National Trust Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Catering Assistant - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester30 June 2017
I worked at dunham massey, a national trust park for four years and i thoroughly enjoye working there, the work was enjoyable and everyone is treated equaly.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where Life Ends!
Staff (Former Employee) –  Devon27 June 2017
If I could give this organisation '0' stars, I would!
Completely dis-organised; wastes money; no real career prospects; no energy or drive - you feel as if you're in a headwind!
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the trust dont care about catering
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dover, Kent26 June 2017
job involves clearing tables, doing dishwasher. making sandwhiches, making coffee,serving cakes and food.
all national trust sites are diffrent. but all catering is expected to boost membership alongside the welcome assistants.
Pros
20% discount. free coffee
Cons
no progression, rubbish pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Conservation Assistant
Conservation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belton26 June 2017
Wonderful working environment, the National Trust are very supportive and give opportunities to learn new skills by going to workshops and events. Volunteering is a good way to develop skills and have some fun!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding experience
Voluntary Worker (Former Employee) –  Brecon Beacons National Park24 June 2017
I loved every moment of the experience working for the National Trust. I learnt a lot about myself and what it is like to work with complete strangers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organisation
Catering Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire20 June 2017
The Trust is a fantastic organisation to work for and a worthwhile cause.
I have gained a lot of self confidence working here with prospects of good career progression.
I love going to work knowing that my efforts are having a lasting long term affect in maintain 'our special place'
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional
Car Park Assistant (Former Employee) –  Giants Causeway26 May 2017
did not deal with complaints
inconstant management
when presented with evidence of inappropriate behavior of a senior member of staff, the complaint went undealt with, until brought to upper management, which was then dismissed to protect senior member of staff at the expense of others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solutions architect
Solutions Architect (Former Employee) –  Swindon England24 May 2017
a good work life balance
no
blah blah
blah blah
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive family feel work place
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Brownsea Island22 May 2017
very enjoyable place to work. everyone is very kind and supportive of each other and always there to help. as it was voluntary work there was no pay. the hours were not long and if you couldn't complete a task in the amount of time you had there was no pressure to stay on and finish it there and then.
Pros
kind employes
Cons
there wasnt any
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started off as great place to work until change at senior management level
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Killerton18 May 2017
Long hours for no extra pay
Interesting work
Senior management horrendous
Lots of back stabbing
Enjoyed meeting people

When first started working for nt, it was fun and enjoyable with job satisfaction. Then senior management changed and so did the culture of the property and not for the better.
Pros
Meeting people
Cons
Long hours. Low pay. Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Volunteer in Historical Kitchen (Former Employee) –  Charlecote, Warwickshire18 May 2017
majority of people were volunteers so there was a good working community as everyone had chosen to be there. The work was fun and stimulating as we got to work on our own terms, cooking what we wanted to cook. we also got great interaction with guest and enjoyed watching the kids get involved with the history of a working house.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
convenient and great company to work for
Holiday Cottage Caretaker (Former Employee) –  South Cornwall14 May 2017
Working for the NT was very convenient, as you worked on your own initiative, Management extremely efficient and helpful.
i found great job satisfaction knowing that the guests were happy and enjoyed their stay, always lovely to have notes left thanking you for a beautiful cottage and all your help.
Pros
Working on own inititative
Cons
Paying out for your expenses, and claiming back monthly
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Ranger Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Castlerock7 May 2017
It's a great atmosphere at work were fun can be had yet work continues. The experience at the National Trust is very broad and therefore can suit many different types of people.
Pros
Outdoor work
Cons
Poor payment for placement students
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Chef Manager (Current Employee) –  Brancaster Activity Centre7 May 2017
Catering breakfast lunch and evening meal for children visiting the centre on a residential basis. Ordering health and safety and all aspects of looking after a kitchen.
Pros
national Trust membership
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people, lovely atmosphere and workplace
Events Officer (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire30 April 2017
Good hearted organisation. Well balanced in offering wonderful places to everyone but ensuring they are kept and maintained for the future. Always looking to further develop and inrease offers for everyone.

Great fun all around!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely people lovely place
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London30 April 2017
at the national trust you feel included, it's a great place to work to educate yourself about the world around you,however pay is low so don't expect great pay, good discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
national trust
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Anglesey24 April 2017
Part time job.
OK pay.
Lots of hours.
Can be very busy.
Great job if you study.
No benefits.
Sometimes have to work long hours.
Nice people, good managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and relaxed
Volunteer Business Continuity Assistant (Current Employee) –  Flatford23 April 2017
I was a volunteer and worked in the office so didn't really see that many people but those i did see where very friendly and helpful. Would be a nice place to work full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Enviornment
Room Guide (Former Employee) –  Bexleyheath, Greater London21 April 2017
Visitor interaction is interesting and fun, people come from all over the world and many different cultures to visit.

I wouldn't say there are any bad points for this trust, I thoroughly enjoyed my voluntary position here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part Time Job between Studying
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sudbury Hall, Derbyshire12 April 2017
Zero hour contract position which revolved around serving customers in the tea room. Time pressure would increase around lunch time when hot food was served. Great job at the time, working alongside like-minded students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Trust. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 271 reviews
5127
469
348
214
113

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture