MORAY COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a good job that paid well.
Refuse Collector (Former Employee) –  Elgin, Moray31 January 2018
I assisted with the daily refuse collections, recycling and all other day to day duties including yard work. This role involved working in a team and also using my own initiative to work alone.
Pros
Good money, good work crew
Cons
Working in the winter but it had to be done!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care in the community
Care Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Elgin, Moray26 June 2017
great girls/guys on teams. built strong trusting relationships with multi agency staff, other carers and service users. Would recommend anyone with great communication skills and naturally caring to try this job role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Visiting Officer (Former Employee) –  Elgin, Moray31 May 2017
The hardest part of the job is dealing with benefit fraud investigations. Generally, when people get found out doing something they are not supposed to be doing, they get aggressive and violent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Key Holder Cleaner (Current Employee) –  bishopmill primairy school3 April 2017
i have two jobs with them and its great employer and staff and management great people too .and good pension too.mainly only work Mondays to Fridays and you normally get the weekends off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely place
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Elgin19 January 2017
great job lovely staff learned lots of different expierances in the job worked most of the time on my own there was no hard part in this job loved very minute I worked there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor, Poor, Poor
Officer (Current Employee) –  Elgin14 August 2016
Unable to use initiative when producing work, lack of effective management and direction, no support, fairly prominent bullying culture across the organisation, lack of consistency across the organisation.
Pros
Work/Life Balance
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward Viewing
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Moray Cuncil14 August 2016
Supportive management team with forward thinking staff whom look to support both staff and customers. Enjoyable area of work with good communications between agencies and clear roll guidelines.
Pros
wonderful area of world, great outdoor opportunities
Cons
location can feel a little away from main cities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and rewarding
Car Park Attendant (Former Employee) –  Elgin6 April 2016
I enjoyed working for Moray Council. Everyone was very friendly and I fitted in well . I would have liked to have stayed in the job but because the position was temporary budgeting costs wouldn't allow for an extension to my contract.
Pros
Freedom to work on my own initiative within a team.
Cons
Temporary contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good rate of pay but unrecognised for extra hours worked for nothing
Nursery Nurse (Current Employee) –  Moray Council12 February 2016
Work in a good supportive team. The job just gets harder and more demanding. Increasing children's hours and giving staff no additional hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in Workplace Enviroment
Housing Support Worker (Homeless) (Former Employee) –  Cameron Park Brae Elgin11 October 2015
Delivering a service for local Community .
Monthly Meeting Discuss issues Seek resolutions
Work as a team
Most challenging dealing with consequential emotional upset and self harming .
Securing tenants permanent housing
Pros
Securing temporary /Perminant Accomadation lead a more independant life
Cons
Attending Meetings and Training after night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable job
Residential care officer (Former Employee) –  Forres, Scotland22 April 2015
Good company. lots of training opportunities and supervision.
extremely challenging enviroment - co-workers were important
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent co-workers
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Elgin, Moray9 February 2015
Typical day involves basically the same routine day in day out. This is because adults and those with Autism require stability in their lives.

Learned patience and listening skills.

Co-workers very supportive.

During periods of challenging behaviour there is always a risk of being hurt.

Seeing and making a difference
Pros
Excellent terms and conditions
Cons
Lack of work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Bus Escort (Current Employee) –  Elgin, SCT11 December 2014
Moray council are a very fun and productive company to work for, and are very good at training for the job at hand. Everything to expect and that is expected of you is very clear. A typical day will involve heading out into the community to escort service users to and from various projects around Elgin. I learned from this job how to supervise a large number of people on my own and with the help of the vehicle driver. The hardest part of the job I have is being able to tend to everyone's needs on the bus at once if there is a problem on the transport. However the most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know the service users as individuals and ensure a safe journey for them.
Pros
Good pension and plenty free time
Cons
Temporary role
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its interesting and fun
Teachers Assistant (Volunteer) (Current Employee) –  Forres5 October 2014
I assist teachers in day to day work with classes aged 7 to 11.
Pros
Lots of fun and great experience
Cons
No pay as voluntary
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
--------
Assistant Traffic Engineer (Former Employee) –  Elgin26 February 2014
As an Assistant Traffic Engineer working with Moray Council the mainstay of my duties were as follows:
• Processing permit application for Road Occupations (Skips, Scaffolds, Cranes and Builder Materials).

• Processing temporary Traffic Orders (Road Closures).

• Managing Symology Street Works Management System.

• Assisting Traffic Engineers.

• Liaising with members of the public and advising on traffic matters.

• Complying with current quality systems.

• Complying with statutory procedures and all aspects of health and safety during work.

• Complying with current council policies.

• Undertaking training as part of continual professional development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See cv
Moray Council Social Work - Sessional Worker (Former Employee) –  Scotland11 February 2014
Direct hands on work with children and young people with and without disabilities on a one to one basis and within group situations which I had to develop positive relationships with the children and young people, their parents, carers and families and liaise with them in accordance with the services practice.
Mainly, support was given to children and young people to access care, education, informal learning, play and a range of fun and enjoyable opportunities, experiences and social activities which helped them develop their full potential as individuals.
I provided a high quality of care and personal support that meets individual needs and takes account of ensuring that individual identity is respected, maintained and enhanced. And also worked with the children, young people and families, establishing positive relationships in order to support them to develop their communication skills and maximize opportunities for choice and independence
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Too Bad for a Trainee Post
Administrative Assistant, Moray Training (Former Employee) –  Elgin, SCT20 October 2013
During my time with Moray Training I was responsible for all general administrative duties which included all filing of invoices, processing of new start paperwork, typing of training reports and any other duties as dictated by the Training Officer. I also dealt with trainee complaints and liaised with course tutors creating training packages for individual students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work place
Family Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Elgin3 June 2013
I regularly came into contact with a wide range of people, particularly in meetings, and they included children, families, foster carers, teachers and social workers.
I had to support children and families in many different, sometimes complex situations e.g. I arranged supervised visits between the child and the parent as the parent may have had limited access as directed by the court.
I supported children of all ages and their parents too, often being the link between them and social work, operating with the families in a sensive supportive manner.
All my work was typed into our computer data system called Carefirst. I had a role where I was unsupervised for the majority of the time, so being a proactive individual really helped me.
Pros
Opportunity to work with a diverse range of people
Cons
Limited opportunities for promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 8Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MORAY COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 19 reviews
55
48
34
21
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

MORAY COUNCIL Reviews by Location