Next PLC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no.
Christmas Temp (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire19 April 2018
was my first job didn't enjoy, no one wanted to talk to me so hours went by very slowly, and i quit just after 2/3 weeks working there, so yeah it was pretty rubbish, thank god that I'm finished reviewing all these cause i just want to find a job :)
Pros
none
Cons
worked there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
your just a number at times.....
management (Current Employee) –  Scotland19 April 2018
felt like just a number at times not a person, they would ideally like robots working here.....
don't look at the strengths of the individual just want robots that can do everything
often change what they want and contradict themselves from one moment in time to the other
Pros
uniform allowance 75% off
Cons
make out staff welfare comes first but only if it fits in to what they want
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable job.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Scotland16 April 2018
A good job for while you are at University or College. Reasonable benefits and bonuses. (25% staff discount, 75% uniform discount. Can earn more money depending on good service and sales) High staff and management turnover but has never negatively impacted the store. Overall, a decent job.
Pros
Can earn more money through bonuses.
Cons
Boxing Day sale.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good company to work for
Christmas Temporary (Former Employee) –  Westfield Stratford City, Greater London16 April 2018
enjoyable part of job is speaking to customers
typical day at work was not nice
management was not soo good
I learned that everyones for themselves
culture of workplace did not enjoy
Pros
friends
Cons
short hours not good money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
autoput its lovely peaceful place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Pontefract16 April 2018
no bad, but mothers dont get change for change hours to find childcare. lovely people, no bad menagment. good work culture. very enjoyable work . no stress at al
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed work experience
Work Experience - Childrenswear Buying (Former Employee) –  Leicester15 April 2018
I did work experience for Next whilst I was in the 2nd year of Uni, it really helped with my course and as I later learned it helped with my knowledge going into the industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Solihull, West Midlands12 April 2018
The staff was very friendly and helping. Mostly consisted of staying on the shop floor and if necessary behind the tills as well if the queues were long. I looked forward to everyday as it was an incredible experience and really good for a first job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Winter Temp (Former Employee) –  Brent Cross Station10 April 2018
A sociable, focused and well presented individual who has a track record of putting the customer first,developing people, delivering results and achieving high retail standards. Able to work to accurately to deadlines, whilst fully focussing on providing
excellent customer service at all times.Having a commitment to work to the best of my ability and always looking to address the client’s needs first. A driven individual who wants to progress, and is now looking to join a company where internal
succession is always given priority.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a part-time job
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wembley, Greater London10 April 2018
You would be responsible for maintaining correct levels of stock on shop floor. Assist in transferring out old seasonal stock whilst performing stockroom assistant duties in a warehouse setting. You would assist your fellow stockroom staff in organising and managing the stockroom. You would also prepare and take part in stock take.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Pay wasn't very competitive, difficult to advance your skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Children\'s Wear Floor Manager (Former Employee) –  London10 April 2018
worked there over 10 years ago, not sure how it is now. was great when i was there. only worked weekends. the team was great had loads of fun and always made sure the job was done.
Pros
nice people, uniform
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place of work.
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Cwmbran, Monmouthshire10 April 2018
This was my first attempt at retail and I absolutely loved it, although a lot to take in at very busy time of the year, everyone had a lot of time for me which I really appreciated.
Great staff morale with excellent management.
Customers in my opinion were all wonderful and surprisingly very kind.
Lovely friendly staff of all ages.
Pros
All
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and helpful workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Colchester9 April 2018
Enthusiastic team to work with, lots of opportunity to develop a wide range of retail knowledge.
Good hours that accommodated for holiday and flexible weekly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal vacancy
Store assistant (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire7 April 2018
I worked during a seasonal vacancy within the company, management were good and staff worked well as a team. However, job just wasn't for me to go on as a full time member of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time
Part-Time Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  WORCESTER6 April 2018
Whilst working for Next I was elected Communication Officer, within this role I had to look the day to day issues of the staff .i.e. disciplinarians, contract changes etc
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christmas temp
(Temporary Christmas Staff) Duties (Former Employee) –  Mansfield5 April 2018
worked for a month as a christmas temp.

was very busy.
stacking shelves serving customers.
usual duties in keeping a store going during christmas thats about it
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
FLT Driver/Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Rotherham Dearne Valley Pallets5 April 2018
Hrs not family friendly, too much messing around with shift patterns, which makes it less productive. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the managers were very professional, kept the staff updated regularly. A very enjoyable time for me, at the end of the day its a job, we go to earn money, not everyone is going to like it, but i can honestly say the managers and my colleagues were fantastic. Had i not of been laid off through union agreement to give my job to another flt driver from another Next warehouse due to longer service then i would never have left. The company did offer me a lesser paid position within the warehouse. At least they tried to help, where a lot of others wouldn't.
Pros
colleagues, managers, conditions
Cons
shift changes too often
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good company to work for
Team Coach (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth4 April 2018
Great atmosphere at work as long as you don't break with pressure. Friendly staff and management dependant on store location. Pay could be better but employee bonus is good dependant on performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Trainee Consultant (Former Employee) –  Leckwith4 April 2018
every year NEXT do an over hall of ALL contracts that are not management which means in order to ensure company efficiency and the right staffing levels during peaks days and times they make all staff re apply for different contracts which throws your family life into disarray so this job is only suitable for young people without children.

The highest levels of management are unprofessional.
Pros
staff are nice
Cons
no real benefits, unsociable hours, bad management, bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
C plus E Driver (Current Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire4 April 2018
iv worked for next plc for 16 years now and gone from working Monday to Friday to any 5 out off 7 with a decent work life balance but now they have decided to change the rotas ie. over a 38 week period I had 24 weekends off and now the want to reduce that to 9 weekends off in 38 weeks
Pros
25% discount card
Cons
no work life ballance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to bad
Next - Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon4 April 2018
Can be quite cliques with cattiness can be fun working with public and fashion great at training customer service and company bonuses and uniform allowance plus incentives in-store for gift cards etc was more physical as you carry lots of stock and all day on your feet walking thousands of steps to and fro the stockrooms for customers...contracts available are small but you are required to work more hrs and it's not great working late nights for phase changes or working long hrs over christmas and sale periods etc.
Pros
Uniform allowance & staff discount
Cons
No Christmas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Next PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,837 reviews
5744
4873
3640
2247
1333

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture