Next PLC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work in the harlequin store!!! or any!!!
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire2 March 2018
one of the worst companies i've ever worked for. starting the job
i always wondered why people left so often but finally understood it was mainly due to management and their rudeness, lack of organisation and ripped me off my hourly rate. was getting £6.30 as a 20 year old when my other 20 year old friend was getting £7 + ?? they need to sort themselves out. awful place
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different
Compute sales prices (Former Employee) –  Purley, Greater London1 March 2018
Tidying up, stock check, customer service

I learnt you will either like retail or hate it.

Not much given

Good

Doing the sales at young age dealing with the choas at 4.00am

Experiencing it
Pros
learning
Cons
standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only interested in profits
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Essex1 March 2018
The company is only interested in profits and doesn't care who or how many people they have to screw over to get them!

Cut staff bonuses in half, twice, in a 12 month period despite making hundreds of million pounds profit.

They do not care about leaving work at work, and will contact you at all hours for the smallest things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and social
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 February 2018
Stocked and restocked merchandise
reorganised shop floor and clothing
worked during sale season so quick working and no sitting down

the staff were very nice but one of the managers wasn't that great
Pros
nice atmosphere
Cons
busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun friendly environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Taunton28 February 2018
learnt a lot about working in retail and how busy it can get. most enjoyable part of the job was doing work together as a group as everyone was so lovely and helped me when I was new.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Plymouth28 February 2018
I would make sure the floor is tidy with items hung up. Check the changing room for items to take back out to the shop floor. I learned that you need to keep an eye out for customers around you that may need help at any time. I had to manage my self to get all my tasks complete by the end of each day. The most enjoyable part of the job was making new friends and getting to know all of the customers.
Pros
Good amount of time for lunch and breaks.
Cons
Customers that were rude towards me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced role but in an enjoyable environment
Trainee Buyer (Current Employee) –  Leicester28 February 2018
A great company to work for with excellent benefits. Management style varies depending upon the division worked in. The most enjoyable part of the role is being able to take on lots of responsibility for your own product development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rides on its reputation
HGV 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  South Ockendon28 February 2018
poor employer:

Not interested in its staff, insist you work overtime without being asked, just make you do it....

They are too quick to disciplined and you are made to feel undervalued.
Pros
pay is fair
Cons
poor employer, not interested in its staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire27 February 2018
It was a nice place to work. Quite Cliquey in some of the departments but very understanding when it comes to family issues.

When I worked here, they only gave out 8 hour contracts, you can pick up extra hours but there was never any certainty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthy environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire27 February 2018
I enjoyed going to work everyday as it was a healthy and safe environment to be around.
I learned how to do varies things that i wouldn't of ever dreamed of doing.
For me i think the management was well done, i have nothing bad to say.
The hardest part of job was making sure i did everything to the best of my ability even if i found things hard.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and learning different things.
Pros
learning different things
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales assistant
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Crayford27 February 2018
Stacking shelves
Receiving and signing for deliveries
Customer service skills
Working within a structure
Stock rotation
Changing of stock modulars
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Over populated during sale times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a support sales team
Sales support team (Former Employee) –  Harrow, Greater London27 February 2018
My role would be being behind till and serving customers, and also I would be picking up next or weekly parcels that customers delivered to the shop, by asking their details for the item.
I learnt that communication is key in any profession that you are in, and to be treated with respect and kindness, what I really liked about Next in Harrow was it was very diverse and you get to meet different individuals with different backgrounds. This company help you improve in your skill and development that you lack in and boost your confidence in becoming a better sales advisor and overall. The most enjoyable part that I loved was serving customers and asking about how they find our service towards them and the customers telling us that they appreciate the hard work and giving us points on what to improve.
Pros
friendly staff, good pay, good manager very apporachable
Cons
less staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Essex27 February 2018
Overall a good company to work for however just like many retail jobs the pay isn't amazing. I do highly recommend it as a first job or weekend part time job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working staff, friendly place to work.
Sales Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear25 February 2018
At NEXT there was always something to do, whether it be working on the shop floor, tidying, keeping up on stock checks or helping customers. It was always a hard working, friendly environment and i would recommend working their to anyone. The hardest part of the job was early starts, there was nothing about the job which i found out of my ability, however you are always learning!
Pros
pick up extra shifts
Cons
retail can be very stressful at busy periods like christmas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Greenock, Inverclyde25 February 2018
NEXT Retail
Quality customer Service required along with availability 7 days a week and early mornings and late evenings. The need to transfer from customer service to warehouse replenishing and shop floor high quality standards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't work here
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester25 February 2018
No job security constant job cuts due to streamlining, Next isn't a company you want to work for anymore you're just a number to them there's no loyalty to long serving staff anymore
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Temporary Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds24 February 2018
Next is a good company to work with. You need to be: hard working, friendly, a high quality of customer service skills. You can choose to take up extra hours - flexibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Buckinghamshire24 February 2018
Productive fast paced environment with supportive staff who are happy to train new staff and ensure that staff are ready for their respective roles and any other responsibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture
London Conley - Sales consultant (Current Employee) –  London22 February 2018
I work at the warehouse distribution centre and it is a different working environment from the store, nonetheless less the work culture is the same. I have not seen anyone unhappy since I have been working with them for over 5 months.
Pros
Great working culture
Cons
pay could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christmas retail work
Stock Room Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swindon22 February 2018
Enjoyed it here everyone is helpful. Organised management and good team work too. Most days where busy but we always finished on time . The store manger is very hands on and gets involved.
Pros
Free parking. Staff discount
Cons
Work on Xmas eve & Boxing Day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Next PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,871 reviews
5757
4877
3644
2255
1338

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture