Network Rail Employee Reviews

Found 343 reviews matching the search See all 356 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad
Distribution Technician (Current Employee) –  Birmingham4 October 2017
there is no such thing as a typical day on the railway. depening on shift pattern, area, section etc. the job can vary hugely across the company.
Depending where you work the management also varies hugley but on the most part they are very good.
YOu will learn a lot within the company about yourself as well as about the job.
the hardest part of the job is definetely the hours. Shift work means some very unsocianle hours as we have to slot track access in around the running of trains
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Document Controller
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke, UK4 October 2017
I was employed to work on the Basingstoke Infrastructure Project for Network Rail.

• Organised and implemented the project folders on the server as per GRIP.
• Using the PIMS database for the controlling of documents, drawings, correspondence etc.
• Liaise with contractors, TOC’s, FOC’s and Network Rail staff in other assets.
• Implementing CCMS into the Basingstoke office for the control and maintenance of project documentation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Westbury, Wiltshire2 October 2017
The job was ruined by managers not practicing what they preached it was an attitude of get the work done no matter what if you spoke up and questioned something you were then the black sheep.
Pros
None
Cons
Weekend working 1off in 5
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and proffesional environment
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, Wiltshire28 September 2017
NR is not my most recent job! I enjoyed working for company and I was disappointed when the temporary cover ran out. I covered for a member of staff whilst they were on maternity.

I learnt a lot working for NR, using in house systems designed purposely for the organisation.

The staff I worked with were helpful, friendly and very supportive.

The most challenging part of my role was keeping to strict deadlines and prioritising a heavy workload.

I enjoyed the challenges working within a bust department and the most enjoyable part was the early finish on a Friday!!
Pros
Great team of people to work with.
Cons
Heavy work load with strict deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
railway welder (Current Employee) –  London26 September 2017
I love working for network rail but there seems to be hard to progress with in network rail I just wont to better my self and my life and if I can find a job that looks like I can do that I wood leave but it wood be hard
Pros
if we need anything we get it
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Safety/Section Manager (Former Employee) –  Clapham Junction, Greater London6 September 2017
Hours can be long and unsociable, but on the whole, the people in general are quite good to work with.

Though the constant change in upper management can cause issues and frustration.
Pros
Free rail travel
Cons
Always exceed your hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed
Scheme Project Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London5 September 2017
Limited salaries and prospects, struggle to get training, reasonable working hours, limited expectations. Probably a decent environment for people who want security
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contracted to NWR
PMO Manager (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes4 September 2017
Their culture is about safety of the individual and management communication is very good, The working environment in Milton Keynes is excellent with excellent facilities
Pros
Great place to work nice people, good management
Cons
a little old fashioned in ways of working still
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Learning Curve
Principal Risk & Value Manager (Current Employee) –  London4 September 2017
Experienced a good work life balance and found a great ethos. In addition a good place to learn and grow in terms of experience.

Quite unionised and slow career progress.
Pros
Work / Life Balance
Cons
Career Progression
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change due to circumstances
Site Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London2 September 2017
I have given 100% to each and every company that I have worked for. Trying to be an integral part of the everyday smooth running of whatever I do. Due to circumstances out of my control with back pain I now find myself facing my next challenge in life. I always face my challenges head on and I am willing to reeducate myself to get where I need to be.
Pros
New challenges welcome
Cons
Suffer with back pain
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure place of employment
Resourcer (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester29 August 2017
Always job for life, fun , friendly environment.
Open, challenging culture, fast paced culture
Enjoy the people some are good laugh, and its a secure place to move up in the organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Diverse workplace
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Hampshire27 August 2017
* No two days the same
* Emphasis on safety in workplace
* Management are mostly encouraging towards staff development
* Laid back company, lots of scope for learning and training
* Lots of prospects for self development
Pros
Company very proactive in keeping people safe at work, and going home
Cons
Too much contractual work, not enough permanent work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive
Track quality superivsor (Former Employee) –  Stockport24 August 2017
I enjoyed all my jobs on the railway and met many different people with whom I liked to work with. We had very friendly and approachable bosses, the bosses we had were very supportive and supported you in every aspect of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going by my dad's job - only week for work experience placement
Work Experience Placement (PICOP - planning team) (Former Employee) –  London18 August 2017
Nice atmosphere and relationships with colleagues (welcoming). Everyone really seemed to know what they were doing so you will be well trained and cared for.
Pros
Relationships with colleagues
Cons
Far from where I live
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a happy workplace
Section Planner (Former Employee) –  Crewe17 August 2017
Very stressful environment.with no extra staff Maintenance area covered was growing with no extra staff to cover work. Staff getting stretched thinner and thinner
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Always taking work home for no extra reward
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester11 August 2017
I currently work here.

It's a corporate environment but has a relaxed and friendly work culture.

It can get political at times but they are making real progress in driving this type of behaviour out of the business.

They really invest in developing their people and offer great training programmes both internally and externally. The leadership programmes are fantastic!
Pros
Very diverse organisation
Cons
Resent cutbacks in technological investments
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cloud Solutions Architect (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes3 August 2017
Developing new strategies, keeping up with mordern technologies and large emphasis on training. Implementing and migrating with a lot of focus on IT security.
Pros
relaxed working environment
Cons
could do with remote working
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated and motivated workforce
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow26 July 2017
I was the document controller on the Airdrie to Bathgate Project, which was a multi million pound project involving new track, bridges, overhead wires etc which was achieved on time with the help of great team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To Many Chiefs
On-Train Technician (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire23 July 2017
To many high level management members with good budget bashing ideas that always fall through.
The department I was in wasn't well known for its strong leadership, it was more known for its mutiny within the lower ranks.
Very varied pay structure - you would find yourself working with people who have been there the same time as you and do the same job yet they would be on a couple of thousand more (or less) than yourself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for with plenty of directions to progress
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Eastleigh, Hampshire12 July 2017
I have had a fantastic time working for network rail and have travelled from south to north for work and have encountered many different views from different cultures but all strive to meet the same goal a safer railway
Pros
Working in some lovely surroundings
Cons
Lots of weekend work not much time for family time
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Network Rail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 356 reviews
5124
4116
380
224
112

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture