National Express Group Plc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay, poor treatment.
Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London13 August 2018
In my time with National Express I had good times with other drivers that were a laugh, at such a shame we got treated like dogs, like a Number that can be replaced at any given moment, the hours ruin your life, full stop, ruins your social life (if you have one) and relationship/marriage/family will be effectived due to working on days that you should be off, Sunday, bank holiday CHRISTMAS!! NEW YEARS!, I worked in all these days and was forced too even tho I begged to be with my family the manager smiled in my face and said ‘If you don’t like the hours you know where the door is’. Well Mr manager after 7 years of putting up with your rubbish I told him ‘yeah if that’s how you want to be fine’ I walked out and called in sick on my last XMas with the company and Took the whole week off giving me my NYE back with my freinds and family. It was a great time. That’s when I realised money isn’t everything & my health was also bad due to the anti social hour shifts (Earlys then on lates week after) also my back begun hurting so I quit just in time, now I feel like a new born baby 6 months later I’m happy again and I have my family, friends and health back. I now work in London Zoo helping the animals and I enjoy my sociable Hours job, no work on Xmas, NYE or bank holiday for me anymore and I love it. So happy I took tbt pay cut. Avoid this company at all costs!!!! Please don’t do this to yourself!!! Don’t make the same mistake I did and waste your time there they only pay 32k a years because they own your life/soul once you sign that contract, choose life my friend, choose life!!  more... I did ... never looked back ...  less
Pros
Driver buddies
Cons
Long hours, terrible shift work patten, bad for health.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking organisation
Station Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London6 July 2018
Hugely disappointing experience with National Express Staff and managers all unhappy, Head Office chaotic and managers multi tasking but not coping. Appalling induction process and cannot recommend a career.
Pros
Free coach travel
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work for
Bus Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands28 May 2018
I would never work for this company again they treat all there staff like dirt the mangers are really bad and they will sack you for the most stupid thing avoid at all cost
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgraceful company profits first you last
Inspector (Current Employee) –  Walsalll7 May 2018
Terrible company to work for and those who say different are either family of management or the bosses themselves just look at how short staffed they are at every garage speaks for itself
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours unsocial hours late nights bank holiday Workin Sunday workin
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy place to work
Coach Driver (Former Employee) –  Luton Airport29 March 2018
No work/life balance.
Work 4 days on, 2 days off on a rotational rota.
Work 5 weekends in a row before having 1 off.
Very strict policies.
High turnover of staff but a very long winded recruitment process, so often short of staff.
Some nice new vehicles but some terrible old ones too.
Wages are not bad for this type of work, but no incentives to work overtime (which is plentiful)
Be prepared to work Bank Holidays as normal days.
This includes Christmas Day.
Pros
Some nice vehicles, good wages, good comradeship with other drivers
Cons
Horrible rota pattern, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unbelievable turnover of staff
Coach Driver (Current Employee) –  Stansted Airport23 March 2018
People seem to get sacked for the slightest thing, long hours, pay may look good but no job security, agency workers all on different rates of pay. very poor management. drivers are a good bunch but most don't feel appreciated.
Pros
its a job
Cons
long hours, no job security, favourism from managers and controllers
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking in-out terminations
Driver (Former Employee) –  3 in all20 February 2018
All is very rosey to start. Staff are great but the management side is disgraceful. If u plan on a future here at the company then don’t. They sack good hard working men and women as though we’re scrap.
Pros
Great team to work with
Cons
Get sacked is very easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Executive Assistant to Managing Director (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 September 2017
A great company to work for. They really value and always look to develop their people. They are a truly international company so there are lots of opportunities for people of all abilities and skillsets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy lifestyle
Driver (Former Employee) –  Public transport15 August 2017
Not having Fix working times and not having the time to spend with ur kids not good for ur lifestyle and health don't get paid for ur hours u do, no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Using people like things with no life.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Stansted Airport15 August 2017
I was fired after ,after when I have talk with manager about near miss accident that i didn't reported, look for arriva or else, money is the priority in this company.
Pros
when is not busy is ok
Cons
bad managment ( work in 3 depots), stress, health problems, no life
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work for little money
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  South West24 April 2017
Company have so called core values but do not want to pay you core monies, rather pay school leavers low pay than pay for experience, part time top up money would be suitable but apart from that stick to a company that cares ie First Group or GWR
Pros
Free bus pass
Cons
Low Pay, Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  West Midlands13 April 2017
Friendly and professional. Shifts fair. Either night or day. Breaks permitted. Managed well. Good team ethics between the drivers. Ability to progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 55Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Express is mostly sub contracted out
Driver at yourbus (sub par contractor (Former Employee) –  Nottingham London based.31 January 2017
Be careful with NatEx. Driver's hours are difficult to comply with and some sub contractors are very dodgy operators. Its a great brand but traffic is killing the job plus any problem can lead to complaints you are accountable for. Service bus work is easier but if you like barrelling down the motorways and fancy a change from stopping at bus stops then why not?
Pros
Free lunches while on duty
Cons
Unsocial hours and baggage
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  London Victoria25 January 2017
To positively up-sell National Express services and products to customers

To proactively provide support and assist customers, colleagues and driver teams.

To champion safety, highlighting any areas of concern and ensuring safe working practices are adhered to - proactively intervening to prevent unsafe actions from occurring

To work collaboratively as part of a team to create a positive work culture through constant communication, integrity, positive energy and pride.

To carry out any other duties as are within the scope, spirit and purpose of the job as requested.

To liaise with colleagues throughout the business regarding service updates and disruption.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 64Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham18 July 2016
Be warned. When being recruited "occassional late shift & weekends" actually means working many late night shifts (2-10pm or 2.15-10.15pm) and every second weekend Sat/Sun. No work/life balance at all. However, if you are ok with this, then working for NX is great. Staff are fantastic to work with and most customers are great. Free buss pass (which I miss) and coach travel is heavily discounted. Salary could be better considering shift working/weekends but its alright. Don't really get to form friendships with many people. However, I do miss it.
Pros
free bus travel
Cons
too many late night shift working and weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Express Group Plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.1
Based on 16 reviews
52
41
32
23
18

Ratings by category

1.8Work/Life Balance
2.4Salary/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
1.9Management
2.1Culture

National Express Group Plc Reviews by Location