National Express Employee Reviews

Found 162 reviews matching the search See all 205 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad workplace
Driver (Former Employee) –  London18 October 2018
During my time working here my Stress levels went through the roof and nothing but stress from the management so double whammy. If you have no life or feelings it’s the job for you!
Pros
Emm ?
Cons
Not enough space to list them in this little box !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company i have known for a long time
Coach driver national express (Former Employee) –  Stansted airport10 October 2018
Poor management and very rude staff too much bullying and often you get a racist comment
Definitely not worth it shame....
Very long hours and always finishing late over time not worth doing as they're never going to pay you
Pros
Too many hours
Cons
Raciste staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aporling place to work
Engineer (Former Employee) –  West Bromwich, West Midlands6 October 2018
Avoid national express like the plaque bad management hassle and bullying if face don't fit ok if you like kissing but all the time then you may fit in until they had enough of you then out the door even if you work for 10yrs or more don't think your safe there they will drop you like a hot cake clueless run by idiots will sack you for most stupid of things just do your self a favour and avoid it some garages will be shutting soon so don't even bother with there jobs
Pros
Avarge money
Cons
Poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Leader
Team Leader Customer Service (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London2 October 2018
Great business to work for, lots of development opportunities, a great place to start a career! Due to the nature of the business it can be a challenging environment, however this gives endless opportunities to grow and progress.
Pros
Development opportunities, progression, experience
Cons
Fast paced, unsociable working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If U like stress,U ll love it
Coach Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London29 September 2018
Drivers are not value,they just speak about safety.Stupid rules, without any kind of reason.Too clever management, without any kind of driving experience.Quite low salary,but very big responsibility,unsocial,unhealty job.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, big stress, low salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A complete joke
Driver (Current Employee) –  Stansted Airport27 September 2018
Management and controllers could not run a bath, paperwork and share holders more important than anything else. Coaches are sometimes cleaned in 5 mins so you can guess what they are like, most of them smell of urine from the toilet and floor mopped with same mop as toilet. Go and work for a private coach company, staff turnover is horrendous no body wants to be there
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cluless
Driver (Former Employee) –  Gatwick19 September 2018
Run by clowns , if I could give zero for ‘management ‘ I would .
Total utter disregard for the staff , run by bean counters and clueless bean counters at that .
Pros
Zero
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands10 September 2018
The non-senior level people are what keep you in this company. They are friendly and approachable in day-to-day business activities.
Development and recognition are not so good and can be hard to progress even though you can show evidence for it.
Pros
free travel on birmingham buses and coach
Cons
no development or progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start of my working day
Travel Advisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham10 September 2018
On arrival I had to log into my turret, this enables timekeeping. organisation was priority, Management gave us set goals, it was a friendly environment to work in, the most challenging part of my role was having to listen to unhappy customers but the most rewarding was giving customer satisfaction that then gave me a warm glow knowing that I had achieved my aim in ensuring that the customer is needs are met.
Pros
We would be given incentives for overall performance.
Cons
Unable to get holidays when required.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Dover, Kent9 September 2018
Moved from national express to local stagecoach as they are the same company it's a little better but if you want a life it's not the job for you. Poor pay as you get lots of pay deducted from breaks.
Pros
None
Cons
Irregular shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay, long Hours
Coach Driver (Former Employee) –  Gillingham, Kent31 August 2018
I was based in Gillingham, Kent, Got to say the job i was doing driving to Paris was enjoyable however it was long hours and trying to keep within driving hours was very difficult, The management team were brilliant and the guys in the office covering the shifts were fantastic, however they all have their hands tied by higher up the food chain so it's difficult for them to get what they want, i was offered commuter or private hire work but decided to go back on the buses as at least then i know when I'm going to be home.
Miss driving there smart coaches though
Pros
Reasonable Pay £12.00ph
Cons
Long hours, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay, poor treatment.
Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London13 August 2018
In my time with National Express I had good times with other drivers that were a laugh, at such a shame we got treated like dogs, like a Number that can be replaced at any given moment, the hours ruin your life, full stop, ruins your social life (if you have one) and relationship/marriage/family will be effectived due to working on days that you should be off, Sunday, bank holiday CHRISTMAS!! NEW YEARS!, I worked in all these days and was forced too even tho I begged to be with my family the manager smiled in my face and said ‘If you don’t like the hours you know where the door is’. Well Mr manager after 7 years of putting up with your rubbish I told him ‘yeah if that’s how you want to be fine’ I walked out and called in sick on my last XMas with the company and Took the whole week off giving me my NYE back with my freinds and family. It was a great time. That’s when I realised money isn’t everything & my health was also bad due to the anti social hour shifts (Earlys then on lates week after) also my back begun hurting so I quit just in time, now I feel like a new born baby 6 months later I’m happy again and I have my family, friends and health back. I now work in London Zoo helping the animals and I enjoy my sociable Hours job, no work on Xmas, NYE or bank holiday for me anymore and I love it. So happy I took tbt pay cut. Avoid this company at all costs!!!! Please don’t do this to yourself!!! Don’t make the same mistake I did and waste your time there they only pay 32k a years because they own your life/soul once you sign that contract, choose life my friend, choose life!!  more... I did ... never looked back ...  less
Pros
Driver buddies
Cons
Long hours, terrible shift work patten, bad for health.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Senior Customer Advisor (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester29 July 2018
An interesting and fast paced job, with a constantly changing environment. You never know what will happen next and constantly dealing with a variety of situations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Coach Driver (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield19 July 2018
There is alot of driving to and from london with very little back up from head office management or lack of are always on drivers case about every little thing.
Pros
Free coach trips
Cons
long hours barley any weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees not valued as much as you would like
Operation Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Walsall7 July 2018
although job security is high to progress anywhere in the company its 90% if your face fits and your a YES man and 10% the ability to actually do the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking organisation
Station Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London6 July 2018
Hugely disappointing experience with National Express Staff and managers all unhappy, Head Office chaotic and managers multi tasking but not coping. Appalling induction process and cannot recommend a career.
Pros
Free coach travel
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work for
Bus Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands28 May 2018
I would never work for this company again they treat all there staff like dirt the mangers are really bad and they will sack you for the most stupid thing avoid at all cost
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Assist selling tickets (Former Employee) –  Liverpool16 May 2018
The national express work placement for 1 week gave me good experience working with customers, also helped me gain some confidence as well I enjoyed helping passengers
Pros
gaining experience
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job and enjoyed it
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Dundee City15 May 2018
I enjoyed my job here but I had to leave because of family problems , I tried to get better shifts to help my family but was not helped so I had to leave my job
Pros
good money
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 12Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgraceful company profits first you last
Inspector (Current Employee) –  Walsalll7 May 2018
Terrible company to work for and those who say different are either family of management or the bosses themselves just look at how short staffed they are at every garage speaks for itself
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours unsocial hours late nights bank holiday Workin Sunday workin
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 205 reviews
552
454
347
219
133

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture