Next PLC Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackburn, Lancashire20 May 2018
i worked there over the summer to earn a little before university. luckily i made a note of my hours and my wage agreed and safe to say i was underpaid by £100. took me a while to prove about my underpayment but in the end i was paid the correct amount. Its overall a horrible place to work in, the staff are rude and youre expected to do everyone elses job for them. NEVER EVER WORKING FOR THEM AGAIN.
Pros
Takes your mind off things
Cons
underpaid and rude staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Kent16 May 2018
A good team of people to work with but management do not care about staff. Wages are poor, a lot is expected of you. Long hours, no benefits except discount.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend.
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rugby, Warwickshire1 May 2018
Management were unfair.
No training given expected to know everything already.
Long shifts with little break.
Not friendly.
Hard to book holiday off..
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not ideal for long term
Stockroom Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen23 April 2018
If you are still in school, college or uni and want nothing more than a part time assistant job then you'd fit right in. However if you wish to progress and not in education, this may not be the right place for you.
With all the cut backs in the past few years it's become near impossible to climb the ladder.
On the positive side, some staff members are amazing, great to get on with.
Depending on the branch the management can be questionable but I think I'm relatively lucky in my branch.
The salary is somewhat average for retail with a chance of a good bonus if you're a committed worker.
There's a good chance you might get kept on if you're a christmas temp or after the probationary period. The only full time positions available generally fall to management so if you you're an assistant the balance between work and your personal life will be fine.
Pros
Uniform allowance 75% discount
Cons
Slim chance of promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all I can say is hmmm
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire17 April 2018
well the only reason as to why i have stayed for as long as i have is because of the people, management is poor, pay is poor but the flexibility of the hours is good. I am only a part-timer
Pros
discount
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable job.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Scotland16 April 2018
A good job for while you are at University or College. Reasonable benefits and bonuses. (25% staff discount, 75% uniform discount. Can earn more money depending on good service and sales) High staff and management turnover but has never negatively impacted the store. Overall, a decent job.
Pros
Can earn more money through bonuses.
Cons
Boxing Day sale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good company to work for
Christmas Temporary (Former Employee) –  Westfield Stratford City, Greater London16 April 2018
enjoyable part of job is speaking to customers
typical day at work was not nice
management was not soo good
I learned that everyones for themselves
culture of workplace did not enjoy
Pros
friends
Cons
short hours not good money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Children\'s Wear Floor Manager (Former Employee) –  London10 April 2018
worked there over 10 years ago, not sure how it is now. was great when i was there. only worked weekends. the team was great had loads of fun and always made sure the job was done.
Pros
nice people, uniform
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and helpful workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Colchester9 April 2018
Enthusiastic team to work with, lots of opportunity to develop a wide range of retail knowledge.
Good hours that accommodated for holiday and flexible weekly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good company to work for
Team Coach (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth4 April 2018
Great atmosphere at work as long as you don't break with pressure. Friendly staff and management dependant on store location. Pay could be better but employee bonus is good dependant on performance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Trainee Consultant (Former Employee) –  Leckwith4 April 2018
every year NEXT do an over hall of ALL contracts that are not management which means in order to ensure company efficiency and the right staffing levels during peaks days and times they make all staff re apply for different contracts which throws your family life into disarray so this job is only suitable for young people without children.

The highest levels of management are unprofessional.
Pros
staff are nice
Cons
no real benefits, unsociable hours, bad management, bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
TEMP SECURITY ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Gallions Reach shopping centre4 April 2018
> i loved working in team
> as team we always have fun
> timing of work was good
> i had several retails experience but Next has taught me about stock and delivery services in the back house.
Pros
always talking and enjoying
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Renfrew, Renfrewshire28 March 2018
Working at Next Braehead has certainly been an experience. Shifts go in slow. The training at Next is good. Working over the sale periods will be the worst shifts of your life. Management are rarely on the floor so this requires staff to use their initiative. Getting uniform is a very hard long process. Management have to approve uniform and this can be hard for younger employees and annoying paying for clothes you will never wear again. It is difficult to get extra hours unless it's christmas or over a sale period. They red week a number of weeks throughout the year and it is mandatory that you're able to work within that time. This is why a number of employees need to leave over the summer. I have made a number of good friend but it is full of cliques, if you're not liked by management you're stuffed!
Pros
25% discount, good wage, training
Cons
bad management, difficult to get extra hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Colleagues
Home Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh25 March 2018
Fun and easy work however life work balance is not good, sometimes very boring when there is not a lot of customers, hours over sale time are no very reasonable
Pros
Fun
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but Hard.
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Cwmbran, Monmouthshire13 March 2018
The people at Next Cwmbran are really lovely. I enjoyed my time there very much. The work was fun, but hard with a few long hours. I would definitely work there again now my kids are older.
Pros
Great people to work for.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it here!
Customer service advisor (Current Employee) –  Doncaster, Armthorpe12 March 2018
Honestly one of the best jobs ive ever had.
In a nutshell yes you are on probation for 3-6 months and yes you do have to work at it. Theres plenty of coaching an if you feel there isnt just ask!.
I dont know what this mention of clicks comes from the whole place is very welcoming and open.
Next customers are a mixture of understanding to down right rude but you get that in any customer facing job anyway.
Pay is brilliant with up to triple pay overtime available. Chance to earn an extra 26% bonus every three months too, of course you have to hit certain targets but these are easily achieved.
Yes there is mandatory overtime during the summer and at christmas upto 4 hrs per day and u get to pick the day, dont see the problem with this who doesnt want extra money? Laughable. Calls are priority but when its quiet you get switched to emails or online chat which is a nice break.
Id recommend taking a lunch with you there isnt much choice in the canteen.
Seriously though if your not happy voice concerns ive had loads of personal problems and theyve been nothing but supportive. If you dont ask you dont get simple. Im currently pregnant and about to go on maternity leave in 8 weeks so good luck and have an open mind x
Pros
Pay, colleagues, bonus, social
Cons
To long between breaks, Needs a better canteen
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with an identity crisis
Stockroom & Delivery Manager (Current Employee) –  Solihull11 March 2018
Next is so keen to develop itself and bring in new initiatives it often contradicts itself to what it asked of the staff 12 months ago. It lacks concrete decisions and firm direction as a company but also in stores.

As a whole it is a pleasant place to work. Operational departments are more light hearted places to work but the constant increase in workload can put a lot of pressure on the staff - some of which are young and only part-time.

It's a company wanting to be taken seriously but until it advances the right people with salaries to reflect its expectations; this just isn't going to happen. Next has lost a lot of good managers and staff thanks to the companies whims, sporadic changes and poor salaries - their loss though!
Pros
None
Cons
Unrealistic expectations, poor salary, no people focus
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and friendly atmosphere.
Sales Assistant (Christmas Temp) (Former Employee) –  Colchester9 March 2018
A good rapport with staff and customers alike. Friendly and relaxed but generally a fast paced service required due to the time of year.
Made to feel welcome by all staff for the short and temporary time I was there.
Pros
Working with a good friendly team and customers.
Cons
Parking distance and fees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced role but in an enjoyable environment
Trainee Buyer (Current Employee) –  Leicester28 February 2018
A great company to work for with excellent benefits. Management style varies depending upon the division worked in. The most enjoyable part of the role is being able to take on lots of responsibility for your own product development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Essex27 February 2018
Overall a good company to work for however just like many retail jobs the pay isn't amazing. I do highly recommend it as a first job or weekend part time job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Next PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,865 reviews
5754
4877
3642
2255
1337

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture