Network Rail Employee Reviews for Project Manager

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester11 August 2017
I currently work here.

It's a corporate environment but has a relaxed and friendly work culture.

It can get political at times but they are making real progress in driving this type of behaviour out of the business.

They really invest in developing their people and offer great training programmes both internally and externally. The leadership programmes are fantastic!
Pros
Very diverse organisation
Cons
Resent cutbacks in technological investments
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK with prospects
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  United Kingdom10 April 2017
Decent place to work .Would like to see progression in planning and not making the same mistakes twice. All in all the teams are great but its all the other things that go on in the background.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, but very slow moving
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  london4 January 2017
Great work/life balance
Slow moving business with too much red tape
No real formal progression. HR/Resourcing & Line Management work in complete silo
No real opportunities for Grads
Pros
work / life balance
Cons
Far too old school
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Project Manager - Digital Railway (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow20 December 2016
Good place to work but not overly dynamic due to aged industry. provides good stability and experience across a breadth of industries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Project Management Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stratford Station19 October 2016
Really good place to work. It's very diverse and each day is unlike the next. I would recommend working here to anyone that wants to try a different work culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is a challenge
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Waterloo Station.25 August 2015
A typical day is managing a team of 12 people, ranging from senior engineer, scheme project managers, possession planner and site staff.

Every day you will learn something different about the type of schemes we manage and the people we interface with.

Managing clients expectations can be extremely difficult, but there lies the challenge.
Pros
We work with different teams and manage their requirements.
Cons
The lack of appreciation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning place
Project Management Assistant (Current Employee) –  Watford3 July 2015
Overall NWR is an exciting place to work, a huge learning curve and the people around me are more than willing to take time to help me when approached.
Pros
varied challenges
Cons
a lot of commuting
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  London/MK14 August 2014
Good hours, good work, reasonable pay.
Difficult to understand the direction of the business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment to work within.
Project Management Assistant (Current Employee) –  Warrington, ENG25 June 2014
I am currently looking for a new position due to recent and planned organisational change.

My current role is very challenging due to the technicalities of working within the rail industry and programmes continuously effected by issues out of our control such as possession/access issues.
Pros
Travel across the country. Relaxed working environment.
Cons
Management issues, continuous change to organisation structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good progression
Project Management Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ENG29 January 2014
Always busy and varied work.
Great pay structure and benefits package.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and flexible
Project Implimentation Manger (Former Employee) –  UK Wide20 May 2013
Liase with the resident/Project engineer to identify and confirm the work schedule.
This was a customer facing role and I learnt to be patient and flexible
Sometimes what was planned and agreed, had to be changed due to unforseen circumstances.
Hardest part of the job for me was being told I could not proceed with my duties because of unforseen circumstances.
I get a great deal of job satisfaction fro a job well done, especially when the customer has praised or given me positive feedback
Pros
Differant every day
Cons
Working away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Project Manager/Commercial Manager (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes19 May 2013
I have extensive knowledge about the GRIP process, project management procedures and stakeholders that the National Enhancements team interfaces with. I currently have a portfolio projects to the value of £13.7m, which I am accountable for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Project Management Assistant (Current Employee) –  London25 February 2013
General day - Stakeholder liaison, spreadsheet updates and report production.
Contractor management - weekly update meeting with 3 seperate contractors

Team environment, good communication

Hardest part - Contractors performing badly

Most enjoyable part - working with site engineers and getting results from poorly performing contractors
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to grow and develop
Project Manager (Consents) (Former Employee) –  London, ENG6 November 2012
In NR, you get out what you put in. In recent times the company has had to cut back and save money. However, it still provides good training, and develops individuals who want to progress.
Pros
variety of roles and locations, training, competitive pay.
Cons
recent pay freezes, cut-backs, and non-recognitation of individual achievements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Network Rail reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Network Rail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 327 reviews
5114
4105
378
219
111

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Network Rail Reviews by Location