Network Rail Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic workplace
Geotechnical Asset Manager (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff30 August 2018
A brilliant workplace. I would advise anyone to work there, it has a fantastic work life balance. Progression is actively encouraged and movement between departments is easy to do.
Pros
Benefits, progression, trust
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great development, work life balance and salary
Performance& Assurance Engineer (Current Employee) –  London22 August 2018
Great development, work life balance and salary

Lots of support from senior management in terms of development, training and flexible working. As long as the job is done well the rest is flexible
Pros
subsidized travel in London
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Operative worker (Current Employee) –  Ashford, Kent21 August 2018
A good company to work for as they privide ppe, you are given plenty of holiday and there are other benefits too. How ever in the department i work for it is very hard to advance in my career.
Pros
Uniform and ppe provided
Cons
Hard to advance in your career
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance - Respected
Senior Commercial Manager(SCM) (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands17 June 2018
This is a very good place to work although the pace can be hectic and other times slow due to processes that need to be followed.

Employees are allowed and not penalised for time out breaks - needing a break from work for personal reasons, every case is looked into, privacy is maintained.

All employees are respected - there are structures in place that line managers must adhere to.

There is an inclusive culture as well where employees can raise and discuss concerns and issues.

Hardest is trying to ensure a win win environment for all. A very mixed variety of employees with different hang ups and cultures makes working here a good learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
SECTION PLANNER ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee) –  London1 June 2018
Typical day at work. Good place to work. Paid on time good benefits with 75% off travel. Holiday and sick pay. Environemt differs where ever you work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PERFECT work/life balance! Salary a lot more than advertised
Signaller (Current Employee) –  Wales27 May 2018
Those saying the work/life balance are terrible have clearly never held another job! As a signaller you work either 3x 12hr shifts or 4x 8hr shifts. The opportunity to occasionally work rest days (overtime) is there at 125% of graded hourly pay, and sundays are 150%. Overtime is not compulsory. The salary is significantly higher than stated when considering the extra pay for Bank Holidays, Overtime, Night time allowance, annual bonus, Sunday’s etc. You can add a minimum of £6,000 onto the quoted salary easily. As a signaller you work alone, and very occasionally your Local or Mobile Ops Manager might come round for a chat. The training course is 12 weeks (paid) while accommodated in a hotel with a meal allowance. It is ‘cheeky’ with A LOT to take on board. I’ve seen my boss 3 times in the last 12 months... Having previously served 14 years in the Army, I would HIGHLY recommend this job!
Pros
Working alone, Pay, 3-4 day week
Cons
Working alone if you don’t like your own company...
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly
Asistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham24 May 2018
whilst I was working there as work experience I couldn't but notice how friendly everyone was and how productive they all were, the staff were very friendly as one went to the effort of putting a ton of food out for everyone to eat and to pay for the food everyone was trusted to pay the money without anyone selling the foods and not stealing it.
Pros
helpful
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some great jobs
Site manager - Contract (Former Employee) –  Glasgow15 May 2018
writing method statements and work schedules. Visiting site installation and Meeting with work crews and other management teams.
How to overcome logistical problem quickly
Higher management helpful
Work place culture safety first always
working away from home
finishing project on time and in profit
Pros
Salary
Cons
working away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
IT Service Analyst (Current Employee) –  Manchester25 April 2018
i would recommend working for this company. I am working on Helpdesk and i enjoy the role but i am looking for a new challenge. The role on the help-desk opens up lot of opportunities to progress in your career.
Pros
Free Tea/Coffee, Canteen, Benefits Program
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Asset Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff22 March 2018
Excellent Company with clear objectives. Work and life balance is very good with excellent pay and benefits. Career progression and culture is also good.
Pros
Work and life balance. excellent pay and benefits. Career progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Administrator (Former Employee) –  London3 March 2018
Great management and people, would love to work there again. Good salary and benefits. Easy to get to location. Worked in the Engineering and procurement departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's always difficult running a 21st century railway which was built in the 19th century
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Sheffield1 March 2018
I worked as many different roles within NWR and found the job culture to be different in each. Getting out and fixing hardware on the side of the track is fun, but the general culture of the staff I worked with was lazy and selfish. In the Projects department, the culture is much better and you get to make a bigger difference.
Pros
Good benefits and wages
Cons
Some managers promoted through seniority, not ability
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work colleagues
Information Controller (Current Employee) –  Maidenhead, Berkshire13 February 2018
Great work colleagues. Pleasant office environment. Big focus on safety. Long hours and no overtime payments if salary and not hourly paid.

Various office across the UK, some environments nicer than others, in terms of location and facilities.
Pros
Company Benefits
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work for
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bristol27 January 2018
Very good job learn every day a pleasure to go to work and treated equally flexible hours all opinions listened to and taken onboard and protective clothing supplied
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits package
Resourcing Advisor (Current Employee) –  Manchester8 December 2017
Benefits include 28 days' holiday plus the 8 bank holidays, options to buy or sell annual leave annually, annual company bonus, subsidised travel to work, 5 days volunteer leave per year, standard 35 hour week
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Railway Worker (Current Employee) –  Carlisle13 November 2017
Network rail is a good job overall, although the health and safety side of work is a joke, i mean that there is so much health and safety that you cannot get work done half of the time because of the fear of an accident or insurance claim by the management.
Pros
Easy work easy money
Cons
No job satisfaction
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsocialable hours but good pay/ benefits
Works Delivery Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Exeter, Devon10 October 2017
Most work is carried out during nights and weekends. Salary is good and good job security.

I started through the apprenticeship scheme. Apprentice scheme was well set up and organised which included living away for first 10 months on a military base where all food, accommodation was paid for.

Since completing I have had good opportunities to progress.
Pros
pay
Cons
Unsociable working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Safety/Section Manager (Former Employee) –  Clapham Junction, Greater London6 September 2017
Hours can be long and unsociable, but on the whole, the people in general are quite good to work with.

Though the constant change in upper management can cause issues and frustration.
Pros
Free rail travel
Cons
Always exceed your hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a happy workplace
Section Planner (Former Employee) –  Crewe17 August 2017
Very stressful environment.with no extra staff Maintenance area covered was growing with no extra staff to cover work. Staff getting stretched thinner and thinner
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Always taking work home for no extra reward
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire9 July 2017
I worked there for 2 weeks as part of my work experience hence I cannot rate the salary/security. But the time was truly advantageous for me as the entire team performed and worked well.

The day would begin reviewing the different complains with the higher priority complaints being completed first. This taught me to learn to organise my work and understand how to communicate with the customers better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Network Rail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 351 reviews
5123
4115
379
222
112

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture