NHS Employee Reviews for Healthcare Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, really sad at times
Health Care Assistant/Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Wirral, Merseyside9 September 2018
Hard work, patients always verbally abusive towards staff. you dont always get a break,which is hard on long shifts. The pay is good but the shifts patterns make you ill, earlys ,lates nights. It's not a healthy work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to begin your healthcare career
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Basildon, Essex14 August 2018
The oppertunities that the NHS can offer are amazing! However i feel now i have been in this poison for as long as i have been i can not develop anymore with out going to do my nurse training.
i do not wish to become a nurse or do the training at this point in my life as i do not have the money or the time to commit to that kind of full time learning.

It is an amazing place to work! it is such a nice feeling when you know how much you have helped someone even down to the smallest thing or just being there for someone to talk to.
Every job has its bad parts and being in healthcare it can always be heart breaking but knowing that you can make any kind of diffrence to the patient to make something so hard seem that little bit easier is always something you can feel proud of
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Healthcare Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ashford12 August 2018
Can be on your feet for 12.5 hours, breaks not paid, management can be okay but often pushy and demanding.
Has some benefits like NHS discount at many places.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable job
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sunderland8 August 2018
i enjoy working as a health care assistant although the job can be demanding at times being able to support people in their time of need is very rewarding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 years means nothing!
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Devon31 July 2018
Worked for the NHS for the best part of 20 years, one mistake has now meant I have lost my job and career, management needs to change and so do staff training, management need to treat staff with more respect.

Never trust anymore, people you think are friends are not. Keep work as work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive and understanding colleagues
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Exeter, Devon30 July 2018
It is a very rewarding job but it is very stressful.
The management is very supportive and understanding, flexible, your opinion is listened to and counted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Health Care Assistant (HCA) (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom29 July 2018
Good team to work for. Lots of benefits like training and lots of courses to help you progress. All staff work as part of a team and pull together when needed.
Pros
NHS discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short staff leading to poor communication
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  oxfordshire27 July 2018
Poor communication between management. I loved my role personally but the arm doesn't know what the right arm is doing and sadly a case of too many cooks!
Pros
pension
Cons
poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful towards patients
Nhs health care assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham24 July 2018
Staff are all hardworking and positive very helpful and saving lifes every day for the sick people. To work here is very hard but knowing you are helping people on a daily basis makes you happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy role but very rewarding
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire9 July 2018
Very busy, great support and good team work, put on other wards when short staffed, lots of training Great opportunities to go further and very rewarding job
Pros
Very rewarding
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Risky ward , new staff difficult to get on with
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hastings5 July 2018
Handover at 7am long 12 hour shifts , no management on the floor always tucked away in their office , problems dealt with by front line staff , observations can sometimes get missed due to people’s attitude , agency staff don’t care as there there for the money . Team terrible now on female side : new staff , good staff have worked here but have left , reason management again .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall an enjoyable experience
healthcare assistant ophthalmology (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex22 June 2018
10 hour shifts 4 times a week allowed for flexibility. The staff are welcoming and friendly. We all work incredibly hard for what is a relatively low wage to start off with, although advancement is possible.
Pros
Staff you work with are excellent
Cons
Short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for helping the public
Apprentice Assistant Healthcare Scientist (Former Employee) –  Ashford14 June 2018
If you enjoy helping others than I do suggest going here.
The work hours can be long and the work is not always easy, but if you want to help people than I can honestly suggest working here.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hca stoke mandeville hospital
Health Care Assistant (HCA) (Former Employee) –  Buckinghamshire9 June 2018
as with most of the nhs this is a very demanding job the wards are heavy and the work load is not always light but you work with a great team of people and meet some life long friends. i also gained a lot of experience hear, the shifts are long but also gives you more time at home.
Pros
free health checks
Cons
long hours no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A happy place to work
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire6 June 2018
Everyone got on with each other we were like family a team that together We helped make the patients have a calm and a happy experience at a time that was a nervous and scary for them.
Pros
Working in a happy environment
Cons
Some of the restrictions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and productive
Healthcare Assistant (Former Employee) –  uk14 May 2018
working for the nhs like any company has its ups and its downs. over the past four years that i have worked for the nhs i have had a good time. there can be a lot of politics involved but it all depends whether you let that get to you. there are many hard working managers, nurses, healthcare assistants working behind the scenes to ensure good patient care, good housekeeping of their wards, good communication skills. its a very demanding job working in the nhs but thats how you thrive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but very rewarding
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amersham, Buckinghamshire8 May 2018
A 7 hour shift with half an hour break. You are advised to split the half an hour into 15 minute chunks. You are lucky if you get a bathroom break, you're that busy. Lots of ward walking, you need the most comfortable and supportive shoes you can find! You also need a strong stomach and bladder!
Staff at all levels are very supportive and patient. Training at induction and on the job. You learn very fast. Not for the unfit!
Hardest part of the job watching a patient fade away. Very humbling to be called an angel by people you are caring for.
Pros
Job satisfaction
Cons
When you need to go and you can't...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardwork
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Somerset3 May 2018
a typical day in the NHS is very hardworking but fun at the same time.
i have learned many new skills including venapuncture and cannulation
management in the NHS can be good or bad.
the hardest part of the job is the stress of the winter pressures and illnesses which leads to lack of beds and staff
the most enjoyable part of the job is working with some really dedicated and compassionate people
Pros
very rewarding
Cons
long hours and tiring days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire25 April 2018
A typical day is spent looking after patients and anyone who comes into our work place. We learn different things daily which makes it challenging and exciting but also we have our sad and unenjoyable times too, The management is frequently being changed so makes it hard to keep the same way of working as they all have different techniques .I work with lots of different cultures which makes it very interesting .The most enjoyable part is working with all types of people and also the ones that are cured. The worst part is those that die and we didn't save them,I like working in a team and we all try to look out for each other.
Pros
meeting people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational and rewarding to help people
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Colchester, Essex21 March 2018
i have worked at eye clinic and operating theatre for 17 years. it is hardwork but rewarding. the hardest part is having to travel from clacton on sea to colchester. the management have been very supportive and helped me a lot over the years. i have enjoyed working with work colleagues and patients
Pros
ongoing learning
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NHS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,816 reviews
51.4K
41.2K
3836
2192
1150

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture