North Tyneside Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Highways Operative (Former Employee) –  Killingworth4 January 2018
North Tyneside highways was taken over through PFI the new employer is capita who are not good it’s a money driven company which takes money from your local erea
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good fun place to work
Childcare Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Riverside, North Shields14 December 2017
I have been a Child Care Practitioner for a long time and have been trained to a professinal standard in child development. Looking after the needs of the children, and the parents. We also do the job of a teacher by tracking the childs overall development.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear25 November 2017
Flexibility required
colleagues very friend and helpful
managers support where possible
can opt in to union
restaurant on site
local shops near by
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kitchen assistant
Hospitality & Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne28 October 2017
The day starts well enough, just by making sure that there is enough fresh filter coffee and scones, the cafe opens at 9.30 and the doors shut at 3.30 but you are there until 4.30. You clean the tables and sweep and mop the floor so it is ready for the following morning. The cafe is open 7 days a week, the saturday is time and a half and sunday is double time.
Had a really good time there and learned a lot of new things like making a very large batch of scone mix.
Pros
free meals
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clique culture
Local Government Officer (Former Employee) –  The Quadrant, Cobalt Business Park22 October 2017
Worked in office environment for 25 years. Seen various leaders and their ever-changing-style come and go. With every new, bright and shiny boss...the self serving ambitious staff, think less about the public they serve and more about advancing themselves and ingratiating themselves into the bosses cliques.

The public wouldn’t believe the scrabbling that occurs, by brown nosing staff, stamping on dedicated more quite staff....sabotaging progression and create an oppressive atmosphere...fear of backstabbing and skullduggery. The trouser wearing middle managers (female) are the worst.....anything to bring other women down, whilst fawning over male colleagues.

I respect those that work diligently to provide an excellent public service but despise those that abuse their position.

I left disillusioned.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Disorganised and dishonest management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shocking
Ind Heating Eng (Former Employee) –  North Tyneside, Tyne and Wear19 September 2017
was taken on to serve the first year of an apprenticeship with no wages to be told I would be taken on properly once I had completed the first year of college, I stuck to my side of the deal and done the work however never got taken on,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to develop and learn new skills
Customer Experience Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  North Tyneside, Tyne and Wear13 June 2017
Varied working place some departments were fantastic others not so supportive

Customer Service Adviser

Fast paced busy Customer service environment dealing with varied queries from North Tyneside residents. Based in one of the busiest front facing offices within North Tyneside. Comprehensive knowledge of Revenues and Benefits, Homelessness, Housing, Environment and general customer queries. Worked closely with Age UK and Citizen Advise Bureau.

Customer Experience Business Analyst

Office based offering support to Customer First centre and Contact Centre. Working on Customer experience projects to improve the customer journey. Developing and analysing reports to identify issues that could be improved. Developing and delivering varied training packages to current and new employees, including specific job based Council Tax, housing, Tyne and Wear Homes, general enquiry's and more general training including Soft Skills and Conflict Management Resolution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
personal Information
Foster Carer (Former Employee) –  North Shields, Tyne and Wear13 March 2017
I am a hard individual, i have a positive attitude and i respect others.
All this year of hard work as help me with my confidence and as also helped me to build a good self-esteem. I can work well in team as well as an individual i am good at managing my time when working and i can also work in a stressful situation .
Pros
Open minded people
Cons
long hours and paper work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting place to work as I enjoy working with the public
Support co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Perth Gardens Howdon8 March 2017
North Tyneside Care Call was a very interesting and satisfactory employment, but due to cut backs I was made redundant.
My job involved installing care call alarm systems into peoples homes. Taking emergency calls on the care call system. Delegating
installations and emergency calls . Taking calls from the public and passing them on to relevant departments in social care.
Pros
Interesting work and good hours
Cons
Doing a lot of driving across the hole of North Tyneside in the winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
Transport Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Shields, Tyne and Wear20 February 2017
Escorting children with disabilities to and from school via taxi. Liasing with parent and teachers to take messages to both. This job was morning and afternoon only. Keeping children settled and occupied in the car was the main part of my job.
Pros
times of the day needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community
Fitness Instructor (Current Employee) –  Howdon14 February 2017
Friendly community centre for all ages and abilities
Loads going on in centre
Cafe open Tuesday to Friday
Gym open Monday to Friday 9-8
Fitness classes for all ages and abilities
Knit and natter group
Kids groups
Community garden group
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job has been secure until recent years
Childcare Practitioner (Former Employee) –  North Shields, Tyne and Wear27 January 2017
Constant changes in management, restructures on going , changes in jobs of recent years made the job more stressful than it already was, changes in management and job security resulted in a lot of staff going off sick
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, bad culture
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tyne and Wear4 January 2017
Pension scheme is still good and flexi time is great. Other than that the Council is not a good place to be. Too many cuts have resulted in many redundancies and remaining staff have to 'earn their keep' so to speak. Many staff under massive pressures to carry out additional duties as a result of redundancies and every year there is a restructure before Xmas resulting in further job losses.

At one time a job at the Council was a 'job for life' - this is no more.
Pros
Flexi time, friendly staff
Cons
Managers who can't manage, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as a casual can be hard to come by
Leisure Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear10 December 2016
General consensus is if you turn down a shift you will struggle to get back in unless you are desperately needed. Can be really good money if you can get in and keep yourself in the front running for shifts.
Pros
plenty of breaks, always busy, staff friendly
Cons
hard to get shifts sometimes, recruit casuals yearly so not easy in august/september
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Authority
Senior Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Shields5 December 2016
Like most local authroities cuts are happening all the time and the only way to cope with these is to outsource work to private companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and rewarding
Childcare Practitioner (Current Employee) –  North Shields2 October 2016
Caring for children up to five years old.
Key worker for up to 8 children.
Observing and recording children's development.
Intimate care including changing nappies preparing and giving bottles.
Greeting parents and making home visits to families.
Planning for each child and setting up activities.

working closely with management and colleagues to carry out my job role.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Housing Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne29 September 2016
patrolling the streets to clean up any rubbish which may have been dumped, also looking for any vandalism or obscene graffti

clean up vacated properties
Pros
working unsupervised, meeting new people
Cons
lots of staff meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary and benefits
Nursery Officer/Childcare Practitioner (Current Employee) –  North Shields31 August 2016
Good salary and benefits, efficient human resources. Good links via email and telephone. Good to work for, pension scheme, chances for promotion and secondment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gardener groundsman
Gardener/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne19 July 2016
cut grass hedges general tidy up mark football and sports fields confirm and meet heath and safety standards.use machienery also gained chemical spaying certs pa1-pa6
Pros
overtime
Cons
cold wet conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fun workplace
Finance assistant (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne7 April 2016
Overall this is a very satisfying place to work. My colleagues are engaging and competent and the management is constructive and supportive.
The hardest part of the job is dealing with a large caseload during specific periods of the year.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers with queries and the challenge of collating accounts from various sources.
Pros
Flexible working hours, colleagues
Cons
High peak workloads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at North Tyneside Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 60 reviews
519
421
315
23
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

North Tyneside Council Reviews by Location