NHS BLOOD AND TRANSPLANT Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Snod
SNOD (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London23 April 2019
Dubious ethics. Poor management. Nepotism abundant. The potential to be a great company, however, complacency is entrenched and there is little critical reflection.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Blood Donation Team Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester5 August 2018
Everyone is very friendly and hardworking. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to meet new people every day and being able to share their experience with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, bad management
Donor Carer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 July 2018
Unreasonable goals set for the working day, which always overruns.

The people working here are amazing, but are being overworked and are underappreciated and so are disheartened.

It feels like a constant battle with planning to try get a reasonable work load for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Office
Pay Support Officer Full Time (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne30 March 2018
Too much work not enough staff.
Not to let off steam as you are on deaf ears nothing gets done about it. If you cant hack it look for another job.

Management letting staff reduce their hours and not thinking what impact it has on the Full Time Staff left to pick up the extra work load. Management not communicating properly with staff, regarding changes, if you are not in that day you are supposed to know what the changes are.

Enjoyable part speaking to staff regarding their queries and receiving thanks for being so helpful.
Pros
Flexi Time
Cons
Difficult to switch off
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open plan and friendly
PA to Clinical Team (Current Employee) –  Bristol8 March 2018
I have had experience of working in the same organisation but for a different department, Estates & Facilities. This job allowed me to evolve in respect of responsibility as I was largely working on my own initiative due to my manager working remotely. This gave me the opportunity to learn about tender exercises from contractors and getting involved in the meetings.
Pros
Ability to gain experience outside of my Job Specification
Cons
Having a manager that rarely came in to the office and communicated via email mostly
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, professional workplace
RPA (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne21 February 2018
Friendly, professional workplace. There is a basic structure in the area I am in and the work is different ever day. There is plenty of scope for overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Incident Analyst (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire9 February 2018
friendly staff and management with plenty of training provided by those on site.

Can become a very busy environment so you needn't apply unless you're confident it's something you're used to dealing with.
Pros
45 minute lunch, early starts and early finished, 27 days annual leave
Cons
Not much room to progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and progressive
Warehouse Manager (Secondment) (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol27 January 2018
A great place to work. Great opportunities to learn and progress yourself within a supportive environment, it was good being a small part contributing to saving and improving peoples lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward thinking workplace
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  England1 January 2018
Very forward thinking and proactive organisation.
Rewards those who work hard.
Aims to achieve exceptional work/life balance.
Works hard at keeping open channels of communication for such a widespread organisation.
Great variety of career development opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
TECHNICAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Colindale Station12 May 2016
Great place, with great people and great facilities.
High volume of samples to process, but it had a very well structured pipeline. Learned a lot.
Pros
Work conditions
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huntingdon22 February 2016
long hours, but very enjoyable and rewarding.
Large variety of work locations and always meeting new people.
Colleagues very knowledgeable and friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work especially introducing any organisational or work changes
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  ENG25 November 2015
Same old problem of remote management who reorganise without and idea of the effects on the ground. Example 1: Appointments system for donors introduced. Did NOT work and resulted in MASSIVE delays and complaints from donors. Example 2: Remote Complaints Management 'trying' to use standard procedures. Over bureaucratic. Complaints should initially be handled locally! Example 3: Three teams at Exeter, Taunton and North Devon were ALL allowed to develop their own working practices. Example 4: Remote overall management who did not allow local manager autonomy.

Having said all that I did enjoy the job and the many challenges it gave me. Also some amazing, dedicated staff!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  County Down, NIR20 May 2015
This job involved dealing with many blood donors a day dealing with admin tasks such as appointments to medical emergencies arising from donations.

It was an interesting job, which always made an effort to improve your skills. When busy, however, it did prove challenging, especially with the occasional unhappy donor.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and inspirational
Biomedical Scientist-Band 5 (Former Employee) –  Bristol, ENG11 June 2014
Hard work but fun to learn and very friendly with job satisfaction.
Pros
Career Progression Opportunities
Cons
Favouratism
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
PA/Medical Secretary (Current Employee) –  London, ENG18 March 2014
I work 9am-5pm with a 30 minute break.
I learnt a lot about medical field and how to deal with sensitive and confidential information.
Management is very good.
My co-workers are nice and helpful in difficult situations.
The hardest part is multi-tasking and meeting deadlines at times.
I enjoy my job overall.
Pros
Nice atmosphere
Cons
could be better paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report

See more NHS BLOOD AND TRANSPLANT reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NHS BLOOD AND TRANSPLANT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 17 reviews
56
48
31
21
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

NHS BLOOD AND TRANSPLANT Reviews by Location