National Trust Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started off as great place to work until change at senior management level
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Killerton18 May 2017
Long hours for no extra pay
Interesting work
Senior management horrendous
Lots of back stabbing
Enjoyed meeting people

When first started working for nt, it was fun and enjoyable with job satisfaction. Then senior management changed and so did the culture of the property and not for the better.
Pros
Meeting people
Cons
Long hours. Low pay. Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Volunteer in Historical Kitchen (Former Employee) –  Charlecote, Warwickshire18 May 2017
majority of people were volunteers so there was a good working community as everyone had chosen to be there. The work was fun and stimulating as we got to work on our own terms, cooking what we wanted to cook. we also got great interaction with guest and enjoyed watching the kids get involved with the history of a working house.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
convenient and great company to work for
Holiday Cottage Caretaker (Former Employee) –  South Cornwall14 May 2017
Working for the NT was very convenient, as you worked on your own initiative, Management extremely efficient and helpful.
i found great job satisfaction knowing that the guests were happy and enjoyed their stay, always lovely to have notes left thanking you for a beautiful cottage and all your help.
Pros
Working on own inititative
Cons
Paying out for your expenses, and claiming back monthly
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Ranger Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Castlerock7 May 2017
It's a great atmosphere at work were fun can be had yet work continues. The experience at the National Trust is very broad and therefore can suit many different types of people.
Pros
Outdoor work
Cons
Poor payment for placement students
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Chef Manager (Current Employee) –  Brancaster Activity Centre7 May 2017
Catering breakfast lunch and evening meal for children visiting the centre on a residential basis. Ordering health and safety and all aspects of looking after a kitchen.
Pros
national Trust membership
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people, lovely atmosphere and workplace
Events Officer (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire30 April 2017
Good hearted organisation. Well balanced in offering wonderful places to everyone but ensuring they are kept and maintained for the future. Always looking to further develop and inrease offers for everyone.

Great fun all around!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely people lovely place
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London30 April 2017
at the national trust you feel included, it's a great place to work to educate yourself about the world around you,however pay is low so don't expect great pay, good discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
national trust
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Anglesey24 April 2017
Part time job.
OK pay.
Lots of hours.
Can be very busy.
Great job if you study.
No benefits.
Sometimes have to work long hours.
Nice people, good managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and relaxed
Volunteer Business Continuity Assistant (Current Employee) –  Flatford23 April 2017
I was a volunteer and worked in the office so didn't really see that many people but those i did see where very friendly and helpful. Would be a nice place to work full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Enviornment
Room Guide (Former Employee) –  Bexleyheath, Greater London21 April 2017
Visitor interaction is interesting and fun, people come from all over the world and many different cultures to visit.

I wouldn't say there are any bad points for this trust, I thoroughly enjoyed my voluntary position here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about National Trust?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part Time Job between Studying
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sudbury Hall, Derbyshire12 April 2017
Zero hour contract position which revolved around serving customers in the tea room. Time pressure would increase around lunch time when hot food was served. Great job at the time, working alongside like-minded students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful place to work, shame about the salaries
Project Manager (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Erddig11 April 2017
Always lovely to work in such an amazing natural environment
Organisation uses its charity status to underpay staff whilst openly garnering huge money reserves
Strategically stuck between its new brand as a tourism attraction and its core purpose of conservation
Lack of funding diverted to its core purposes raises concerns that it is not fit for purpose.
Pros
Beautiful scenery
Cons
Very low salary, inflexible organisation, highly political environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very special organisation
Visitor Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Avebury7 April 2017
Going the extra mile is easy when you love the place you are working to preserve.

I worked with volunteers, staff and neighbouring organisations to support the management and promotion of a cherished place at local level.

The culture at regional and central offices was progressive and encouraged innovative thinking and personal development.

The culture and expectations of departments within the local team were firmly established - This was useful in maintaining a core volunteer and staff team, although new ways of working were very slow to translate into local delivery.

Every single person I worked with was passionate about the place they worked at and gave 100% to their job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call centre
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kirkby, Merseyside1 April 2017
Working in the call centre was not fun, management constantly breathing down your neck to hit targets that are set at 90%. one positive is it is a 9-5 job if you can get of the phone on time that is/
Pros
nine to five position
Cons
Management are a handful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for the short term
Retail (Current Employee) –  Devon21 March 2017
The role I had in my last place of work was full of lovely people but managed poorly which led to unhappiness in many people. For a developmental role i would not recommend but a happy enough place for a step down role for someone who wants less responsibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Productive Workplace
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Lyme Park11 March 2017
Both management and the volunteers at National Trust made it a fabulous place to work, all trusting and understanding, we all worked as a team assisting each other. Through this placement I was able to realise that communicating with others to inform is a highly rewarding whilst also learning the skills of who wishes to be approached.
Pros
Work Community
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An organisation to be passionate about.
Corporate Partnership Executive (Current Employee) –  Heelis, Swindon7 March 2017
I have worked for the National Trust for over 10 years and this is an organisation to be proud of.
There are plenty of opportunities to build on your skills with in-house training available to all.
Pros
Flexible working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
previous volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield6 March 2017
I volunteered for this trust for five years, I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone, As a volunteer you always felt supported and kept in the loop as to what was going on in the trust, never made to feel any less than a staff member
Pros
good atmosphere to work in and staff discounts
Cons
wish i could've stayed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpaid volunteer position, good company, great job satisfaction
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside4 March 2017
This was part time volunteer position.
The job entailed Leeds/Liverpool canal habitat maintenance and management together with fellow volunteers.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
Unpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
national trust
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  greenaway5 February 2017
Great company to work for, staff and volunteers extremely friendly and supportive.

beautiful grounds and lovely staff members with dedicated volunteers.
Pros
beautiful environment to work in, staff and volunteers all as like minded as you.
Cons
wage a little low and role a little tedious when no customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Trust. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 237 reviews
5110
459
344
212
112

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.9Culture