NHS Employee Reviews

Found 3,589 reviews matching the search See all 3,814 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Cleaner/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham30 August 2018
On call
Very early hours with long shifts
NHS Don't help very much when needed
Wages was never paid on time
Was always left with things that didnt concern me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer
Assistant Management Accountant (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire30 August 2018
The NHS is a very rewarding employer to work for. I thoroughly enjoyed working and learning about healthcare and would recommend this to anyone who wants to work in a rewarding environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feel-good job!
PA and Secretarial Manager (Current Employee) –  Brighton, East Sussex29 August 2018
I have always enjoyed working for the NHS, even in administration as you are assisting and helping patients in times of need. A great work culture, fantastic colleagues and everyone focuses on the patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Administrator (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 August 2018
The NHS work extremely hard in sometimes difficult circumstances they are supportive and look after there staff Very well great pensions and staff perks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Regional Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  North London, Greater London28 August 2018
Rewarding, fast paced environment not for the faint hearted. In this environment i developed several skills that i could later take onto my next role.
Pros
rewarding
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultural Issues but Worthwhile
Clinical Laboratory Manager (Current Employee) –  Inverness28 August 2018
A typical day at work involves a lot of paperwork, political navigation and HR issues however at the end of the day patients benefit from the work done which is satisfying like no other job. Hardest part: stopping yourself from becoming jaded.
Pros
Good benefits and pension, motivated and dedicated workforce
Cons
Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Domestic Assistant (Current Employee) –  Maidstone25 August 2018
I had a good experience working for NHS,
i mostly enjoy meeting new people.

Hardest part is getting shifts on a zero contract.

I have learned various skills working for NHS.
Pros
enchantments
Cons
un paid break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Recovery Worker (Current Employee) –  Wisbech, Cambridgeshire25 August 2018
The team I work with are second to none. Everyone I work with are 100% dedicated to the work we do and are passionate about recovery and well being. I have been truly humbled working with such a great team
Pros
Positive outcomes for clients
Cons
Paperwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broad Experience
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire25 August 2018
An big organisation where staff learn different parts of how the NHS operates. A very broad range of skills and experience can be gained by working at different departments.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant Internship programme
Automation Developer (Former Employee) –  Colchester24 August 2018
I was a part of an Internship programme with Colchester Hospital and the University of Essex. I was able to learn and was rewarded sufficiently in a short time.
Pros
Good experience
Cons
Projects are always a little stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about NHS?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can fun to work there
Administration and Healthcare Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands23 August 2018
Working within the NHS can be very hard work, yet rewarding. been able to tend to needs of others, was could for me i wads able to meet new people l, learn a lot about myself and my own skills. i since built on these within the other areas of the NHS and want to continue to do so, however, some o f the systems that are now in place does not allow all bank workers of certain band grades to upgrade their skills for free or within their personal financial budget wise. and that is a shame and as to why a lot of bank and other senior nurses are leaving the NHS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Health Service
Bank staff (Current Employee) –  West Midlands22 August 2018
Excellent establishment a privilege to help make a difference, excellent staff members, treated fairly and equally, would recommend working her to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great invention
Care Support Worker (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire22 August 2018
what can I say about the NHS I my opinion its the country's best invention where we can provide care to our patients and help them through there journeys
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team working
Occupational Therapist (Former Employee) –  Pennine22 August 2018
Dynamic environment and high pressured but great team spirit. Highly demanding but highly rewarding if you are on a supportive team.

I felt I had support from my colleagues although at times difficult for management to always realise the reality of the pressures the team were under. Slightly unrealistic expectations of what could be achieved within the time frames.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Medical Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Maidstone21 August 2018
A great trust to work for, with rewarding results. Always giving clear and helpful information for staff to be able to progress within the trust and to develop personal skills and qualities.
Pros
job security
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace, terrible management
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melrose20 August 2018
Good Workplace, terrible management

Day to day work life is good, however as soon as any problem arises, the management are absolutely useless. the general staff and atmosphere is usually good. good hours and very good pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but bad management, job itself isn’t so bad
Support Services Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway20 August 2018
I feel this job is a good working place and staff are nice but management is terrible and not everyone is treated fairly. Apart from that the job itself isn’t so bad.
Pros
The salary is good
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good temporary job
Scanning Clerk (Current Employee) –  Bristol20 August 2018
I found that within the department i am working the staff although friendly are not inclusive, I feel very much as if I am the hired help. The manager is supportive and will deal with issues,
The work is repetitive and it can be boring.
I self taught myself the EDMS and Lorenzo programs as there was no training,
the staff are friendly and the other temporary staff are very approachable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overworked and underpaid
Pharmacy Advisor BootsUK- NVQ2 & NVQ3 (Former Employee) –  Sidcup, Greater London18 August 2018
Boots give AMAZING training in healthcare and pharmacy. but due to NHS cuts and pressure it becomes impossible for the most stable minds to stay motivated and focused.
Cons
underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not everyday is the same
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  United Kingdom18 August 2018
No day is the same, you will deal with different situations constantly; it is a very interesting place to work.
It has taught me to confident and resilient.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NHS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,816 reviews
51.4K
41.2K
3836
2192
1150

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture