Next PLC Employee Reviews for Warehouse Worker

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basically you become a slave
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire15 July 2018
Worst job ever, near on impossible targets, 90% of people cant speak proper english. Warehouse is about as hot as the face of the Sun, the Team Managers (GLORIFIED SUPERVISORS) think they're CEO of Next and need a reality check. All the equipment is dropping to bits and stinks of sweat. There is also forced overtime, also known as flex where you must work an extra shift so many weeks of the year, to earn days off.
If you're a brain dead zombie then you'll have no problem becoming a NEXT WARRIOR, but if you've got at least a couple of brain cells rubbing together in that head of yours, you'll avoid this job as I should've.
Pros
Quitting
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly great company to work for
warehouse opperative (Former Employee) –  Essex26 June 2018
i enjoyed my time at next id recommend it to anyone as a job opportunity within a great friendly company that has plenty of chance to expand to other next stores
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training and support
Temporary warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Cheadle, Cheshire14 May 2018
I had two placements at NEXT.

Both offered excellent support and training from good mangers able to work with permanent and temporary team members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
autoput its lovely peaceful place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Pontefract16 April 2018
no bad, but mothers dont get change for change hours to find childcare. lovely people, no bad menagment. good work culture. very enjoyable work . no stress at al
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lonely
Warehouse Operative in Retail Department (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall19 February 2018
Good for lone workers, not much of a team effort. Lots of scrambling around each other to meet your quotas. Many staff i came into contact didn't speak English or just didn't want to talk. Found it very isolating.
Pros
Part/full time
Cons
Long, lonely hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire7 February 2018
if you dont have to work there find different job. Some shifts are radiculous , within three years my shift was changed three or four times not because I wanted to but because planning departament wanted to save money for the company
Thats the place to work for someone who definitely doesnt have kids , not family friendly at all. Money not bad but not on every departament.
Pros
company shop
Cons
stupid shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work place
Packer/Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire6 February 2018
New people are treated unfairly. The only one benefit is that hourly rate is 61p more than minimum wage. Any possibility to get bonus, no equipment to work, no scaners, slow system and managers expect more than you could do. If you looking for something where you are watched all the time, i recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good menagment, nice people
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire5 February 2018
Working effectively and efficiently as part of a team where attention to detail, physical stamina, meeting deadlines and the ability to work well with others was important
Maintaining a clean and safe working environment ensuring the work area was left to a high standard of cleanliness at the end of each day
Working collaboratively and productively with teams of varying sizes, helping to meet joint goals and deadlines -Working professionally and calmly against tight deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard work
Warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall30 January 2018
spent four years working here and just kept my head down management was atrocious and disorganised, management would come on any shift they liked while the work force were working late nights and extra days
Pros
staff shop
Cons
flex up(6-day week 1 day off)
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall29 January 2018
Store received goods in the appropriate locations within the warehouse.Check loads for damaged or missing items upon receipt. Workplace Housekeeping Clean the space and ensure that goods don’t get damaged. Work with a team
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team
WAREHOUSE OPERATIVE (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire25 January 2018
Enjoyed my time working at next with fellow colleagues. We worked well together. Sometimes the management didn’t have an understanding of personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Doncaster19 January 2018
They dont care for peoples who working in that position.
Bad management.
For 6 months change contracts 3 times and expect peoples to be motivated. ( full shift )
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire10 January 2018
All the managerial staff were good and helpful I liked working at this place and made many good friends If only I could’ve got a permanent position unfortunately I was on a contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish company to work for
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire. BD410 January 2018
Abusive management style, demands people show respect to management whilst failing to show respect to their employees. Constant bullying of employees demanding that they work ever faster regardless of wether they are able to do so. They try fervantly to dehumanise people and trreat them like machines. Frequent errors in peoples earnings.
Managers are more interested in getting their own bonuses higher than they are in their own employees.

The above applies to Next Distribution L:imited, (AKA NEXT FASHIONS Plc) Toftshaw Lane, Bradford. BD4
Pros
None
Cons
Not worth the experience. Has canteen but rubbish food
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire30 December 2017
always friendly, good place to work. i was in charge of putting the returns away on the deisignated rails. hours were good. there is a good bonus system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labourer
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Doncaster19 December 2017
Enjoyed working for this company. Looking for further labouring positions. Lots of good experience gained. Gained my CSCS card and lots of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have worked for
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough18 August 2017
At first it seemed like a good place to work. Until I realised that whilst training to do your job, there was little to no help from other members of staff or management.

I was a temporary contract for 2 weeks over Christmas, in the end I got kept on longer until March. I then got told I could cover a maternity contract until December, signed my contract then that same day I got told they didn't need me anymore. This really annoyed me, but then to make it worse they said it was a mix up and they're sorry for the confusion. Couple of days later they said it again 'we don't need you' so that was that. They gave me a weeks notice.

Last but not least, 1 month later I found them advertising my job on here. So overall NEXT is ran by pure amateurs and I would never recommend the company to anybody.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Warehouse Operative/Picker (Former Employee) –  Leeds16 August 2017
I worked in a warehouse in Leeds but it's shut down now, my day was always the same, picking and packing, the people I worked with were really nice and I'm still friends with them to this day.
Pros
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright for a temporary job
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Trafford, Greater Manchester4 August 2017
Staff are great, some managers are too. Get paid nmw, not really easy to progress higher, so have to be in with the right crowd to do so. You get uniform and staff discount.
Pros
Uniform and staff discount
Cons
Pay and some managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
Warehouse assistant (Former Employee) –  London Colney, Hertfordshire26 July 2017
Taking on tasks outside my job description provided an experience of great responsibility. I were able to develop skills of both front of house and stockroom staff. This gave me the hunger to constantly take on new challenges and thrive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Next PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,982 reviews
5784
4909
3671
2267
1351

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture