MITIE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a number !!!
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mitie Thorpe Park leeds11 January 2018
Absolute shambles of a call centre - training to a minimum. Management do not care ( you are just a number to them )
Work load is huge for the amount you get paid ..... just avoid !
Pros
Work colleagues
Cons
Training, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton, Warwickshire11 January 2018
Could of communicated with staff more. Took a long time to replace Cleaning equipment. Didn’t appreciate the work you put in for the company and management.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaner
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Wigan7 January 2018
i enjoyed the job it was a good. I wasn't always guaranteed the security of working every week as I was mostly covering other peoples holidays at the time.
Pros
good company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoys my work
cleaning supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh ...standard life/Aberdeen assets7 January 2018
. a lot of the staff are polish ...so sometimes communication can be difficult......satisfaction when job is done.....all have duties to do every day sometimes they have to be changed ie if someone calls in sick ...so sonetimes u get staff member not to happy at that.....feels good when u get good feedback from the client....manager is strict expects the best from staff
typical day for me is starts 9am making sure entraces to building are clean....takes care of deliveries...laundry....we also do the shredding as well in the building so operates the machine and trains others to use it.....makes sure confidential paper is collected from all floors to be shredded.....does inspections to make sure the work has been done properly
Pros
working mon to fri has weekends off
Cons
travelling for me from falkirk to Edinburgh
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Skilled Labourer (Former Employee) –  Weymouth5 January 2018
Learnt a lot from other collegues other two and a half years dealing with lots of tradesman downside to the job was dealing with the uninspiring managers
Pros
Health and safety
Cons
Travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unreasonable hours/Unreasonable pay
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire3 January 2018
The work greatly outweighed the pay in my experience . No extra pay for unsociable hours. Job seemed secure, this was a blessing and a curse, as you would have to carry the staff that could get away with doing nothing. Bad management. Bad pay.
Pros
Job security
Cons
bad pay, bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fair
Mr (Former Employee) –  Worksop, Nottinghamshire2 January 2018
I enjoyed my time when I worked for mitie I were my own boss left to my own devices I new my job and got help when I needed it worked well in a team and on my own
Pros
Independance
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Retail Ofiicer
retail security officer (Current Employee) –  London23 December 2017
I work iin Security Industry five years. All time in the same store Boston Manor - Sainsbury's ( convenience store). My main target is defend store from shoplifters.When started five years ago this store was open for shoplifters and another muggers.First year was very difficult. My person was big surprise for my enemies. I inoveted my job and begun cooperated with customers. Now customers cooperated with me , majority are my friends. I changed relationship between SECURITY OFFICER AND STAFF. Staff understand my job and support SO when in time trouble. Now I want change job. My old dream is Bus Driver. I hope start in a new profession. My hobby is history RAF, especialy SILVER AGE. My family live in UK. My daughter live with her partner in Milton Keynes. She is quality control.
My job is very stressful.I have to verypolite for all bu some customersare veryrude. I have to very flexible , lost licence is very easy.In my store is very good athmosphere which big advantage. I have very good relationship with customers and staff. The most enjoyable moments are when customers give me greeting cards in Christmas TIME. Staff told Mark you are part of team Sainsbury's.
Pros
relationship between my and staff and customers
Cons
long hours shift 9 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rubbish company to work for and mangment are rubbish too.
Admin Support (Current Employee) –  England19 December 2017
basically long hours, not appreciated,rubbish management.
basically when they want you gone, you are gone with out not notice even when you have just signed a contract with them. pay is not great as you are working long hours
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mitie
Industrial Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Retford18 December 2017
The roll of a Print assistant is to make sure the print press is to be kept running as quickly and smoothly as possible making sure the correct inks (Visco levels), film and plates are in the machine. Booking in reels for stock control. Correct paper work must be in place and all relevant checks to the jobs must be taken and signed off. The machine has to be kept to a very high level of hygiene as the product is for the food packaging industry. Other duties include laying the print on to the film so the job can pass QA before running. The business is 24 hours as day so it's vitally important to arrive 15 minutes early for the shift to take a full hand over from the previous operative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good conditions
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Blackpool18 December 2017
A good organisation to work for. I found my work conditions to be decent and my managers to be fair and honourable. I would recommend this company to potential employees.
Pros
good opportunities
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but need's overall review
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  West midlands15 December 2017
Dont bother unless you want nil appreciation ...long hour's poor pay no appreciation but overall great work colleges they could be a good company just need to look at our to to maximize contracts with little staff
Pros
a job
Cons
Bad management, long hour's poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always on the move
Cleaner, Front of house (Former Employee) –  Manchester Airport, Greater Manchester14 December 2017
Typical day would be, litter picking, car parks, outside terminal buildings, and other posts.Cleaning low windows, and paint work, signage, and seats, taxi ranks, etc
Pros
2 half hour breaks
Cons
No stop
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place very large building
Corporate Receptionist (Former Employee) –  London14 December 2017
There were 4 receptionist on this reception spread across 2 floors that we could alternate on, I needed a new challenge as I felt I learnt all that was on offer with MITIE and I moved to the AOP.
Pros
Good Location
Cons
Late closing time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely rubbish
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire12 December 2017
Call centre - Thorpe park, Leeds

Poor training/organisation - I was trained on one contact and then they expected me to take calls from all over contracts.

Lack of communication between the different parts of Mitie (left hand not knowing what the right hand is doing - customers called to ask wether engineers were expected to be on-site doing general maintenance (we had no idea as all we dealt with was reactive stuff). I just told them I didn't know as I didn't want to take responsibility if the engineer wasn't an engineer and to call the police.

Throwing all calls at particular agents instead of sharing them fairly throughout the call centre.

Absolutely no chance of advancement if your not "in" with management. Very corrupt
Pros
No benefits
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable.
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Redcar and Cleveland, North Yorkshire11 December 2017
I enjoyed working for MITIE. The hours were good and the people I worked alongside made the job enjoyable. I am a very organised person and enjoy cleaning and tidying so this job was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim11 December 2017
Worst company to work for they dont care about employee nobody answer youre questions worst managment ever nobody deals with youre queries and even if they do its a waiting game
Pros
Nil
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training opportunities
Soft services engineer (Former Employee) –  Glasgow8 December 2017
Worked for mitie for over 10 years on a specific industrial contract. My onsite management were fantastic supporting me through long term illness. Cant thank my management and the company enough for the support and investment in me over the years negotiating hours to help with childcare, giving me the opportunity to achieve various liscences with industrial machinery and gain several certificates that have helped further my career into management where i am now. I started as a part time office cleaner and went on to train in industrial cleaning and various other jobs. Management were always enthusiastic about my potential anx future with the company helping me to gain my several qaulifications. My time with mitie was educational and productive and extremely beneficial. Eventually coming to an end with voluntary redundancy. Would absolutely work for mitie again. Thank you mitie for my employment
Pros
Great training, good management support, good career potential and employee investment
Cons
Contract coming to an end
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Bristol6 December 2017
i enjoy working for mitie but the only down side i have is the hours that im getting, we have our own cleaing room,and the tesco i work for has a lunch room
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire5 December 2017
Very busy company to work with your always on the go. You have to be flexible and it’s good to work with the customers, the staff are very friendly and helpful to.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MITIE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 662 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0