Next Distribution Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work team and great place to work
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  doncaster18 August 2018
Brilliant place to work learning new skills on a day to day basis. Great management team to work with absolutely amazing job and would work back there if any jobs came up in the future
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Armthorpe, South Yorkshire1 August 2018
Furniture picking and packing and llop driving met some really good people and also managers easy to get along with really good working environment.
Pros
working area
Cons
distance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has its good and bad sides
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  South Elmsall25 July 2018
Good work place for a start or if you don't have qualification or ambition although there are ways to promote and from warehouse operative you can become team coach or even team manager
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Bad work conditions like no air con during summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Workplace
QC Reworker (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall21 June 2018
No real care for staff, felt completely replaceable from start to finish. Warehouses are too old and too hot, tools and machinery is old and poorly maintained.
Cons
Horrible Shift Patterns
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best managment
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire28 May 2018
The team coaches and managers do not look down on you which is so rare for a warehouse. They treat you with respect. Everyone is nice to each other. No back chatting. They have a union to support agency workers.

The work is boring and repetitive. You get 20 minutes paid break . 30 mins unpaid. Lovely canteen.

Everyone is nice. Easy to get to by bus which drops you off right outside.
Pros
Nice managers
Cons
Repetitive work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only promoted if your face fits
Picker/Packer/Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire21 May 2018
Next distribution is not about people it's about certain people who are "liked" by managers. If your face don't fit forget it, poor jobs. Certain people get promoted because of who they know not what know. Rubbish management who are bullies.
Pros
Staff shop
Cons
Arrogant managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire23 April 2018
I spent 6 months there then left. I used to wonder what is was like for the ancient Israelites working under Pharaoh and now i know. My line manager a short man based in South Elmsall behaved like a dictator and everyone he manages hates him like crazy. Before i left i heard he was transferred to Dearne Valley as Site Manager (i pity those who will come in contact with him)

The working environment is very tense and people continue to leave all the time been replaced by agency staff. I am glad i am set free from this mental and physical slavery
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management poor, snotty people to work with. Redhouse
Warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Redhouse9 March 2018
Not bad place to work apart from the people, especially one of the staff telling agency staff to shut up talking etc. When people report this amazingly they get laid off, management is really poor all lie and bullsh*t about their roles. They tell you there managers when they're team leaders, a few of the team leaders are really nice. Different team leaders tell you different things to do or how to do it so in the end you don't know what to do as they all tell you different. The next own staff are up each other apart from a few. Overall, i wouldn't work there again, the job was good apart from targets they expected you to hit and the staff are poor.
Pros
Good job, some team leaders are nice to work with
Cons
Poor management, most of staff are c**ts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse operative
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Rotherham3 March 2018
a good typical day at work learnt quite a lot to be fair good management wasn't any hard parts to the jobs i did there the most enjoyable part of the job loading trailers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good company to work for
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire26 February 2018
Next was renound for quality but this is now not always the case. Staff are now just a number. Staff are in fear of losing their jobs. Managemnt are not equipped with skills to manage.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Management lack of skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about work
Class1 driver (Current Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead25 February 2018
Gone through the good times
Poor management
Good benefits
Can earn a lot of money
Sacrifice life
Early starts and late starts on one rota
Sharesave scheme
Pros
Sharesave scheme
Cons
No life. Working most weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Place to work
Team Coach (trainer) (Current Employee) –  Doncaster23 February 2018
As a Team Coach my day to day working life would be induct new employees and then on the job training for a specific area of the warehouse. With in induction there would be health & safety training, manual handling training and lots of risk assessments to do with areas and departments, at Next its all about ensuring everyone is safe. Safety with in Next is paramount to working with in a distribution centre. Next is a very demanding work place and is always improving in all areas with state of the art automation. Next is a fantastic place to work, its just that I'm moving to the next chapter of my working career and want to become a professional driver.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most depressing place iv ever worked.
Transport Supervisor (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire21 February 2018
The directors of the business need to get a grip and fast. It's all good and well bragging about record profits, but in reality the most important part of any business, distribution is at breaking point.

The whole transport department has been poorly restructured. Often, you are expected to do 6 peoples jobs. You have transport planners who have no experience in transport and you spend most of the shift taking abuse from the drivers and rectifying their mess. You get an average holiday entitlement on paper, its just a shame you will never get any due to staff shortages. Their more than happy for you to work through your break and dock your wages when you leave early to compensate.

I expected massive things from Next. It was just a job full of false promises right from the word go. I have never worked in a more stressful, depressing, degrading, demoralizing job in my life. Training is extremely poor. You reachly are thrown in the deep end trying to resolve senior management level issues on very poor wages.

You reachly are treated as number.
Pros
Getting out with my dignity still intact
Cons
I really dont want to write a novel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgraceful place to work
Packer (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire6 February 2018
All management are up their own the place is dirty and they are a bunch of liars.
They flexed me down constantly and then laid me off due to there being no work. Then when my parents emailed hr to find out why they sent a load of rubbish back stating that I was never flexed down.
The management are bullies.
And if you think your gunna get a full time job then be prepared for the shock of your life when they tell you your not good enough
Other than that mint place to work NOT!
Pros
None
Cons
Bullies
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Next distribution
LGV 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  South Elmsall, West Yorkshire24 January 2018
Not the place it used to be,high blame n wanting to discipline all time,not made to feel a asset to the company,very poor man management,don’t care about you or your family needs,
Pros
Sickness scheme, staff discount, share save
Cons
any 5 from 7 shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Next day to stores (Current Employee) –  Next16 January 2018
If your not afraid of work. Then you can’t go wrong at next a brilliant place to work , they support you on your career journey the staff are understanding and it’s a pleasurable place to work , however you have to be willing to work and to accept different tasks. The training is second to none .
Pros
Holidays to suit you
Cons
Nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire24 November 2017
My dutys was picking orders and packing orders. Did badic general warehouse dutys including picking packing forklift driver really enjoyed working there....
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was gold
Next warehouse (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire21 November 2017
Had a good time made friends worked hard need to put me head down and stay focused but messed up happens put now looking for a better job and sort myself out
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  South Elmsall5 November 2017
I enjoyed working for Next, i met loads of new people as everyone was so friendly, always got helped by everyone when it was needed. the management was so lovely and nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, but fun
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol30 October 2017
Was a good place to work, but the early mornings can be a bit of a killer. Hard work, but enjoyable all the same. Management weren't too bad and generally approachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Next Distribution. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 83 reviews
522
423
316
211
111

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture