Next PLC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and welcoming environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cwmbran Town14 June 2018
It can be a busy environment to work in which I like and everyone who works there are very welcoming throughout the time I worked there. It allowed me to advance my skills and knowledge on retail and this has given me life skills that I can use in any job that I choose.
Pros
Welcoming people, tidy environment
Cons
Some rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Sales Asisstant (Former Employee) –  London13 June 2018
assist customers and help them have a great time shopping,
find them right sizes and anything they need.
great management and good people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Next - Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Metrocentre13 June 2018
Was just a lot of standing around, would prefer a more challenging work enviroment. Had to stand in the shoe section by myself for 5 hours with no break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managaments
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lewisham13 June 2018
it is a good place to work for but not motivational place for someone who want to improve their skills. it was great experience to deal with different background customers and providing best customer experience. it was my work experience for my course.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal income for student's, flexible hours
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bromborough11 June 2018
Typical day in retail, serving the customer's best interest clothing wise.
Stockroom work; parcel delivery, store surplus, floor scanning.
Would recommend for student's requiring flexible work-time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and Prosperous
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hedge End11 June 2018
Everyone I worked with was lovely and really seemed to enjoy it there.

I have learned a lot about sales having worked closely with many different managers across the departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay for the staff than the job.
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bristol10 June 2018
Working at next has gained me some fantastic friends whom i take with onto my next job.
Working for next has been challenging at the best of times, they do not understand or consider availability when putting you in for shifts- they also apparently 'forget' you've ever told them.
They don't seem to understand the concept of part time staff nor respect how others want to move up the ranks.
As a company next are not good to work for, the money is low, for what is expected they should pay for uniform and make things easier for their staff.
Pros
The people
Cons
They dont care
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Stockroom Assistant / Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Redditch, Worcestershire10 June 2018
many different role, from working on the shop floor to breaking down delivery, their is a role for everyone.

good perks but the hours aren't always flexible
Pros
discount
Cons
working boxing day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Next plc was a fun and busy place to work for.
Sales Administrator (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire10 June 2018
Next plc was a fun and busy place to work for, the enjoyable part of the job was meeting new cistomers everyday, dealing with customer enquiries, management was a bit strict althouhgh overall it was a a very good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullies
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham, Durham8 June 2018
They expected you to just do your tiny contract and then jump when sale came up and when you refused they made your life working life awful.
Managers were bullies towards staff and some staff were bullies to others and a blind eye was turned.

STAY AWAY
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Little contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and welcoming workplace
Temporary Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, Wiltshire8 June 2018
As a university student I was able to work at Next for 3 weeks as part of a temporary summer sales job. I was really impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the quick but very thorough induction I was given, allowing me to integrate into life at Next very quickly. A really lovely workplace experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol7 June 2018
Next was my first ever job, lovely environment and made you feel secure when trained fully. managment didn't really like me but i still managed to push through that and stayed for 2 years
Pros
great customer service
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  London7 June 2018
Putting the right size clothing on the right sized hangers.
Learn to go extra mile for the customer
management was up to speed with rota
enjoyable to work with friendly and bubbly people
hardest part of the job is the long hours
most fun part of the job was the people you meet
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviornment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim6 June 2018
Was an easy place to work in when you applied yourself. Show up for work on time with a good attitude and the rest fell into place. Costumers can be hard to work with sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, but at times boring
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Woking, Surrey5 June 2018
Nice group of employees and the managers were nice
Sometimes the job was a little boring if the shop was not busy
Lunch break was short.
I learnt how to deal with difficult customers.
Working during the boxing day sales was a great experience as developed certain skills further such as management, working under pressure, communication, teamwork and others
Pros
Store discount, friendship
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job for sixth form
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire5 June 2018
• Working as a sales assistant, I must meet customers’ demands and focus on targets that are set for us, whilst appropriately handling unforeseen incidents such as aggressive customers and shoplifting.
• In circumstances where management were not present on the shop floor I was often given the responsibility of taking their place, which involves patrolling the store to ensure all staff and customers are alright and helping resolve any issues that may arise in this time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal for students, not so much for those looking to own a house or start a family
Van Driver (Former Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire31 May 2018
Overall not a bad place to work, but full time hours are very hard to come by, wages aren't great if you're under 25 and expect to work right through christmas
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing people out
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Evington, Leicestershire31 May 2018
All they seem to do is listen to employees over any management, your managers are not there for support, no communication, no training and the only thing they are good at is managing people out the door.
Pros
None
Cons
Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Next
Next - Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff31 May 2018
Was a great place to work, and offer good flexibility for hours so you can fit your social life around it. The staff working were all pleasant and there was a good atmosphere
Pros
atmosphere
Cons
busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Llanelli, Carmarthenshire30 May 2018
As a store, it's very well organised and productive. Teams can become quite cliquey. The sale periods can be very stressful, but if you are up to the challenge then it is exciting and fun. The online portal available to staff allows you to give up and exchange shifts, which is great. The salary isn't too bad, though it could be better seeing as you are expected to handle multiple responsibilities including working delivery and stockroom duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Next PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,985 reviews
5785
4910
3671
2267
1352

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture