Next PLC Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 590 reviews matching the search See all 3,099 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avoid working for them
STOCK ROOM TEAM LEADER (Former Employee) –  London17 November 2018
no matter how long you work for them, they will misuse staff. Pointless trying to move into management. They expect you to lose your life for them.Avoid toxic environments.
Cons
you do not get paid for extra hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job but little more
Team Coach (Current Employee) –  Gloucester14 November 2018
I have worked at next within a 3 different stores for the last 4.5 years, though i find the job enjoyable it is rarely challenging, offers next to no route for progression, despite being overly qualified and experienced for the role i hold. additionally, the positions bare considerable responsibilities in relation to the rate of pay per hour (minimum wage), the company from what i have seen could make many improvements if it used the staff and resources it had available more effectively.
Pros
Friendly working environment
Cons
Limited hours, minimum wage, overload of responsibilities, non existent progression opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elgin, Moray14 November 2018
If you are desperate for some cash then it is an easy job (once you figure out for yourself how everything works as the training is terrible). The customers are almost all lovely too.

But you are not paid enough to put up with the management and other members of staff in there. When I worked there the staff were very rude and I heard a lot of them saying horrible things about new people behind their backs. It then makes you wonder what they have said about you.

Staff who have been there for years get away with talking for ages (sometimes up to half an hour) whilst others have to pick up the slack and get told off for even speaking to another colleague.

The staff turnover here is unbelievable too. You'd think they would makes some changes, but no.

Not the place to work if you value your sanity.
Pros
Shift marketplace
Cons
Management, salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aylesbury11 November 2018
the pay isnt great here and the job is boring, if your looking for a job just to get a little bit of extra cash then this is all this place is worth working for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire6 November 2018
the staff are amazing we are like family as for
the management they couldn’t care less you are nothing but a number in their eyes! in my store personally! fake smiles and only nice to you when they want a favour! the benefits have gone down hill not even noticeable in my pay anymore! good job for mums or uni students as flexible.
Cons
not appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  West Midlands6 November 2018
This was a very good place to work. Extra hours were always available. Management were firm but approachable when needed. All in all was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon Thames, Greater London24 October 2018
Fun days at work although hours are quite long sometimes. Very supportive colleagues, good industry to get into if wanting to excel within retail.
Pros
people who you work with
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but tiring
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands21 October 2018
Everyone that works there loves working there. There was always something to do so always on your feet and never bored. It's a very positive environment. The pay is not as good with the amount they make you work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant admin (Former Employee) –  Leicester5 October 2018
Good working environment. a lot of benefits and bonuses. good overtime rates and hours are flexible. friendly colleagues and environment. overall a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Assistant Accountant (Current Employee) –  Enderby29 September 2018
Challenging and rewarding work, equiping in valuable experience in relatively short period of time. Good work culture, sharing experience and knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work place
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London28 September 2018
did not enjoy my time in here, while its flexible for you to work around your other commitment. You dont get treated properly, you are expected to do so much. Pay is not that great either
Pros
discount
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be full 5 stars.
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Glasgow26 September 2018
With new restraints company seem to be cutting all the wrong corners. Expected to work all hours without a thanks. Expected to change day off at a days notice. Completely unrealistic targets.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Long unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic
Sales Manager on the Childrenswear department (Current Employee) –  Camberley, Surrey21 September 2018
learned a lot of people skills at next.
Staff are great to work with, however praise from senior management is minimal.
A lot is expected of from you, for a smaller salary.
Most enjoyable part of the job is seeing results on the floor and money going through the tills.
Pros
n/a
Cons
lack of motivation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fab to work for
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  St Helens, Merseyside12 September 2018
I enjoyed working over the Boxing Day sale period even though it was a hectic period. Good pay even though I was only 16 at the time and lovely management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don't do it to yourself
Sales Consultant/Head Team Coach (Current Employee) –  Enfield11 September 2018
the management is beyond a joke, you're given store policies and told to adhere to them only to be undermined by them in front of customers. They pay you minimum wage and expect you to sell your soul to make the company tick.. in terms of benefits there isn't any. they offer incentives only to take them away shortly after
honestly the company is one that functions based on how much you are willing to sacrifice for them but never look to taking care of the employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Working Place
Sales Support Temp (Former Employee) –  Havant10 September 2018
Next offer flexible hours which can be suit the staff and this can all be done online so you can clearly see for yourself and extra hours are available
Easy to fit in with the staff
work on different department then you develop preference of where you like best
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
STOCK ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester6 September 2018
great place to work staff are friendly if you get the right ones new things everyday sales hard part of the job meals out for xmas or when anybody leaves
Cons
breaks not long enough
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job for temporary employment
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Colne27 August 2018
Reasonable as a part time temporary job. Not much scope at all for progression. I have been working here for 3 years and my main complaint is that you have to book holidays way in advance, and they don't let you change them once booked. So little flexibility in that sense. The managers will put your name down for shifts without consulting you and thats never a nice conversation to have.
Uniform allowance and staff discount are good to have.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Not much stimulation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Feltham20 August 2018
Cant remember too much as was a while ago but ok palce to work, good stuff, cant compain, ok hours, good manager at the time, overall learned a lot at the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management, poor pay for the hours, overworked
Sales Team Member (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands20 August 2018
Work so many hours with little pay, worked on departments I wasn’t trained in, both my managers were horrible one of them didn’t even know my name for gods sake and the other one was so rude when I had time off in hospital, same boring tasks over and over again, no praise for doing a good job ever and you work your bum off, even the staff looked unhappy or were unhappy, worst job I’ve ever done in my life, I dreaded going to work everyday, Boxing Day sale was the worst thing I’ve ever experienced please I beg anyone do not work here you will hate it and this is the Fort shopping park store in Birmingham I can’t describe the other stores but imagine the same
Pros
Benefits and discounts
Cons
Long hours, little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Next PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,099 reviews
5816
4938
3696
2278
1371

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture