NHS Employee Reviews in London

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was more of office job
Retrospective Project Co-ordinator-Administrator (Former Employee) –  London2 December 2018
was a very nice office job dealing with patients information and cases for continuing care picked more skills but the only challenge it was o agency work
Pros
free parking
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stagnant place to work
Senior Administrator (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London26 November 2018
A stagnant place to work a top heavy hierarchy with an inability to progress within the organisation where merit does not tend to go to much and is a case of who you know not what you know
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challanging working place
Receptionist/Administrator (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London22 November 2018
Everyday is different from the other, you meet new people from all cultures. I learn a lot from my job especially when we have emergencies issues like fire alarm or cardiac arrest and I have to act .
Lot of times there are patients that need assistant, some fainting in the reception , some women in labour and so on. As a front of house receptionist I handle this cases , I call the crash team or if it is not something very serious I use one of the wheel chairs and take the person to the right department.
There at times when there are hard situations , when someone passed away and the relatives come , I have to be with them and direct them to the mortuary or even at times go with them.
So you see everyday there is a challenge. And I like challenges.
Pros
cheap launes
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Administrative Support Worker (Current Employee) –  London22 October 2018
Working in community nursing as an only admin is bad. Most nurses look down on you and treat you like their PA. Management are not very supportive an leave you on your own most of the time. Expect you to handle clinical and non clinical inquiries. Like most NHS staff only look out for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Pharmacy - G Atkins Chemist (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London19 October 2018
I was able to observe many job roles in the practice and how they were all linked. This helped me recognize that all workers in the practice get through the day with teamwork.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
support regualr shifts
HCA Flexible Worker (Former Employee) –  herfordshire, essex, london.15 September 2018
can provide support in regular shift work (i.e. overtime) and as a full time job. pay grade dependent on usual work grade, get holiday pay but not sick pay. Paid if job cancelled at last minute so not too much wasted time.
con: dependant on ward/hospital can be understaffed and overworked. can be difficult to work in.
Pros
flexible
Cons
can be left to manage difficult wards without support
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Young Persons Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Angel London12 September 2018
Overall review is 5 stars as everything was perfect. Volunteered from 9 to 4. I learned many skills such as communicating with different people and building my confidence.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  London5 September 2018
great as a career if you start young. not so great for older workforce. good job security. salary not too bad. lots of ongoing training which has to be done in your own time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and excellent work environment
Ward Clerk/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  London3 September 2018
Positive work environment
Able to be of help
Highly professional managers and supervisors
Opportunities for career progression
A wide variety of tasks and learning opportunites
Very supportive colleagues
Pros
All round great work environment
Cons
Slightly long travelling times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mnhs
NHS (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London30 August 2018
This is a normal NHS provider that offer NHS benefits and conditions working the pension is not as good as can be but is better than most
you know the rest working for the NHS
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Administrator (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 August 2018
The NHS work extremely hard in sometimes difficult circumstances they are supportive and look after there staff Very well great pensions and staff perks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usually good ethos and positive
Dietitian: locum and temporary posts. (Former Employee) –  London6 August 2018
Mostly I enjoyed the work. the best part was actually working to support people with their dietary needs and presenting material to groups. The frustrations were the time spent looking for patients who were away from the wards.
Pros
Working with clients satisfying
Cons
Time taken to locate patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Surgeon (Former Employee) –  London19 July 2018
It was so informative and provided me with a visual experience of what it would be like to be a surgeon. The amazing way the team works in a theatre is incredible and shows the importance of teamwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Work Experience student (Former Employee) –  London12 July 2018
The workers in the NHS are always very busy and arguably underpaid but have satisfying jobs and a huge sense of team spirit. The jobs are not always as rewarding as they should be.
Pros
Team spirit
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, bad management
Donor Carer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 July 2018
Unreasonable goals set for the working day, which always overruns.

The people working here are amazing, but are being overworked and are underappreciated and so are disheartened.

It feels like a constant battle with planning to try get a reasonable work load for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Stock Controller (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London26 June 2018
working in a sensitive positions transporting medications to hospitals proving good communication with line mangers and also stock handlers it was an important role
Pros
helping the community
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where most of my knowledge in nursing have been challenged
Anaesthetic Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  London22 June 2018
A very massive Company , a employee in here have to have a very well balanced physical and emmotional personality.It has been a pleasure to have gained my skills in The NHS
Pros
Strict with Local and national implementation of rules and regulation
Cons
Hard hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and interesting
Secretary (Former Employee) –  London19 June 2018
Full workload and no day ever the same.

A high amount of flexibility required.

If line managers are not too busy they are there to support.

Caring colleagues and clinical teams all aspiring to work well together.

More work demands than staff available.

Receiving positive feedback from patients,their families and the staff.
Pros
Pension scheme and flexible working sometimes possible
Cons
Lack of parking for staff and lack of free parking for patients/relatives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful, management are awful, avoid at all costs
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London19 June 2018
I had such high hopes when starting this post. What I got was low pay, lied to about how many hours I should be working, management taking days/weeks to get back to me about concerns, surly nurses and immensely understaffed wards. Too much pressure as well. Management are bullies as are certain nurses, patients are in danger and it is not OK.

It is a time bomb waiting to go off.
Pros
Looks good on a CV
Cons
low pay, stress, awful communication and bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managerial administration
Medical Secretary (Former Employee) –  london5 June 2018
Organising teams of psychiatrists and health workers for working in their offices and in the community.
Managing finances, greeting and arranging appointments and all administrative duties
Pros
close to home
Cons
stressful clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NHS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 4,075 reviews
51.5K
41.3K
3887
2203
1169

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture