MORAY COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a good job that paid well.
Refuse Collector (Former Employee) –  Elgin, Moray31 January 2018
I assisted with the daily refuse collections, recycling and all other day to day duties including yard work. This role involved working in a team and also using my own initiative to work alone.
Pros
Good money, good work crew
Cons
Working in the winter but it had to be done!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care in the community
Care Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Elgin, Moray26 June 2017
great girls/guys on teams. built strong trusting relationships with multi agency staff, other carers and service users. Would recommend anyone with great communication skills and naturally caring to try this job role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Elgin, Moray5 June 2017
Iv tryed getting a job with this company i never got replies back from them i think its a disguise i work with them i go bk for more work got fefused not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Visiting Officer (Former Employee) –  Elgin, Moray31 May 2017
The hardest part of the job is dealing with benefit fraud investigations. Generally, when people get found out doing something they are not supposed to be doing, they get aggressive and violent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Key Holder Cleaner (Current Employee) –  bishopmill primairy school3 April 2017
i have two jobs with them and its great employer and staff and management great people too .and good pension too.mainly only work Mondays to Fridays and you normally get the weekends off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely place
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Elgin19 January 2017
great job lovely staff learned lots of different expierances in the job worked most of the time on my own there was no hard part in this job loved very minute I worked there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits ok, Work life terrible.
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Moray7 December 2016
Typical day = your job and someone else's because of budget cuts
What you learn = the council has good benefits, but because of budget cuts you don;t get to take advantage of them
Management = very poor, becoming more capitalist and devoid of care, becoming more like the private sector.
Co-workers = stressed and over-worked
Hardest part of the job = extreme pressure
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Budget cuts, too much pressure, poor maagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor, Poor, Poor
Officer (Current Employee) –  Elgin14 August 2016
Unable to use initiative when producing work, lack of effective management and direction, no support, fairly prominent bullying culture across the organisation, lack of consistency across the organisation.
Pros
Work/Life Balance
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward Viewing
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Moray Cuncil14 August 2016
Supportive management team with forward thinking staff whom look to support both staff and customers. Enjoyable area of work with good communications between agencies and clear roll guidelines.
Pros
wonderful area of world, great outdoor opportunities
Cons
location can feel a little away from main cities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An educational and supportive workplace
Housing Options Intern (Former Employee) –  Elgin13 June 2016
I learned valuable work experience and had a very helpful and enthusiastic mentor who introduced me to many areas within the council. I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent working here with the many people I met and worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very frustrating workplace with low morale
Driver/Gardener (Current Employee) –  Elgin23 April 2016
This could be a good place to work but unfortunately the morale amongst the workforce is extremely low due to management having no idea how to manage or people skills while spending most their time squabbling amongst themselves or trying to catch employees out. Communication is very poor and if your face doesn't fit then watch out! The workload is busy but totally disorganized and teamwork is not encouraged. If your willing to shut off your brain ( thinking is not encouraged ) keep your head down with no questions asked you will get on ok.
Pros
Good hours and holidays plus reasonable pay
Cons
Bad management. Low morale. Disorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and rewarding
Car Park Attendant (Former Employee) –  Elgin6 April 2016
I enjoyed working for Moray Council. Everyone was very friendly and I fitted in well . I would have liked to have stayed in the job but because the position was temporary budgeting costs wouldn't allow for an extension to my contract.
Pros
Freedom to work on my own initiative within a team.
Cons
Temporary contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Securtiy
Nursery Nurse at St Thomas Nursery (Current Employee) –  The Moray Council12 February 2016
Supportive management and good team to work for. Plenty of opportunity for training. Additional hours with no extra pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good rate of pay but unrecognised for extra hours worked for nothing
Nursery Nurse (Current Employee) –  Moray Council12 February 2016
Work in a good supportive team. The job just gets harder and more demanding. Increasing children's hours and giving staff no additional hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in Workplace Enviroment
Housing Support Worker (Homeless) (Former Employee) –  Cameron Park Brae Elgin11 October 2015
Delivering a service for local Community .
Monthly Meeting Discuss issues Seek resolutions
Work as a team
Most challenging dealing with consequential emotional upset and self harming .
Securing tenants permanent housing
Pros
Securing temporary /Perminant Accomadation lead a more independant life
Cons
Attending Meetings and Training after night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable job
Residential care officer (Former Employee) –  Forres, Scotland22 April 2015
Good company. lots of training opportunities and supervision.
extremely challenging enviroment - co-workers were important
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my day with the dlo
foreman labourer (Former Employee) –  Elgin, SCT16 February 2015
job starts with giving your work force with there works orders then i have to have a meeting with my manager to organise fence contracts also talk to tenants about contracts about to start also deal with emergency that may come in you have to learn how to keep a cool head when things get busy i have a very good work force you are willing to go the extra mile the hardest part of job was when tenants young and old lost all there furniture photos etc during the floods enjoyable part of job is tenants satisfaction
i
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 32Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent co-workers
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Elgin, Moray9 February 2015
Typical day involves basically the same routine day in day out. This is because adults and those with Autism require stability in their lives.

Learned patience and listening skills.

Co-workers very supportive.

During periods of challenging behaviour there is always a risk of being hurt.

Seeing and making a difference
Pros
Excellent terms and conditions
Cons
Lack of work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Bus Escort (Current Employee) –  Elgin, SCT11 December 2014
Moray council are a very fun and productive company to work for, and are very good at training for the job at hand. Everything to expect and that is expected of you is very clear. A typical day will involve heading out into the community to escort service users to and from various projects around Elgin. I learned from this job how to supervise a large number of people on my own and with the help of the vehicle driver. The hardest part of the job I have is being able to tend to everyone's needs on the bus at once if there is a problem on the transport. However the most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know the service users as individuals and ensure a safe journey for them.
Pros
Good pension and plenty free time
Cons
Temporary role
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding job
Builder/Mason (Former Employee) –  Keith depot7 October 2014
Good place to work, company van, good pension ,overtime if wanted, friendly people and working in community.
Pros
company van
Cons
on call some weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 20Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MORAY COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 28 reviews
58
410
35
23
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

MORAY COUNCIL Reviews by Location