NHS Employee Reviews in Birmingham

Found 91 reviews matching the search See all 4,069 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NHS fantastic
Auxiliary Nurse (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands3 December 2018
The NHS are a fantastic company to work for and care about their employees. It's a great opportunity to meet different people from all walks of life. The hours can be long but very rewarding
Pros
Rewarding to meet different people
Cons
Long hours short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subjective view
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Birmingham20 November 2018
Flexible working hours

Time/ pressure management

Possible opportunities to progress

indifferent culture

very unstructured ways of working

most staff were helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Bank Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham13 November 2018
Fantastic pay and induction. Training and communication very good.
Nice staff, good facilities. Have worked at various places and hospitals - can't complain.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Weak managers in some places
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Hca (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands23 October 2018
Assisting patients with getting out of bed and with mobility and washing and dressing when required and assisting with taking them for their meals and making breakfast serving it to all patients and making sure all kitchen area and dining rooms are clean and all washing up is done ,when patients have finished there meals we would help with assisting patients back to their room or to the lounges to watch tv. Patients rooms would be made clean of any soiled items and put into the right bags and bin containers and beds would changed and made fresh after breakfast I would go around with tea for the patients after I would answer any call bells from patients who needed assistance ,then prepare tables for dinner ,
Pros
Sick pay
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Institution
Various Administration/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands10 September 2018
need to buck the trend, change management tactics, poor work ife balance, need to reward and appreciate staff and their commitment. improve training regime,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with nice people
Handyman/Plumber (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands6 September 2018
I enjoyed working in NHS Estates. There are many problems with the NHS as we all know but the people are invariably nice in my experience. Pay is not good below Director level but you know that before you start. Things like job security generally compensate for this.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
NHS specific issues, poor pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you progress but not for
shift leader (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands1 September 2018
the job can be very hard at times but might be more fufilling for people who are caring it can be full of paper work and red tape and very clicky with your group and my group
Pros
you can progress
Cons
too tttooooo clicky
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Cleaner/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham30 August 2018
On call
Very early hours with long shifts
NHS Don't help very much when needed
Wages was never paid on time
Was always left with things that didnt concern me
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can fun to work there
Administration and Healthcare Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands23 August 2018
Working within the NHS can be very hard work, yet rewarding. been able to tend to needs of others, was could for me i wads able to meet new people l, learn a lot about myself and my own skills. i since built on these within the other areas of the NHS and want to continue to do so, however, some o f the systems that are now in place does not allow all bank workers of certain band grades to upgrade their skills for free or within their personal financial budget wise. and that is a shame and as to why a lot of bank and other senior nurses are leaving the NHS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful towards patients
Nhs health care assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham24 July 2018
Staff are all hardworking and positive very helpful and saving lifes every day for the sick people. To work here is very hard but knowing you are helping people on a daily basis makes you happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good employer to work for
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham5 July 2018
Long working hours
Bullying and harassment rife in the workplace
Us & Them working culture
Poor management always on the defensive
Poor staff attitudes and lack of respect
Pros
None
Cons
Everthing
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowledgeable but unfair
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  Birmingham8 March 2018
i learnt alot working for the nhs and have been thankful for the time i served there , however i feel the staff are over worked and under payed for the things they have to do and the abuse they can also be given
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands3 March 2018
I enjoyed this job and i would say the NHS is a good employer to work for work to social life balance was good, management wasnt great and ultimately circumstances changed which ment i needed a different job.
Pros
Good benefits, holiday pay
Cons
management poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting a diverse number of people.
Auxillary nurse (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands14 February 2018
The hardest part of the job was saying goodbye when someone left and the most enjoyable when they got better. You learnt lots but not enough sometimes. You worked hard and you had good rewards when people said thank you.
Pros
Maintaining peoples pride and dignity.
Cons
When you couldn't doing anything but wait for your time to be up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Career
Receptionist/Administrator (Current Employee) –  Birmingham30 January 2018
Can Be very stressful to deal with Patients. Very busy environment. Learn good skills. Good progression within NHS. Get to meet like minded people. Good computer skills.
Pros
Job satisfaction
Cons
Full on job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Senior House Officer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands7 January 2018
Stressful and short-staffed with unfavorable work-life balance
Good occupational health support
Less opportunities for educational development due to high patient load
Pros
Good initiative for support
Cons
Many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  smethwick birmingham14 December 2017
The day would start by going on the wards with pharmacists and checking patients drug charts, followed by some dispening in the pharmaceutical areas, before you knew it the day was over it was that busy. It was a very fun weeks work experience.
Pros
intersting educating
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of top 3 Orthopaedic Hospitals in U.K.
Senior Physiotherapist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham23 November 2017
Ground breaking work done here. Experts in the field. Amazing team work i.e. Surgeons, Physios and Orthopaedic Nurses. The hospital had one administrator, the Surgeons had a regular board meeting and they made the decisions how the hospital was run. Only once did the Administrator the deny a 4 yr old child with a Ewing Tumor the right to live.... we haven't got the money. I went and gave him a rocket and lost my job. I was a star. I had children's ward and private ward and worked for all the surgeons known world wide.
Pros
5 day week 9 till 5 with 48hours on call (week-ends) monthly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Batch Preparation Officer (Data Entry Clerk) (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands8 November 2017
Batch Preparation Officer (Data Entry Clerk) - My position as a batch preparation officer involved inputting prescriber numbers into a system. The numbers are usually printed on the prescriptions which are sent out from hospitals and doctor surgeries to my office. The prescriptions come in various size batches. It was my responsibilities to sign for batches and report forms that have unknown prescription numbers on them. I was given an hourly target to work towards and I always achieved my set amount and at times exceed this at a high quality standard
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Not secure as building was closing down
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Hospital Porter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham24 October 2017
It was my first job after leaving shcool my mother was a nurse there so she got me a job there until i was older to deside wot i wanted to be the hardest was taking the desease down the morg
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NHS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 4,071 reviews
51.5K
41.3K
3887
2203
1169

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture