Network Rail Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brilliant
Senior Site Support & Security Officer (Current Employee) –  West Midlands29 June 2017
I have worked here for almost 5 years and i can not recommend this company enough. They truly invest time and money into their staff, which i believe is very rare.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Head of Resideential Development (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester24 June 2017
Generally a good employer although recent change to become a public sector has meant a greater requirement to meet Government requirements. Approach to staff welfare and safety is very positive.
Pros
High level safety and well being
Cons
Becoming a public sector body
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmos
Logistics (Current Employee) –  UK21 June 2017
Nice Place too Work, Very Flexible, talented bunch of people I work with. National Company and great job security.
Need to work on training programmes as its promoted but doesn't really happen
Pros
Flexible Working
Cons
Progression Limited
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Trainee track design engineer (Current Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire20 June 2017
At Network Rail, safety is paramount. The safety of passengers and other members of the public using our infrastructure, the safety of our employees and safety in our partnerships. You can find out more about how we apply the highest standards of safety across our busines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentally challenging Place to work
Signal Designer (Current Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire16 June 2017
An exciting place to work. Full of mentally challenging situations. Balance work and personal life by providing flexible working hours by arrangement with Line Manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Financial Controller (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes12 June 2017
Network Rail are a great employer to work for. They are committed to getting the best out of their people, focussing on development and work life balance. The work is challenging but support is available within the immediate and broader NR family.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working here
maintenance rail worker (Current Employee) –  Preston England10 June 2017
I enjoy working for network rail and have made some very good friends. However I do not feel like I am progressing! I think that I could achieve more and could see myself in a higher role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job of a signaller is varied but interesting.
Signaller (Former Employee) –  Wimbldon9 June 2017
The job of the signaller is varied but can be interesting (depends on where you are based) you get to work with interesting people who are very profesional in what they do and it is important to work as a team.Day to day running can change at a moments notice from running normally to late running you have try and deal with delays and make snap desisions and try and maintain the service and get back to normal running as soon as you can.
Pros
free travel
Cons
long hours, shift work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, but strange priorities
Lead Examination Inspector (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire31 May 2017
Very rewarding company is the sense that they pay excellent salaries and there are plenty of jobs on offer. However they do not pay attention to their own set standards when it comes to internal training of their staff for development.
Pros
High salaries
Cons
Lies about future personal development
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands28 May 2017
Good for work experience. Provided me with a clear understanding of the company and allowed me to broaden my knowledge and understanding of a fast paced work life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organised company
Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear25 May 2017
Great company. Many benefits to working here from lovely staff to career progression. This is most certainly a career for life. This company will help and support you in any way possible. Best company I have worked for.
Pros
Expenses, Travel
Cons
Apprenticeship doesn't allow for a good work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 day
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  London22 May 2017
Thanks for giving me a chance to see a really interesting project under the supervision of a really enthusiastic mentor and his team. only there a day - wish it could have been longer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start off your career.
Project Planner/Scheduler (Current Employee) –  London Bridge Station, Greater London11 May 2017
A good place to start off your career. A mixture of talented people. Are you on email? You simple have to be these days. A good place to start off your career. Some room for career progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting workplace
Architectural Consultant & CAD Technician (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh8 May 2017
Working on a major project with a main contractor and various sub-contractors requires good communication and coordination between all parties and good management leadership to ensure delivery of the works on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and friendly environment
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Wimbledon, Greater London3 May 2017
Not particularly efficiently run and I find some of the administration very frustrating. However, very flexible and understanding and the people are lovely.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Not corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with good rewards
Signalman (Former Employee) –  London North Eastern & Midland Zone28 April 2017
A typical day would start at 6.30am, involve signalling trains and departing for home at 2pm (shift times differ and in some locations 12 hour plus shifts can be expected). Other duties would include tidying the signal cabin, administration duties and regular rules exams.

I've learned to be vigilant in all circumstances.

Management varies from archaic dinosaurs with prehistoric ideals of staff, religion and dedication whilst the company are promoting newer management styles to eradicate the older generation. This is a work in progress with some way to go.

The workplace is generally lone working with little contact with the outside world - some days you speak to no one, other days many people are in contact. One of the more recent cultures is to name and shame employees, and latterly to promote whistle blowing on colleagues in return for immunity relating to mistakes. This makes work exceptionally difficult at times.

The hardest part of the job is remaining vigilant and maintaining concentration at all times no matter what distractions occur.

The job is enjoyable if you like to work on your own, are passionate about railways and need little assistance from management
Pros
Good pension scheme
Cons
Long hours requiring full vigilance
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional organisation
Designated Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Various24 April 2017
An enjoyable place to work, with hard working and professional colleagues.

The management were generally supportive and the workplace culture was inclusive to a wide range of individuals.

The greatest challenge was the changes associated with the new projects and the most enjoyable aspect of the job was when successful delivery was achieved.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
challenging workload.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run company now.
NR ERTMS (Former Employee) –  London23 April 2017
Most of the railway experience and knowledge has disappeared from this company and is now lead by managers who just say yes for an easy life and don't care about the customer's or its staff. HR have no idea whats going on only just want to reduce staff numbers and do everything on the cheap.
Pros
No many now
Cons
They do not care anymore
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK with prospects
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  United Kingdom10 April 2017
Decent place to work .Would like to see progression in planning and not making the same mistakes twice. All in all the teams are great but its all the other things that go on in the background.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Station Controller (Current Employee) –  London4 April 2017
Station Control - Shift work. 24/7. 9 man roster. Can be considered a dead end job. The company only looks to promote young, school leaving aged people or graduates who fall within the company's guidelines of employing diverse people.
Cons
Awkward shifts - Little chance of career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Network Rail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 329 reviews
5115
4106
378
219
111

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture