Network Rail Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long time worker
Ultrasonics Team Leader (Former Employee) –  london england25 January 2017
would be a great company to work for but they are always looking at sacking people and never replace them! making more bigger work load on others
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, uncaring,disgusting
Purchasing Operations Agent (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire24 January 2017
A typical day at work was being treated like cattle
I learned very quickly that even though the perks were good you were overworked and under praised
management was disgusting on every level
workplace culture was to care about yourself
the hardest part of the job was turning up
The best part was going home
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward thinking
Year in Industry (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire19 January 2017
Forward thinking company with very friendly colleagues willing to help. there is always someone willing to help in such a company that is essential in the day to day lives of people across the country. The culture is very professional yet the managers treat everyone as a friend and not just someone there for the job . i really enjoyed my time there and will be willing to go back
Pros
Work Life Blance
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging corporate culture
Project Engineer/DPE/Sponsor (Current Employee) –  Swindon14 January 2017
Some people find they fit in here well, but it is a real gamble, particularly for people used to creative/collaborative work environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Earthing assistant
Railway Worker (Former Employee) –  ALL OVER9 January 2017
Would highly recommend any railway work i worked all over the country at that many stations we use to earth the track out to let other people to work on the tracks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands8 January 2017
Working at network rail has improved my ability to deal well with many differnt costomers. a family welcome from staff and managment alike. with a wide rade of jobs for everyone
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get your skills useful
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire6 January 2017
NR is a gret company to work for. They are interested in the wellbeing of their staff whether contract staff or permanent staff. There is a lot to do at their MK offices.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Commute to MK from London
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a wasre of time got laid off after a month
Railway Engineer (Former Employee) –  elsecar6 January 2017
i got laid off after a month on an apprentice railway worker. it wasnt very good we didnt get taught nothing while i was there,we went out to practical once in that month then put my shifts down from 5 to 2 then just laid me off
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Operative (Current Employee) –  Basingstoke4 January 2017
Good company to work for. Every day varies and alot to take in.

Found the people working here are extremely friendly.
Alot to take in but there is a sharp learning curve which i really enjoy.
Pros
Varying days
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, but very slow moving
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  london4 January 2017
Great work/life balance
Slow moving business with too much red tape
No real formal progression. HR/Resourcing & Line Management work in complete silo
No real opportunities for Grads
Pros
work / life balance
Cons
Far too old school
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every Day is different
Customer Sevice Assistant (Security) (Current Employee) –  King's Cross3 January 2017
No day is ever the same. You could be dealing with passengers & delays one day, or posting trains in the station control. Or safety briefing contractors in the station reception.
Keeping calm under pressure is key. You could be assisting in a first aid incident one minute or running around the station looking for a fire alarm activation.
You have to be able to work with a team as well as being on your own.
The hardest part of the job is adjusting to the shifts. Weekends are the longest.
Cons
long hours & shift work. Long hours at weekend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing environment
Project Planner (Former Employee) –  London3 January 2017
Network Rail itself gets a bad press. Some is probably deserved, as it is not perfect, but a lot is undeserved. There are hundreds of projects going on at any one time which the staff need to keep under control at all times. If not, the public would be in a far worse position in terms of infrastructure and facilities when it comes to travelling around the rail network. Although I had to 'apply' for my own job 3 times, I retained my position throughout my tenure there, but had very little opportunity to do the kinds of things I am good at or to advance such as I have since I left. A good bunch of people do a lot of good things there, but the nature of the company is such that there is too little technology made available and a lot of older more experienced folk are still stuck in their old ways. A fabulous experience but so much more could be done to make them more efficient, effective, fun to work for and more advanced technologically.
Pros
People and portfolio of work.
Cons
Rigid structure and lack of advanced technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Management Accountant (Former Employee) –  London3 January 2017
A very interesting company to work for. It is a very large organisation and I have learnt a lot about the Rail industry. People are really helpful and always there to support you. I worked on the property section and station Retail.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
salary not that good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work culture
SIGNALMAN (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire31 December 2016
Everything is connected on the railway. You feel as your apart of the bigger picture.EVERYTHING REVOLVES AROUND PERSONNEL SAFETY. AND THAT OF OTHERS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfaction.
Track Chargeman (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire22 December 2016
On a typical days work me and my fellow co-workers would go out onto the Railway to fix and maintain the track. What I learnt working with this company is to keep the track safe by maintaining the sleepers, fastenings, rails etc. The management of the company was organised and was sufficient for the workers. My co-workers what I worked with had to be reliable to the job they did. The hardest part about the job is setting up the safety. The most enjoyable part of the job was everyday of work was different.
Pros
Job oppertunitys
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Project Manager - Digital Railway (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow20 December 2016
Good place to work but not overly dynamic due to aged industry. provides good stability and experience across a breadth of industries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Network Rail
Senior HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester20 December 2016
Network Rail is a good company. My team was great and it was nice not having to work weekends. the perks were great. I cant say much more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Good team spirit.
PMO Support /Analyst (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire14 December 2016
Great place to work. Good team spirit. Good location and management. good opportunity to move higher in career path.
The managers was really cooperative and good working spirit
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is enjoyable
Finance (Current Employee) –  London12 December 2016
With great company goals and culture, the environment that I have been working in, as well as the colleagues that I have been working with has been phenomenal and interesting.
Pros
Great work environment with intriguing challenges involved throughout each day.
Cons
I am only here for a short time!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
customer service assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham2 December 2016
i work here as a customer service assistant providing train information to customers off ipad/pc it is a very busy station highly pressurised , is a customer facing role
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport