Network Rail Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Service Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire25 March 2017
Flexible working and a good modern office, what is there not to like? The culture is improving and the company is recognising that it needs to improve and change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Interesting place to be
Senior Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  LNE22 March 2017
Worked as part of an innovative Head team based out of a York developing new improved processes
Utilised by main directors to recover programme slippage on numerous high profile project
Pros
Continued employment
Cons
Constraints
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Track and renewals Intern (Former Employee) –  Birmingham18 March 2017
Good company to work at. Staff are willing to help and are friendly. Restructuration 5 years ago. Good organisation. However, a bit of an old school work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience
Assistant Document Controller (Current Employee) –  Stratford, Greater London15 March 2017
I work here 1 day a week to improve on my IT, processes, health and safety and collaboration skills.

This is unpaid work its purely voluntary.

This has enabled me to gain confidence in the work place and to discover what career path I want to go down.
Pros
Gaining confidence, learning new skills
Cons
Un paid work experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary but no work/life balance
Technician (Current Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire13 March 2017
Good big company to work for but be prepared to give up your social life.Training is second to none and the salary is really good. Safety seems to be key at this company which is also great.
Pros
Good training and salary
Cons
Long hours on weekends/work most weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Facilities Assistant (Former Employee) –  London Bridge Station, Greater London3 March 2017
Network rail was a really great place to work.Nice people and a great group of people to work with.The culture was really health and safety focused so the public are very safe these days.
Pros
free tea and fruit
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working hours but too many gaps in trying to progress
CAD Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London28 February 2017
good for people with families as its a 35 hour week but not great for someone looking to progress with his career.

helpful but a lot of budget cuts means its a lot harder to try get the training and lack of work means not as much on the job training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work good rewards
Team leader grinder (Current Employee) –  Redhill, Surrey27 February 2017
I have been with network rail for 22 years had lots of training for many skills that are needed to cover my working day .Which will start 6.30 in the morning with a team their before we go out on track the management are very fair and will listen to any problems we have so over all a good company.
Pros
Free travel good pension
Cons
Long days and nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Tile Hill Network Rail26 February 2017
Productive and fun place to work.Friendly stuff willing to help in any situation.Good management.Good place for someone who want to start a career in Catering.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety critical job
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  FELTHAM MAINTENANCE DEPOT19 February 2017
Safety critical job which involves maintenance and fault finding on signalling equipment.
Main target on a daily basis is to delay no trains applying the safest method of working avoiding accidents.
The hardest part of the job is when faulting.
The most enyoyable part of the job is when you meet targets and you get a nice bonus at the end of the year.
Pros
Free ticket travel on our area.
Cons
Controlled hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Nuneaton, Warwickshire9 February 2017
Worst management and control room o have ever seen...

Honestly Dnt do it they are rascist and narcissistic with no regard for there employees dignity or welfare
Pros
It's a job
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun place to work.
Training Centre Administrator (Former Employee) –  Warrington30 January 2017
No two days were the same.
Management were very open and easy to approach.
I learned how to keep calm under pressure.
The hardest part of the job, would be the constant chasing of the trainers for their completed registers for me to enter.
I loved all of my job and found all of it enjoyable.
Pros
Free Rail pass and parking
Cons
The long journey to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long time worker
Ultrasonics Team Leader (Former Employee) –  london england25 January 2017
would be a great company to work for but they are always looking at sacking people and never replace them! making more bigger work load on others
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, uncaring,disgusting
Purchasing Operations Agent (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire24 January 2017
A typical day at work was being treated like cattle
I learned very quickly that even though the perks were good you were overworked and under praised
management was disgusting on every level
workplace culture was to care about yourself
the hardest part of the job was turning up
The best part was going home
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward thinking
Year in Industry (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire19 January 2017
Forward thinking company with very friendly colleagues willing to help. there is always someone willing to help in such a company that is essential in the day to day lives of people across the country. The culture is very professional yet the managers treat everyone as a friend and not just someone there for the job . i really enjoyed my time there and will be willing to go back
Pros
Work Life Blance
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging corporate culture
Project Engineer/DPE/Sponsor (Current Employee) –  Swindon14 January 2017
Some people find they fit in here well, but it is a real gamble, particularly for people used to creative/collaborative work environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Earthing assistant
Railway Worker (Former Employee) –  ALL OVER9 January 2017
Would highly recommend any railway work i worked all over the country at that many stations we use to earth the track out to let other people to work on the tracks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands8 January 2017
Working at network rail has improved my ability to deal well with many differnt costomers. a family welcome from staff and managment alike. with a wide rade of jobs for everyone
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get your skills useful
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire6 January 2017
NR is a gret company to work for. They are interested in the wellbeing of their staff whether contract staff or permanent staff. There is a lot to do at their MK offices.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Commute to MK from London
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a wasre of time got laid off after a month
Railway Engineer (Former Employee) –  elsecar6 January 2017
i got laid off after a month on an apprentice railway worker. it wasnt very good we didnt get taught nothing while i was there,we went out to practical once in that month then put my shifts down from 5 to 2 then just laid me off
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Network Rail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 327 reviews
5114
4105
378
219
111

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture