham2 May 2018
If you like to stay busy and enjoy working in a customer facing role then NUH is a great place to work. There is an emphasis on personal development and in a good department you will thrive.
Pros
Very good personal and educational development opportunities
Cons
Pressure on the NHS mean that the workplace can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admission Area
Nurse (Former Employee) –  acute admission27 April 2018
Busy and lots to learn. Higher management leadership only looking at targets and staff feeling undervalued & not appreciated which reflect on retention. Team good and supportive of each other to work together for patient's benefit and safety but always feeling stretch and stress. Other MDTs is good but working |& accepting the culture which has been deeply rooted. Achieved experience and if you survived there, you can survive anywhere.
Pros
holiday, sick pay and pension
Cons
Stress fully and understaff
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in.
FEP Accountant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire22 March 2018
A clearly strategic organisation with excellent leadership. One of the beacon organisations in the NHS in my view. Enjoyed my job there. A great environment. The hardest thing for me was that I had to stay in Nottingham in the week and return at weekend as I lived in Essex but it was doable.
Pros
Good pay, interesting role, good team and innovative.
Cons
Travel as stated above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hematology Ward
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire20 March 2018
Working in the NHS is a challenging job,even as a volunteer. I learn a lot and how to deal with patients who have cancer. The hardest part of the job is watching the patients decline and listening to what they say to you. I work with really nice people who have taught me a lot.
Pros
meal vouchers
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slowly being run down
Private (Current Employee) –  Nottinghamshire18 January 2018
Great benefits but management under pressure to cut already stretched services. I meet with staff from all levels and all departments and all say that departments and employees are stressed.
Pros
Pension, holidays
Cons
Red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthwhile and a place to grow.
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire14 January 2018
Nottingham University hospital offers a wide range of roles for people from all backgrounds. While on the face of it Doctors and Nurses are the face of the NHS, there are so many background roles without which the place would not function, and it is still possible for even those without university degrees in Nursing or Medicine to find work and there is still progression available to them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
major trauma centre for East Midlands
Emergency Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire11 November 2017
Great team, people are friendly and want to help others.
Different challenges every day
Management are supportive
meeting people from all walks of life
the hardest part of the job is not fulfiling the patients needs in time (minority)as there isn't enough staff
Pros
great values
Cons
restricted like everywhere for funding
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Hospital - Good Culture
Clinical Development Nurse (Former Employee) –  Nottinghamshire9 November 2017
Big regional hospital; allowing you be exposed to lots of medical wonders.

Good progression available, want the best for their patients, and always wanting to improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for development
Head of Human Resources and OD (Current Employee) –  Nottinghamshire and Leicestershire2 October 2017
Varied HR and OD role, Lengthy processes, Top down management culture with huge amount of political guidelines, Great development and flexibility, great NHS network
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Lengthy processes
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely staff
Student Midwife (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire31 August 2017
I enjoyed working with a wide range of people who all pull together for the good of the patients and the service. The working hour are however very long and tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa agradável
Biomedical scientist (Former Employee) –  Nottingham29 August 2017
Gostei de trabalhar na NUH quer a nível de evolução na carreira quer a nível salarial.
Pros
Bons salarios
Cons
Equipa dificil de lidar
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work on
HEAD SECURITY / AREASECURITY SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Nottingham28 June 2017
It was a good place to work on, having team work among employees and management gave us all the assistance needed.

It was my pleasure working with them
Pros
Free lunches and breakfast
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 49 reviews
519
416
310
22
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust Reviews by Job Title

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust Reviews by Location