NHS Employee Reviews

Found 3,637 reviews matching the search See all 3,868 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Pharmacy - G Atkins Chemist (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London19 October 2018
I was able to observe many job roles in the practice and how they were all linked. This helped me recognize that all workers in the practice get through the day with teamwork.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as the last one
Patient Pathway Assistant (Current Employee) –  Epsom19 October 2018
Why do I have to do this.

I'm looking for a new job as I don't like the one that I'm currently at. No oportunity to progress. No praise, not appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid organisation
Specialist Development Scheme Officer (SDS) (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire18 October 2018
A solid organisation which enabled me to gain experience in a variety of areas with much flexibility. Good management and overall team ethos. Positive experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very two faced people
Health Adviser (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire17 October 2018
Honestly not a great experience, messed with my pay and did not offer me any support when I needed it the most. Great message but not followed up in the workers.
Pros
Free lynch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Critical Care Technologist (Current Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire16 October 2018
The NHS provides a unique place to learn new skills and help those that need it most. The shifts are long and generally busy, but the rewards are second to none.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nhs
Management Accountant (Former Employee) –  Grampian Region16 October 2018
Good standard of salary. Good terms & conditions. Rewarding role - always busy. Challanging at times. Pension is good as is Annual leave allocations. Good organisation to work for.
Pros
Pensions, Annual Leave, terms & conditions
Cons
NHS runs on goodwill, so many extra hours worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Commis Chef (Current Employee) –  Nuneaton16 October 2018
a great place to work but there is no support from the management system in this job you are only told if you have done something wrong within your job and not when you have gone above and beyond your duties
Pros
Good working hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vale of Glamorgan16 October 2018
Enjoy all aspects of my job good environment to work in good staff helpful caring kind good rate of pay good hours of pay good money good friends good salary
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Newborn hearing screener (Current Employee) –  Lincoln15 October 2018
well managed team with continual review of learning and assessments
good managerial support
fair rota system to ensure quality coverage
respectful of all staff and family friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Complex Care Team Co-Ordinator (Former Employee) –  Devon14 October 2018
A typical day - meetings/administrative duties

Great opportunity to work for the NHS - working with medical professionals/social care.

NHS offer lots of opportunities/devolopment opportunites

Most enjoyable part of the job was meeting people and helping clients
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Job cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance role - very enjoyable and varied
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Caterham, Surrey13 October 2018
I worked part time which had the flexibility that i needed at that time. All aspects of finance involved, banking , payroll, processing payments, invoices , reconciliations etc.
I learned to manage my time effectively as I was part time and the work never ever got boring or lacking.
The management weren't very good. More power struggles here than ive ever seen although management have since left which can only be of benefit to the patients and staff! (They made a whole finance team redundant when clearly needing that necessary function in order to protect the needs of patients and staff - in my view!).
My particular office was happy, focused and energised.
I loved my job. It had variety and the salary at the time was competitive.
The hardest part was accepting redundancy . The finance work i understand was outsourced in the end as part of financial cutbacks.
Pros
Flexible part time work
Cons
Redundancy and management power struggles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, supportive and collabrative workplace
Associate Counselor, Professional Placement (Former Employee) –  Walton Hospital, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England12 October 2018
Resolve Staff Support Services is a counseling service for staff of DCHS part of the National Health Service offering brief 1-to-1 counselling, team support, providing confidential individual, brief counselling for personal and work-related issues as well as performed client assessment and client management. I practiced Integrative counseling using PCA, Attachment Theory including Continuing Bonds, CBT and TA.
Pros
Supportive environment
Cons
The NHS was going through a structual change which was stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Windsor Clinic
pathway Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Liverpool12 October 2018
worked in this role for 7 years in Addictions.

Learnt a lot on dealing with service users.
enjoyed a lot of skills from management and other colleagues
Pros
none really
Cons
colleagues and staff worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Business Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Suffolk10 October 2018
busy and long hours
staff not very friendly
location over several offices
not much help available if it was needed
travelled to meetings several times per week
Pros
none
Cons
not very helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Information and advice officer
Interpreter/Translator (Former Employee) –  Islington, Greater London10 October 2018
EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE ...from the different backgrounds every day. I am also working as Information and advice Officer for long years dealing with the Turkish speaking people from the different cultures. Most of the cases related to Welfare benefits, Housing and other statutary benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Trust Service Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Watford9 October 2018
Very busy and rewarding environment to work in.
Had the opportunity to study and gain new qualification while in the job.
Worked with a very good team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Temporary Recruitment Agent (Former Employee) –  Chatham, Kent9 October 2018
Full training was given and whilst the job was fast paced, the team and individual nature of the calls made the experience rather enjoyable for the duration of my temporary contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a GP practice
GP Practice Manager (Former Employee) –  North London9 October 2018
I feel that the NHS is a very valuable organisation and feel privileged to have worked in this company. What I enjoy about the organisation is that you meet so many people who are in need of your help and hopefully you will be able to ensure they get the right treatment and in the correct time through what you do.

I also like the interaction with the medical teams both in primary care and secondary care, as you can put peoples minds at ease or point them in the right direction as to what they need to do.

The hardest part of the job is not being able to answer patient questions to put there minds at ease this can sometimes be very frustrating as the various bodies can not give you a clear answer due to issues out of there control.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Not being able to get the answers needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work staff all lovely
Domestic Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Livingston9 October 2018
I work at 5 to 7.30 at health centre my job is cleaning rooms and srubbing and buffing tempting bins clean g toilets I love the challenge and enjoy working around people
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly
Biomedical Scientist (Current Employee) –  Salford, Greater Manchester8 October 2018
Worked in the NHS for 20 years, family friendly policy is good.
Working hours are flexible although shift work can be tough
Opportunities for further academic study are fewer than in the past
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NHS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,870 reviews
51.4K
41.2K
3849
2192
1154

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture