Next PLC Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Sales Consultants (Former Employee) –  Telford, Shropshire15 February 2018
Only worked here Part time, nice management.

Worked hard due to Christmas period


I am just typing to meet the 150 character requirement lolz haha.
Pros
nice people
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Next retail
Sales Consultant Team Coach (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire13 February 2018
There are loads of different aspects to this job- lifting, organisation, planning, time management. till work, putting new stock out and planning the shop floor layout, putting the stock away in its organised place, listening to consumers, being willing to assist, show understanding and approach everyone in a friendly manor. the hardest part is when your are under pressure with time to get the job done with accuracy however that makes you more determined to do so. the most enjoyable part is the new people you speak to everyday, the stories you hear and being praised for doing your job to the best of your ability and being appreciated for doing extra.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales and Stockroom Assistant (Current Employee) –  Martlesham12 February 2018
Organisation seems to be kind, respectful and willing to work as a team. I learned a lot of key skills needed to participate in a work environment and be productive at the same time.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice staff and good hours
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlow12 February 2018
Next was a nice place to work. The stockroom and shop floor teams were always friendly and hardworking, and easy to work and get along with. Hours were good, although longer, but manageable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience gained
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Banbury, Oxfordshire8 February 2018
Good experience gained overall and something to add to the cv. Good work for any teenagers/students looking for work whilst studying. Reasonable salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for improvements
Sales Team and Team Coach (Current Employee) –  Kidderminster7 February 2018
I work very hard for this company and have done for the past 5 years. I am on nearly a full time contract now and enjoy working there but need to progress in to a career. Next doesn't have any positions available for me and more and more management positions or higher paid jobs are being cut. People work hard and give there all but there are less and less benefits seen.
Pros
the staff/colleagues
Cons
Pay, hours, ability to progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Metrocentre, Tyne and Wear7 February 2018
Salary is minimum, workplace is nice and everyone is friendly. However not many hours are available meaning wages are restricted heavily each month, which is not good
Pros
Make friendship
Cons
Bad pay not many hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work place
Packer/Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire6 February 2018
New people are treated unfairly. The only one benefit is that hourly rate is 61p more than minimum wage. Any possibility to get bonus, no equipment to work, no scaners, slow system and managers expect more than you could do. If you looking for something where you are watched all the time, i recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sales Support (Sale period) (Former Employee) –  Hedge End1 February 2018
very long hours but good money! lots of opportunity to get more hours with most staff being offered a full time job after the sales support team period
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could treat staff better.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Camberley, Surrey28 January 2018
I was in a car crash and then was made to feel bad for not doing two twelve hour shifts in a row. Poor management and staff care, all they care about is their own benefits.
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Long hours, Bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many hours but friendly staff
sales consultant (Former Employee) –  York26 January 2018
Although I was working on a 8 hour contract i often found myself doing between 25-33 per week. As someone who had no other obligations this was not a problem for myself but i could imagine for others it may be. The pay was just over minimum wage, but this was fine as it is my first job. The staff and management were lovely and supportive, which was a huge positive and helped me in my training. The 25% off after two weeks of work was great, but with a fairly low salary and things i needed to use that money for, i was unable to utilise it as much as I would have liked.
Pros
staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On your feet constantly and always new experiences each day
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton25 January 2018
Working in next over christmas was good as i was able to pick up more shifts but as the christmas season died down there was less shifts available and my job was becoming less secure.
Definitely not a reliable job if you are just a Temp like i was.
Other than that, the workplace was nice due to the friendly staff and patient customers.
Pros
Lengthy break
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Consultant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Poole23 January 2018
it was a great place to work for students who are looking to temporary earn some money over the Christmas period. there wasnt anything strict on the uniform
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay but favouritism with management
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Throckley21 January 2018
Pay was above national minimum and managers were helpful when staff need time off but there is a lot of favouritism by management with the more favourable staff. Also expected to work beyond your capabilities with targets that are almost impossible to complete alone within the time given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible pay
Part-time Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Farnborough, Hampshire21 January 2018
They dictate when you should work. Your hours are changed every year to suit business needs. Great if you want new clothes every season! but not if you want to earn good money.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Terrible working hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people you work with make it worth going to work but the company sucks
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Scotland18 January 2018
For all the work that a sales manager has to do the pay rate is not enough. It is worse for a co-ordinator so I am glad I am not in this position.
There are some real negatives to working for this company. It feels like head office want to make life difficult for those working in stores. Over the past few years all that has happened is cuts after cuts after cuts. More and more is expected of the staff and the pay and discount no longer make it worth it.
Pros
The people you work with
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Delivery Coordinator (Current Employee) –  various18 January 2018
all staff are mistreated, never looked after and are expected to do over the amount required for a hard days work for a measly salary. the whole company policy stinks
Pros
you meet some nice people
Cons
always a mess due to poor recruitment process and contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible company to work for
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Castleford Central and Glasshoughton16 January 2018
management were always rude and did not care if you were genuinely ill, terrible staff benefits and discounts, was not an enjoyable place to work at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great short term job
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  midlands15 January 2018
After working with the company for 9 years in various roles, I've seen it transform into the current economic climate, which is difficult, as such next responded by cost cutting and one of these biggest costs are staff wages.

Next is a front runner on the high street, but in return expects a lot from its staff, and even more from managers, expecting them to work 10 hour plus days to ensure work gets done but only paying you for 8.

Whilst at next you do have great people around you, the standards can vary from store to store and level to level.

Next provides stable jobs and I would recommend for interim jobs, however if you were planning on a career, try to get into head office, or try elsewhere.
Cons
long hours, basic pay, unpaid hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low salary and little flexibility with hours
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Derry, County Londonderry13 January 2018
Little flexibility when it comes to hours especially around busy period (unless you can get someone to cover you, you have no chance of getting it off). Salary is low for under 21s and little additional benefits. There is little training but an expectation for you to do things by the book none the less. Breaks are way too short e.g half an hour for an 8 hour shift.
Pros
Hours are shown well in advance
Cons
Low pay, short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Next PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,761 reviews
5722
4851
3623
2241
1324

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture