New Look Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly working
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Andover18 July 2018
Where I worked the manager would never consider that you had a life outside of work. You would constantly be expected to answer to the group chat and work a lot of the time, maybe more than the manager.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Greenford, Greater London12 July 2018
Working at New Look, was a new experience compared to my work experience. Within the store, I was able to comunicate with colleagues easily, understand the work given by higher authorities and fullfilling the expectations surrounded by me. Despite the positivity around New Look, I was finding it hard to cope with my hours.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clothes
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent10 July 2018
Perfect place for a part time job, no room for progression however location was ideal or a student and the shift changes are too common and sometimes changed the day before.
Pros
Shift changes
Cons
Great location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, poor management.
Sale Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dereham8 July 2018
Most mangers are under the age of 27 so they think they are the bees knees, great discount for yourself and one other person, can be very two face environment and clicky gangs about. Hours are nice and can plan a life around your job,
Pros
Hours
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees are great to work with
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London23 June 2018
There is a limited amount of job rotation which leads to boredom quite quickly
however the perks at work are great, it offers a range of benefits that are great for everyone.
The management is quite poor and they tend to leave staff to do the most work load which is quite annoying.
Shifts tend to drag and insufficient breaks are given so you're standing for most of it which gets tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London21 June 2018
maybe it was just where worked but it was not what they advertised it to be. everyone was constantly put under pressure by supervisors as well as many not given training for their required jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
newlook
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Telford, Shropshire18 June 2018
A typical day for me was doing delivery counting in click and collects for customers dealing with customer orders and the day to day running of the store.

I have learnt throughout my retail service that customers always come first; to multitask and to work as a team with work colleagues.

The management was absolutely fantastic at new look. They were professional, helpful and supportive and open to any suggestions that were made by staff.

The workplace culture was very friendly, approachable, driven and motivating.

The hardest part of the job was having to hear about the closure of the New Look store in Telford.

The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting customers and advising them on outfit requirements.
Pros
50% staff discount
Cons
No break for 6 hours work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forget work life balance
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London16 June 2018
The staff is lovely and friendly, always willing to help.
Everything else though isn't great. You only get a break if you work more than 6 hours. And any ideas about a pro-life balance can be forgotten, cause management will constantly be changing the rota and f*** up your plans. I've had several run ins about shifts with management, and they're forever quoting the contract back at me. Pay isn't great for what is expected of you. Also, all the essential training has to be done in your own time, not at work, including H&S training, so make sure you look for the fire exits yourself, no one is going to point them out.
Pros
People
Cons
No break, bad pay, no work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but had its downs
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bath, Somerset14 June 2018
There were many times where i was left confused about shift times and the managment seemed to have unmoral ways of dealing with mix ups and confusions. The state of the staff room and toilets were unbearable, flies in the bin and the sink.
Pros
good discount
Cons
bad managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great as extra money wouldnt like to work permanently
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Braehead, Glasgow14 June 2018
Initially loved the job as learned a lot about fashion and enjoyed working with public. Days especially at weekends were busy which did bring a quick day or serving on the tills, fixing racks, fitting room work or stock room checks. Staffing could be better for the most part a the floor was busy with very little people on making it more difficult to achieve full customer satisfaction. Management at the time was up and down depending on who worked with you, but for the mos part was workable but at that point became very rarely enjoyable due to being asked too much of you at the one time.
Pros
Money off in store for uniform
Cons
Didnt have the best experience especially with pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim13 June 2018
It’s an easy place to work but sometimes it can get overwhelming with customers and sometimes managers aren’t the best. they’re not very supportive and not very motivating unless you’re the best at what you’re doing. managers have favourites on only takes them into consideration. Very long hours with only 1 hour break (not enough personally if you’re doing a 9 hour shift)
Cons
Managers can be bad and they’re very unorganised.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
newlook
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 June 2018
really fun atmosphere to work in. store was small so all the staff were very close. the only improvement id say would have to be made would be the wages.
Pros
people
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great individual stores
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Scotland6 June 2018
Excellent place to work with good rate of pay and benefits. Very flexible hours to suit everyone with good opening and closing hours. There is a great teaching program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly, enjoyable and supportive workplace
Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire2 June 2018
Would recommend as a good place to work staff and management are incredibly supportive and friendly team work is very important. Working here gives you good customer service experience as you are able to meet a variety of people.
Pros
40% discount
Cons
lack of full time positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and friendly place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds, UK29 May 2018
New Look is a great company to work for and is a fun and motivating place to work as there are always incentives and things to work towards which is good. You are expected to provide excellent customer service and that is all that is really asked of you, which can take its toll sometimes. However, I think that there needs to be more responsibility and jobs given to staff members on a day to day basis as sometimes shifts can go quite slow because there isn't much to do other than serve customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oxford28 May 2018
A new look is a place where they expect to work every hour under the sun. as our store opening, ours are from 10:00 to 20:00.
They don't let you take holiday in December which is very important for me as I go and see my family.

however, the staff is all very friendly. and it does give you experience.
Pros
40% discount
Cons
Long hours and weekend shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management change ruined job
Sales Assistant (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Nottingham24 May 2018
a new manager at the Nottingham men store changed the dynamic of the team drastically and he was inexperienced making many mistakes which he then proceeded to blame staff for, i left as i did not want to work under him anymore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford23 May 2018
Working with no lunch at times was quite hard, which didn't help with ensuring the job was completed efficiently at all times. However, working within a team made the shift go quicker. Also felt that the salary did not reflect on the tasks at hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  glas23 May 2018
the managers that I worked under weren't the best to work under - the rest of the staff were a breath of fresh air and enjoyed working there most of the time. leading up to Christmas was the worst with the long hours and managers not giving sufficient breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands23 May 2018
I worked with lovely staff and we was a great team my time at the store was happy and fun I made some lovely friends and met nice cellients i loved working with clouthes
Pros
No
Cons
It’s was 9 to 5
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Look. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,347 reviews
5363
4422
3346
2127
189

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

New Look Reviews by Location