New Look Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but had its downs
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bath, Somerset14 June 2018
There were many times where i was left confused about shift times and the managment seemed to have unmoral ways of dealing with mix ups and confusions. The state of the staff room and toilets were unbearable, flies in the bin and the sink.
Pros
good discount
Cons
bad managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great as extra money wouldnt like to work permanently
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Braehead, Glasgow14 June 2018
Initially loved the job as learned a lot about fashion and enjoyed working with public. Days especially at weekends were busy which did bring a quick day or serving on the tills, fixing racks, fitting room work or stock room checks. Staffing could be better for the most part a the floor was busy with very little people on making it more difficult to achieve full customer satisfaction. Management at the time was up and down depending on who worked with you, but for the mos part was workable but at that point became very rarely enjoyable due to being asked too much of you at the one time.
Pros
Money off in store for uniform
Cons
Didnt have the best experience especially with pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim13 June 2018
It’s an easy place to work but sometimes it can get overwhelming with customers and sometimes managers aren’t the best. they’re not very supportive and not very motivating unless you’re the best at what you’re doing. managers have favourites on only takes them into consideration. Very long hours with only 1 hour break (not enough personally if you’re doing a 9 hour shift)
Cons
Managers can be bad and they’re very unorganised.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
newlook
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 June 2018
really fun atmosphere to work in. store was small so all the staff were very close. the only improvement id say would have to be made would be the wages.
Pros
people
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Newton Mearns7 June 2018
within a typical day at Newlook it is a very busy and fun atmosphere. My job title is supervisor so i have gained a lot of management experience. The job has many benefits and offers a great work life balance.
the hardest part of the job would possibly be the centre that I was situated within the job as it was very quiet. the most enjoyable part of the job is the benefits of the staff discount.
Pros
discount
Cons
quiet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London6 June 2018
Fun and friendly atmosphere, managed to work my way up to management role, however there are difficulties completing tasks with the heavy workload and limited payroll.

Enjoyed meeting new people every day and experiencing something different every day. However, the unsociable hours at times can be difficult for a healthy work/life balance.

Never the less, managed to create great memories and gain experience.
Pros
40% staff discount
Cons
Low salary/heavy workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great individual stores
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Scotland6 June 2018
Excellent place to work with good rate of pay and benefits. Very flexible hours to suit everyone with good opening and closing hours. There is a great teaching program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid like the Plague
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent6 June 2018
A work place where brutal work place bullying and racism is normative. Staff are treated like dirt by their managers and supervisors and the whole atmosphere is rats in a barrel. Avoid at all cost.
Pros
Salary is good
Cons
Working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cost cutting and unrealistic expectations
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Carlisle6 June 2018
The last minute communication is shocking around sales and window changes and new layouts. Payroll restraints meant stores are relying on individuals to work unlawful hours. Senior management visits still expected the same standards from when they used to manage stores (with payroll and lots of staff). Selling account cards and asking customers for emails and online feedback when many are just spending £10 in store. Hr department in head office amazing, however direct HR manager for the region unapproachable and unprofessional Too many 'old school' managers there who are past their sell by date!.
Pros
50% discount now lowered to 40%
Cons
Last minute Sale launches, expecting staff to change their personal plans and no extra pay for night shifts and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cheshunt5 June 2018
continuously developing and learning
excellent management team
brilliant workplace culture
hardest part is the work life balance
enjoy working in such a lovely team
Pros
lovely team
Cons
work weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy with the experience
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Chesterton5 June 2018
Had some missunderstandings with the employer so i leave this as only one downfall with the experience but much rewarding role and thumbs up for actual trust i was given by carrying the job on me own where i was able to plan my day at work,tasks and time when to carry them out wonderfall bond with the team members i worked with leaving me with nothing else but praise for my trainer and team member i was involved with top experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, staff member were all friendly
Sale adviser (Former Employee) –  Crawley4 June 2018
working in New Looked helped me learn many different skills and different experiences. Working within a team, communicating to each other and learning how to stay calm under pressure.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly, enjoyable and supportive workplace
Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire2 June 2018
Would recommend as a good place to work staff and management are incredibly supportive and friendly team work is very important. Working here gives you good customer service experience as you are able to meet a variety of people.
Pros
40% discount
Cons
lack of full time positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ive ever had
Sales advisor (Current Employee) –  Birmingham2 June 2018
Loved my job at newlook since day one!

The job-
The job is fantastic you have a range of tasks to preform and unlike other jobs you are not forced to stick to one section for a whole shift
The training you receive when you start is fantastic and the management never stop helping you with your progress!

Management- The management at new look genuinely care about there employees and treat you as equals, and generally friends.
The managers and supervisors are quick to help you in any way then can (from getting shifts covered in emergencies to giving extra hours)

Love!
Pros
40 percent discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depending on the store it can be okay
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey1 June 2018
the store i worked at was under staffed and no one seemed to care, we were always under so much stress because everything was crazy messy. the shop its self was disgusting as we didn't have a cleaner and we never had time to clean it our selves. The cleaning cupboard was a disgrace we never had any cleaning equipment so wasn't able to clean anyways. management was nasty and lazy but people higher then them didn't seem to care that they didn't do their job properly. staff left within 3 months some just stopped turning up as the pressure and stress of the job was not worth it, it is minimum wage with no extra pay on bank holidays except boxing day and maybe new years.
Pros
40% discount after 3 months
Cons
long hours, no extra pay for bank holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Look is a fair place to work in
sales assistant/supervisor (Former Employee) –  County Tyrone31 May 2018
New look is a very busy environment and are open seven days a week. part time contracts consist of four hour shifts with no breaks. minimum wage pay. i enjoyed the staff discount.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
no breaks for part time shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take advantage
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire29 May 2018
Managment arent friendly or understanding, rules arent gone by at all and pick and choose favourites with staff. Staff were lovely but managment wasnt and diddnt care how they spoke to their staff
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Managment and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and friendly place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds, UK29 May 2018
New Look is a great company to work for and is a fun and motivating place to work as there are always incentives and things to work towards which is good. You are expected to provide excellent customer service and that is all that is really asked of you, which can take its toll sometimes. However, I think that there needs to be more responsibility and jobs given to staff members on a day to day basis as sometimes shifts can go quite slow because there isn't much to do other than serve customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oxford28 May 2018
A new look is a place where they expect to work every hour under the sun. as our store opening, ours are from 10:00 to 20:00.
They don't let you take holiday in December which is very important for me as I go and see my family.

however, the staff is all very friendly. and it does give you experience.
Pros
40% discount
Cons
Long hours and weekend shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management change ruined job
Sales Assistant (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Nottingham24 May 2018
a new manager at the Nottingham men store changed the dynamic of the team drastically and he was inexperienced making many mistakes which he then proceeded to blame staff for, i left as i did not want to work under him anymore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport