Ministry of Defence Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and interesting
Medical Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Cornwall4 October 2017
Answering the telephone and making medical appointments and dealing with paperwork for deploying personnel.
Every day was a learning day as policy changes and updates is ongoing.
Respectful workplace culture .
My role is particularly challenging in many areas there is no hardest part that sticks out.
Everyday was different with enquires so the role does not become mundane thus keeping it enjoyable .
Pros
Encouragement to use the free fitness facilities available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues but restrictive cutbacks
Administration Officer (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester25 September 2017
Working paper and electronic work queues.

Many packages learned.

Management is fine but a little restricted due to Government cutbacks.

Workplace culture is average in my experience with many superb colleagues.

Hardest part working with restrictions and staff cutting constantly.

Best part many wonderful colleagues and flexi-time.
Pros
Flexi-time working
Cons
Cutbgacks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and cutting edge with HR policy
Supply Chain Manager (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol21 September 2017
I would recommend working at MOD Abbeywood to anyone. Although the Civil Service at times has a negative persona I have not experienced anything other than a professional and forward leaning company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Information Officer, Corporate Communications (Former Employee) –  London9 September 2017
I enjoyed this role and could see how my efforts contributed to wider policies intended to make the UK a better place. In particular I enjoyed the strategic nature of my position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional organisation with a variety of projects
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Nottingham31 August 2017
Decent career progression.

Salary aside, benefits are limited.

Variety of projects worldwide which are really interesting but very little notice and lots of uncertainty relating to when you will go and when you are likely to return.

Hardworking staff who are not always supported particularly well.

Enjoyable position and would recommend even with a slightly negative review.
Pros
Salary and variety of projects
Cons
Short notice deployments
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paid fun job
Stewardess (Former Employee) –  Raf leemi21 August 2017
Very well paid job. Teaches self discipline, organisation, punctuality and high standards. Working close with the military to deliver breakfast, lunch and dinner to the officers.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Long hours during functions
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding career
Engineering Manager (Current Employee) –  Hampshire27 July 2017
IT predominantly used throughout day, research of Aviation policy at all levels, multiple ad hoc tasks received and actioned either immediately or over a period of time dependent of research requirements. Research and provision of reports, briefs and powerpoint for senior management. Open plan office with senior management colocated.
Pros
Relaxed, professional environment. Opinion valued.
Cons
Open plan can lead to distractions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ruined by Hewlett Packard
Test Analyst/Specialist (Former Employee) –  Swansea22 July 2017
Hewlett Packard bought out EDS to try and get into the software business.
They then proceded to close down the software side and make everyone redundant so lost a very skilled team of software engineers at a large cost.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Job
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Bristol19 July 2017
Full training and support from management, excellent staff benefits and opportunity for advancement. Great career. Chance to travel and study for management roles. Excellent work life balance.
Pros
Security training advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Information Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntingdon5 July 2017
Good Job, no problems
hours were good
department i worked for was great
workplace culture was good
hardest part of the job there wasnt on
all was enjoyable
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fab to work there
Avionics Engineer (Former Employee) –  Raf sealand5 July 2017
Everyone loved working for the MOD.....good benefits good pay and appreciated for what you did to make sure the pilots who flew their aircraft were safe...
Pros
Good pension
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun
Deputy Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol29 June 2017
Everyone for themselves , management let down need to take in to consideration regarding culture they say they have it but they do not classed a bullying if you have a voice.
Pros
none
Cons
life
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instructive
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bristol24 June 2017
Instructive. Some aspects subject to security restrictions. I learned a great deal about IT systems ans MoD procedures. Other aspects my be subject to security considerations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Senior manager (Current Employee) –  Telford22 June 2017
The MoD has a lot going on and is very diverse in its approach. Overall they are a good employer with great flexibility. Sometimes things take a while to get passed due to the chain of command but that's the way the army work
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Beurocratic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Force
Trainer/Assessor (Current Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire20 June 2017
Full on active days
Established self confidence
Time keeping is essential
Maintaining professional standards at all times when under pressure from every direction
Friendship
Pros
Skilled for life
Cons
long hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met some good people
British Army (Former Employee) –  Weeton19 June 2017
A typical day at work in the army would consist of waking up at 5:30am and having a shower and a shave, getting the administration side of things drilled into you. Then after this, we would all march to breakfast as a platoon and get half an hour to finish. At 8:00am, physical trainig was carried out after that we had till dinner time to relax and rest and after dinner we would clean our weapeos.
Pros
free meals
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee) –  Scotland14 June 2017
When you meet the good people you the job is very interesting, the reverse is true. I enjoyed most of my exercises and my time outside UK. It developed my confidence and discipline to face the world positively.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting
Potential Instrutor (Current Employee) –  Birmingham31 May 2017
Excellent way of improving your own confidence and self esteem as well as making friends and working along side a fantastic team. yes you might get a little mudding but who cares when you are having the time of your life.

I especially enjoy watching the young people develop and grow into strong, independent adults and feel so proud i was apart of it.

I have learnt so much from how to read a map to organising camp and activities.
Pros
fun and exciting
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working conditions
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rosyth30 May 2017
A typical day would involve providing admin support for Office Manager and technical grades. Ensuring all filing is kept up to date, Ensuring there is adequate stationery in the 3 offices I covered.
Typing letters, memos and other general admin duties.

I learned the importance of confidentiality due to the nature of the post.

The management consisted of various grades from Admin Assistant up to Chief Executive Officer.

Workplace culture was a relaxed working environment.

The most enjoyable part of the job was job satisfaction by seeing a good job well done.
Pros
Job Satisfaction
Cons
Not reaching the desired payscale due to goal posts being moved
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
LRC Supervisor/Assessor (Former Employee) –  Essex18 May 2017
Loved my job
Great people, family atmosphere. Really look out for one another.
Very supportive. Need to work hard and understand the rules. Training was best had.
Pros
trainng
Cons
moved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ministry of Defence. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 336 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9