Next PLC Employee Reviews

Found 3,318 reviews matching the search See all 3,554 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire15 November 2019
Busy workplace with friendly staff members however difficult management.
The work is very repetitive but can switch between departments for some variety.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day to day work in next
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  London15 November 2019
The mornings I would come and check in this time the store is very quite and I would calmly do my tasks which is to mainly keep the shop floor well organised by double checking every part of each shelf and putting each clothing in the correct section before later on in the afternoon when it gets busy, in the afternoon is where it gets fun and lively lots of people coming in and that obviously means more work me and my team were always managed well by the supervisors and they would always teach us ways of drawing customers to us by interaction and building raptor with a customer, the most hardest part of the job was cleaning up the store although I still really enjoyed it and it gave good exercise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somehow a sloe and fast paced work environment.
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire14 November 2019
When there are customers on the shop floor, the day goes by very smoothly. One may get the odd hard-to-deal-with customer, but other than that, a pleasant work environment. When there are little to no customers however, you are asked to always stay busy, which isn't always possible when you've already done every conceivable thing that needs to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good retail to work
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Brent Cross Station14 November 2019
Loved my time working in next good mangments always something to do and 75% discount on uniform and 30% on others. Good team to wor with go back there any time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, demanding and rewarding but under paid
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Bedford, Bedfordshire13 November 2019
Next is a very well run company who strike the right balance securing a bright future through tight cost controls and keeping pace with an ever changing environment. The expectations are high and the workload is ever increasing but it teaches people about so many aspects of working life as well as basic life skills, all of which are transferable to alternative companies. The team will always depend on how they are led but on the whole they are all like minded people who not only work together but socialise together and form lifelong relationships. Dealing with the general public is the most difficult part of the job but can be the most rewarding whilst the hardest part is trying to achieve the very high expectations with ever decreasing resources and the unsociable hours over the festive season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad starting job
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Maidstone13 November 2019
It’s alright as a starting job. Pay was minimum wage so nothing great there. Management only made sure that the store targets was it not really borthered about the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good all round place to work
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Inverness, Highland12 November 2019
Good place to work, happy and friendly environment with some good perks, could have better and more changes for advancement. Better job security in some cases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Van Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  South Ockendon11 November 2019
They just push people ... especially van drivers! better work into a warehouse doesn`t get penalties, no stress on the road. you load your van unload do warehouse work ...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No one knows whos in charge
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall11 November 2019
Managers rude, no one knows who you are your basically a number . No support or anyway you can earn your bonus to make it worth earning. Mixed locker room not ideal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow11 November 2019
very good team and managers, kind and flexible hours. In the back of the shop it is very fast paced and your progress through the day is tracked so you always have to work hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
IT Technician (Current Employee) –  Enderby, Leicestershire10 November 2019
Good.A great job title typically includes a general term, level of experience and any special requirements. The general term will optimise your job title to show up in a general search for jobs of the same nature. The level of experience will help you attract the most qualified applicants by outlining the amount of responsibility and prior knowledge required. And if your position is specialised, consider including the specialisation in the job title as well. But avoid using internal titles, abbreviations or acronyms to make sure people understand what your job posting is before clicking.

Examples of IT Technician job titles
IT Technician
IT Technician (Entry-Level)
IT Technician (with Linux proficiency)
IT Technician (Part-Time)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire10 November 2019
I have enjoyed working with this company while I’ve been with them however I feel like my time has come to branch out and explore different companies and fields of work as I feel like I’m not progressing to where I want to be by working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review of working at next
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire9 November 2019
A typical day at work is very fast pace, especially on the weekends. However it is really easy to pick up and a very lovely team to work alongside. I really improved on time management which is a must whilst there and also my customer service skills improved massively. The hardest part of the job would be just remembering procedures but once you pick it up it’s easy. The most enjoyable part of the job is When you help a customer and you can see how satisfied they are.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend
Picker (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall8 November 2019
I was only at Next for a short amount of time due to personal reasons, however during my time there the management and recruitment team were amazing and so helpful, the job itself is so easy and there’s so many benefits to the job, Usdaw union, staff shop, staff discounts canteen and much much more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really stressful work place
Mess floor (Former Employee) –  Toftshaw bradford8 November 2019
I worked there for 6 months there’s a lot of bullying going on regarding with managers a lot of manipulation and too much pressure to hit targets or loose your job there are a lot of issues within this business and a lot of people don’t speak English.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Next - Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham6 November 2019
really faced past, good support for training and further development, and you can pick and switch your shifts online so feels really flexible, its different everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made some forever friends
Team Coach (Former Employee) –  Ipswich - Martlesham6 November 2019
Worked with a great team at both stores, thoroughly enjoyed going to work.
Uniform allowance and staff discount was a bonus, and staff incentives were always worth putting effort in for.
Management at the time, were fantastic. No complaints. Would go back if enough hours were available for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London East, Greater London6 November 2019
Not a fun place to work at. amazing flexibility however managers mostly think about themselves than you. awful customers which result in short staff.

managers do not help unless it will help them first.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible! Please avoid unless you have no choice!
Call Centre Advisor (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire6 November 2019
Awfull role!! Not what i would expect from a customer service position. In order to hit your targets your looking at taking about 100 calls per day and 95% of these are complaints in some way shape or form. Whats worse is that most of the time you cant even help the customers because its often the fault of the delivery company and you just feel like a human punch bag for customers to vent there frustrations at. The support becomes non existant after a few weeks on the floor. I was sacked due to having been ill on 2 seperate ocassions which shows how little they value staff. Went in to do my shift and after a quick meeting was sacked there and then without any hesitation. Disgusting but in a way at least ive been put out of my misery. Pretty sure if id been with a union it may have been seen as unlawfull dismissal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thurmaston Next Sales
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire5 November 2019
Next have become a mess of a company to be honest.. they need to sort themselves out.. they easily hire people on short term contracts and dispose of them like they have all the money in the world and then re hire again every time they have sales just to train them up again.. they waste their own time as well as others. Management are always all over the place. They made me depressed So glad I’m not working there anymore. The only part I enjoyed was meeting new and regular customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Next PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 3,554 reviews
5898
41K
3789
2345
1477

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture