NHS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for helping the public
Apprentice Assistant Healthcare Scientist (Former Employee) –  Ashford14 June 2018
If you enjoy helping others than I do suggest going here.
The work hours can be long and the work is not always easy, but if you want to help people than I can honestly suggest working here.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  England14 June 2018
All the staff are lovely and welcoming. The job was challenging and productive, ending in learning and experience. You learn new things everyday which is good for the present and future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Administration/ Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  West Bromwich13 June 2018
I found that my employment was quite pleasant as i was able to interact with a lot of different types of people and learn a lot of different valuable skills which i can use for my future endeavours.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
mentally draining
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dangerous
Auxiliary Nurse (Former Employee) –  Glasgow12 June 2018
badly/dangerously under staffed. long hours without breaks on occasion due to low staffing on night shifts no where to go for breaks. no protection or support when assaulted. not enough staff to carry out care for patients on time. poor training opportunity's only certain staff get offered. wards poorly stocked. physically and verbally abused with no consequences. incompetent staff
Pros
knowledge of medical care
Cons
staff not protected, dangeruously under incompetent staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not great
Administrator (Former Employee) –  England12 June 2018
Again i would rather not comment on working here this is delaying my time i will continue typing for a little while. what if i didn't have a good experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Northern general hospital11 June 2018
No respect for staff and feels like your voice isn’t heard when you try to communicate with them. They are very good when it comes to having time off due to family issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Trainee Cardiac Physiologist (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear11 June 2018
fast paced yet sensitive environemnt, must be proffesional, its a nice place to work as you are always helping people however you must have a strong mindset as there are many different scenarios you would face when working in a hospital.
Pros
local
Cons
tiring hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Sourcing Specialist - Procurement (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire10 June 2018
Ensure that procurement processes, workflow and delivery are delivered to meet targets and quality standards and that opportunities for improving performance are identified and actioned to ensure continuous improvement.

Provide professional procurement support and advice to business units on all procurement activities including specifications and documentation.

Supporting stages of preparation, of tendering process and managing the running of the high value tender processes (and manage own low value tender exercises) via the e- tendering process adopting the requirements and procurement type. Issuing of award documentation and post award activity, including stand still and award documentation.
Pros
Good flexibility
Cons
Too many stakeholders
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hca stoke mandeville hospital
Health Care Assistant (HCA) (Former Employee) –  Buckinghamshire9 June 2018
as with most of the nhs this is a very demanding job the wards are heavy and the work load is not always light but you work with a great team of people and meet some life long friends. i also gained a lot of experience hear, the shifts are long but also gives you more time at home.
Pros
free health checks
Cons
long hours no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work not appreciated
Community Nursing Care Assistant / Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire9 June 2018
Hard work not appreciated. Always short staffed hence existing staff stretched to the point of exhaustion. Parking difficult. Staff not pulling their weight, sleeping while on duty .No support from management.
Pros
none
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and challenging
Supply chain (Current Employee) –  Guildford9 June 2018
always Challenging, Gives you a great experience in using packages like excel, word, sbs. Its very important to manage your time and keeping on top of managing orders and liasing with companies to obtain the best outcome for the ward you are ordering for.
Pros
great pension
Cons
salary is not the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for comraderie
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire8 June 2018
Enjoyed working as part of the team, but also being able to work alone which enabled me to better understand the workplace & interacting with patients.
Pros
Getting to interact with the patients
Cons
Long, hard wok hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Medical Support Secretary - Band 3 (Current Employee) –  Bradford8 June 2018
Lack of team ethic within secretarial team. Work unevenly distributed. Support secretaries undervalued and overworked. Management seem unable to deal with these issues among many many others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Average
HCA/Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire6 June 2018
Provide care for service users. This includes all aspects of care. Supporting community activities, administering medication and giving emotional support when needed.
Pros
Non
Cons
Many
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A happy place to work
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire6 June 2018
Everyone got on with each other we were like family a team that together We helped make the patients have a calm and a happy experience at a time that was a nervous and scary for them.
Pros
Working in a happy environment
Cons
Some of the restrictions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely work environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cardiff5 June 2018
Very little room for progression without a degree, regardless of personal achievements
Good work-life balance
Pleasant place to be every day
would stay if they cut out some of this bureaucracy
Pros
Extra 15 min of lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting environment
RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Oldham5 June 2018
I enjoyed working there
It takes a lot hard work
Friendly environment
Supportive doctors/ co-workers / staffs
Always learn something new
Team work
Meeting new patients everyday
Pros
Get discounts with NHS card
Cons
Un payed break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managerial administration
Medical Secretary (Former Employee) –  london5 June 2018
Organising teams of psychiatrists and health workers for working in their offices and in the community.
Managing finances, greeting and arranging appointments and all administrative duties
Pros
close to home
Cons
stressful clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth4 June 2018
I learnt basic care support skills, Blood pressure, Completing paper-work, vital signs, life suport etc.

It was rewarding to get good feed-back from patients and their relatives.
Pros
Being part of Hospital Staff
Cons
Being an agency candidate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Associate Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Ashford, Kent3 June 2018
I am currently working in a cardiac respiratory department within an NHS hospital. My current duties at present are carrying out diagnostic testing on individuals who are experiencing heart or lung conditions. This brings different variations of people from different walks of life, it is always important to maintain a person-centred approach when undertaking each test. My duties include; ECG analysis, taking blood pressures, exercise tolerance testing, lung volume testing, covering the reception, supporting patients and helping to educate them. My duties have allowed me to understand that physical health and mental health are very closely related. In every test carried out communication, compassion and reassurance are beneficial when it comes to informed consent. It is vital to understand the patient's wishes. It is important to considering the impact that physical health can have on a person's mental health or in converse order
Pros
flexible working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NHS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,644 reviews
51.4K
41.2K
3793
2184
1136

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture