Mothercare Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, with a small insight into bringing new lives into the world.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orpington18 June 2018
I very much enjoyed my employment at Mothercare. It was a fun place to work, with a small insight into bringing new lives into the world. When helping customers wit each of the new things they require for a new baby, it is a fulfilling experience - it is also nice to watch recurring parents enter the shop, as their children grow.
Pros
Fun working environment.
Cons
Wages for young people are quite low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, friendly and safe enviroment to work at
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Bromley4 June 2018
a normal day at work will consist of serving customers, tidying, collecting and placing orders, bra measuring and learning how to fit a car seat and buggy training.
Pros
hours were flexible, overtime always available
Cons
nothing!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Hayes31 May 2018
the management were very friendly yet still stayed professional. the team members were very welcoming. the hours are very flexible and you get decent discount.
Pros
very friendly staff
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to be forced to do shifts you’ve previously said you can’t do then this is the job for you
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Solihull, West Midlands29 May 2018
The staff you work with are all brilliant and all absolutely lovely but the management are awful and make you feel under pressure to do shifts that you can’t do even if you’ve previously said you can’t do it and then are given evil looks and snappy comments from them because of this. I used to love my job but now i dread turning up along with most of the staff!
Pros
Lovely staff
Cons
Minimum wage and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London27 May 2018
The managers really care about you and they make sure you get enough time off. Unfortunately, many stores are closing and job security is not great. Even store is different, but if you receive the training you need you would feel great helping parents.
Pros
managers, training, work/life balance
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Surrey Quays25 May 2018
can be quite busy from time to time, not enough staff sometimes so run of your feet trying to complete tasks. friendly staff and we were like a family
Pros
20% discount
Cons
not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant team but long hours for full time management
Sales Floor Manager (Current Employee) –  Solihull, West Midlands18 May 2018
Mothercare head office expects a lot from their retail teams.

Because of this, the store and management are constantly inundated with jobs that need doing, which is why time management is important.

We always put the customer first, but because of the pressure from head office to get things completed on time means that these things do not always get completed on time, and you don't get to spend a lot of time with the team to motivate them, as our customers are the heart of everything we do.
Cons
9.5 hour days, sometimes 10
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job, very cliquey staff
Sales Floor Manager (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom8 May 2018
staff can be very cliquey and a lot of the time the management ask too much of you.
However, the team can feel like a family, the job is really fun. opportunities are great, and if you're passionate it can be very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a first time
Customer Services Advisor (Former Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London30 April 2018
good for a first time job to get you on your feet, fast pace and also teaches you to sell products and find out what customers like/are looking for within the business
Pros
good people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mothercare
Lead Talent Resourcing Partner (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire23 April 2018
Business going through substantial change currently, in difficult trading times. Unfortunate the business hasn't evolved as fast as it could of been so there has been many new roles created to rectify this situation as well as lots of redundancies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun to work
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  London19 April 2018
the typical day at work would be interacting with customers and children and also work colleagues and managers. advising customers what is the best items to buy for their needs. I learned how to talk to customers effectively and also how to speak to children and elders. i have also learnt a lot about the products that the store sells. The management is great. The workplace is a safe and comfortable place to work in. the hardest part of the job are the long hours and dealing with difficult customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is mostly everything.
Pros
a lot of choices for lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire17 April 2018
I worked under Good leadership they provided clear expectations and guidance through out the tenure. Had a very good opportunity to learn diverse technologies by interacting with multiple teams
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding workplace
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Weybridge13 April 2018
Sometimes hectic and stressful, but the team is absolutely lovely and more than happy to lend a hand and expertise. An opportunity to learn about a wide range of products
Pros
Competitive salary
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire21 March 2018
I worked for Mothercare and I would never work for this company again. Too much is expected from you with very little training given, you are expected to know about every product, get customer emails everyday or face being sacked, book people for personal shops and you must get a customer hit online with your name mentioned every week, you were lucky if you even got a hit. The place is understaffed considering the size of the shop and you will be given overtime but the manager would never ask if you can do it. However the staff in this store were nice and helpful a really good team. Just a terrible company.
Pros
Nice staff members
Cons
Rude manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non stop pressure
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear6 March 2018
No real training expect you to know everything about every product by reading up on there website at home in your own time.
Made to work every weekend when in most other retail jobs you work alternate weekends but apparently this cannot be achievable at Mothercare.
Minimum wage paid when in fact at the end of your shift they keep you back until the jobs are finished.
Pressured every day to get customers email address.
Pressured to get so many web orders payment plans and made to fit bras when obviously uncomfortable doing so and if you don't comply you are named and shamed each day in front of your co.workers.
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
Extra work...no extra pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Bury, Greater Manchester6 March 2018
Working at Mothercare was not like going to work, every member of staff got along, it was a fun environment. The manager took on a serious role, but still managed to have a laugh with us.
The customers were all friendly and regular to the store.
the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people, staff and customers and actually enjoying the job as a sales assistant. I think the hardest part of the job was getting made redundant, as it was upsetting for staff and customers.
Pros
Everybody enjoyed the job
Cons
It was a small store
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire2 March 2018
They dont do anything they promise. Worst company I have ever worked for. Never met such rude and unprofessional managers in my life. The staff never care about your safety. Products are always priced wrong and u will never have enough staff to help you do price overrides etc. No training whatsoever given
Pros
The customers (if theyre not angry at you)
Cons
Nothing really
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to ever work and that is the honest truth
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff Newport road27 February 2018
Honestly mother care was not the best place to work. Most people including all managers were very rude and always like to talk about people behind there back. Even when you phoned in sick they would make comments and would put it down to being lazy and would ring you through out the day checking your home. Was never supported enough and would be thrown into the deep end never knowing what to do. The worst days would be when the area manager would vist because she would treat you like a dog. I was only there for 3 months as I felt my job was constantly at risk if I didn’t get enough emails. Some girls were lovely but the rest were just not nice
Pros
When the shift ended.
Cons
Overtime because people tend to leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile and unproductive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Colliers Wood, Greater London22 February 2018
Whilst the company and its workers them selves are great, the work environment is poor I felt whilst working there that all people wanted to talk about was other co workers. There was too much talking not enough working
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work at
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackburn20 February 2018
it is a good enviroment to work at. Freindly collegues. learnt alot by working here built up on my confidence and communication skills.
working on tills is the best part. this was my first job and absolutely loved it left and went back but unfortunatley had to leave as i have children now
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mothercare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 344 reviews
580
4112
377
228
147

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture