NHS Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 598 reviews matching the search See all 4,060 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NHS fantastic
Auxiliary Nurse (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands3 December 2018
The NHS are a fantastic company to work for and care about their employees. It's a great opportunity to meet different people from all walks of life. The hours can be long but very rewarding
Pros
Rewarding to meet different people
Cons
Long hours short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nhs
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Cambridge29 November 2018
great fun good workplace most staff are good fun and good people to work with,depending on career traning can be 2 weeks long and feels much longer but is interesting and fun
Pros
bike to work scheme
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Reading25 November 2018
I love my job, however I don't get paid what I deserve which is why i am looking for another role outside of the NHS.
Working for the NHS is challenging and demanding, which I love.
Pros
Good annual leave
Cons
Long hours, poor salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire20 November 2018
Professional and attractive working place . Interesting place to work . Very professional staff around and enjoying the responsibility. Good place to start
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, pay, annual leave but lacks opportunities in training
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Southport, Merseyside14 November 2018
I like the pay and flexibility of my shifts there's 8 weeks annual leave after 10 year's of service i get 7.5 weeks 8 years of being on the job my pay has increased from £6.90 to £9.56 over the course of the first 7 years and we get paid up to 6 months full sick pay
Pros
Pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Bank Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham13 November 2018
Fantastic pay and induction. Training and communication very good.
Nice staff, good facilities. Have worked at various places and hospitals - can't complain.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Weak managers in some places
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
customer service (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London13 November 2018
A good place to learn., sociable environment with
flexible hours. There are also enjoyable hours when you work there because of its sociable environment time does not take long to go by.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Food service assistant (Current Employee) –  Nottingham9 November 2018
Overall very busy, but to say im in catering see to much hurt and pain and death ,not an easy think to deal with.Can be very busy and stressful especially when short staffed,Which happens a lot
Pros
Wages
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Business Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chertsey5 November 2018
hard and challenging place to work but with good job satisfaction. wages are not the best but do have good annual leave and staff benefits and schemes
Pros
good annual leave
Cons
poor wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Advisor (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield30 October 2018
Loved working here, lots of benefits and interesting work to help people improve their health and well being, however there are inequalities that need to be addressed.

Great CEO !!!
Pros
Training opportunities
Cons
Inequalities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blame culture
Appointments Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ashford, Surrey26 October 2018
My colleagues in the appointment centre are marvellous considering the awful management they have to endure, no praise for a job very well done, just criticism from the Outpatient general manager, a petty, power hungry woman!
Pros
Colleagues, job security
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, Professional
Staff Nurse Band 5 (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne22 October 2018
Great Team, Supportive, Always a Adviser to contact when required, Training availability, Good choice of available locations to suit your needs and experience.
Pros
Guaranteed to find you a shift
Cons
Long hours, travelling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Plymouth20 October 2018
Great employer. Staff focused and as long as you are a hard worker you will go far. Occ health support . Friendly and dynamic. Has lots of on site stores now where as years ago it didn’t.
Pros
Everything above
Cons
Paying to park to go to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nhs
Community Assistant Management Accountant (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk19 October 2018
Excellent working environment, can be a slightly stressful at the month’s end to achieve the reports. Excellent benefits good working life balance and progression is possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as the last one
Patient Pathway Assistant (Current Employee) –  Epsom19 October 2018
Why do I have to do this.

I'm looking for a new job as I don't like the one that I'm currently at. No oportunity to progress. No praise, not appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very two faced people
Health Adviser (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire17 October 2018
Honestly not a great experience, messed with my pay and did not offer me any support when I needed it the most. Great message but not followed up in the workers.
Pros
Free lynch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nhs
Management Accountant (Former Employee) –  Grampian Region16 October 2018
Good standard of salary. Good terms & conditions. Rewarding role - always busy. Challanging at times. Pension is good as is Annual leave allocations. Good organisation to work for.
Pros
Pensions, Annual Leave, terms & conditions
Cons
NHS runs on goodwill, so many extra hours worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vale of Glamorgan16 October 2018
Enjoy all aspects of my job good environment to work in good staff helpful caring kind good rate of pay good hours of pay good money good friends good salary
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy place to work
Domestic Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands14 October 2018
Nhs is a brilliant place to work i enjoy it and everyone is so welcoming and helpful.. salary is brilliant and management are always happy to help in any situation
Pros
Double pay on a bank holiday
Cons
Work around each other in the holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance role - very enjoyable and varied
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Caterham, Surrey13 October 2018
I worked part time which had the flexibility that i needed at that time. All aspects of finance involved, banking , payroll, processing payments, invoices , reconciliations etc.
I learned to manage my time effectively as I was part time and the work never ever got boring or lacking.
The management weren't very good. More power struggles here than ive ever seen although management have since left which can only be of benefit to the patients and staff! (They made a whole finance team redundant when clearly needing that necessary function in order to protect the needs of patients and staff - in my view!).
My particular office was happy, focused and energised.
I loved my job. It had variety and the salary at the time was competitive.
The hardest part was accepting redundancy . The finance work i understand was outsourced in the end as part of financial cutbacks.
Pros
Flexible part time work
Cons
Redundancy and management power struggles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NHS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 4,062 reviews
51.5K
41.3K
3886
2202
1169

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture