Ministry of Defence Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much room for promotion
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Liverpool11 January 2018
Flexible hours and good work life balance with plenty of benefits, but poor wages and no chance of Advancement with job cuts. Overall a good place to work.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Poor wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would reccommend this to anyone.
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Glasgow10 January 2018
From the first day to the last there was never a 'typical day'. That is one of the many reasons that I loved the job, each day was different. even when you thought you knew what the day ahead would bring, something or other cam up and the day would change.
I learned many skills during my time in the MOD, many are not much use in the 'real world' but some are, they include, team work, how to organise at speed, thinking on the hoof with a clear plan, hard work, how to get on with other people from many different backgrounds, first aid, health and safety, physical and mental robustness, how to give to others, administration and clerical skills, and more to boot.
Due to the nature of the job, I came across many different managers of differing abilities, approachability an work ethic at all levels of the organisation. each had one brought something to the table to learn from and have all made me the person that I am today.
In each place that I worked there was an instant connection with pretty much all colleagues that I worked with. Although we all had our good and bad points, we all knew that and worked off each other to get the job done.
Some of the hardest parts of the job was being away from friends, family and home, but that can also be some of the best parts of the job also. I loved travelling the world, being with really great friends/colleagues and experiencing life as many do not get the chance to do.
Pros
The whole experience
Cons
Having to leave
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied and challenging
Housing Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands10 January 2018
Working for the MOD is every changing, i have learnt a great deal from working for MOD in different areas such as HR and Finance. I very much enjoy working with the military and the every changing environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investor in people
Vetting Officer (Current Employee) –  National7 January 2018
Variable job roles within the organisation and opportunity given to employees to advance. Relatively good work life balance, considerate employer with good HR policies and procedures in place.
Pros
Good employer
Cons
Perks have diminished in recent years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Communications Officer (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex5 January 2018
Good place to work they were a excellent place. Good wage. Looked after people community was good around to work for them sad to leave but was made redundant
Pros
Good
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team bonding
Stevedore with plant and crane license (Current Employee) –  Marchwood, Hampshire17 December 2017
Good place to meet people from all different kinds of background and to learn their culture.Build up your confidence and self commitment to your comrades
Pros
Allowance
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Network Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Henlow, Bedfordshire14 December 2017
Good balance of work
Training opportunities
Flexi time
Very good work life balance
opportunities to travel all around the world
Management could be stronger
Pros
Time off
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
3D Modeller (Former Employee) –  Salisbury7 December 2017
Enjoyable but hard work. A good challenge as part of a project at college where I studied Games Development. Great opportunity for work experience....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, dependent on team
Logistics Administrator (Former Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset4 December 2017
Fantastic when your team is run by a good manager who is patient and understanding. Awful when your manager is a dictator-like prison guard. Both exist.
Pros
Fantastic Benefits & Training
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Work Place
Security Officer and Reception (Former Employee) –  London25 November 2017
The work place was very stressful , Long working hours of 12 hour shifts, difficult to plan annual leave. Difficult to have breaks during the working day
Pros
Free Parking
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about Ministry of Defence?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important and responsible position
Executive Officer (Former Employee) –  London14 November 2017
No day was typical. A different challenge was faced every day.
My work involved extended periods away from home, travelling nationally and internationally. Often working under alias with no backing from the UK government, you had to think on your feet.
The work was of vital importance to the UK national security, which obviously bought pressure.
Pros
Expenses
Cons
Never knowing when you would go home.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ex royal engineer
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Stafford12 November 2017
14 years military service plenty guard duty milatorey transport driver specialist re1 abnormal load drive families office caring for families whose husband's were serving abroad offering support in a very professional manner child support and advice
Pros
Local
Cons
Used to long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and learn the job
Police Constable (Current Employee) –  Scotland9 November 2017
good place for policing not like the home office can get really busy especially when there is a joint warrior on dealing with other countries sailors whilst in port
Pros
good working enviroment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly challenging for all the right reasons
Royal Air Force Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  London8 November 2017
No two days were ever the same. Opportunities were plentiful and the rewards far outweighing the hard work and commitment for those who wanted it more
Pros
Travel
Cons
Includes 24 hour shifts at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career opportunities
Training cell (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire7 November 2017
I worked for the MOD for 14 years and thoroughly enjoyed it.
They offer fantastic career opportunities. I met some great people there. Only left due to different job opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good
Warehouse/ Stores Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gosport4 October 2017
Daily checks of machinery fill out log sheets,report anything that maybe wrong.
Pick items from paperwork for various sections around the yard or it
ems which have been requested for outside pickup
Pros
Half day friday
Cons
Working in bad weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and interesting
Medical Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Cornwall4 October 2017
Answering the telephone and making medical appointments and dealing with paperwork for deploying personnel.
Every day was a learning day as policy changes and updates is ongoing.
Respectful workplace culture .
My role is particularly challenging in many areas there is no hardest part that sticks out.
Everyday was different with enquires so the role does not become mundane thus keeping it enjoyable .
Pros
Encouragement to use the free fitness facilities available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues but restrictive cutbacks
Administration Officer (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester25 September 2017
Working paper and electronic work queues.

Many packages learned.

Management is fine but a little restricted due to Government cutbacks.

Workplace culture is average in my experience with many superb colleagues.

Hardest part working with restrictions and staff cutting constantly.

Best part many wonderful colleagues and flexi-time.
Pros
Flexi-time working
Cons
Cutbgacks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and cutting edge with HR policy
Supply Chain Manager (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol21 September 2017
I would recommend working at MOD Abbeywood to anyone. Although the Civil Service at times has a negative persona I have not experienced anything other than a professional and forward leaning company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Information Officer, Corporate Communications (Former Employee) –  London9 September 2017
I enjoyed this role and could see how my efforts contributed to wider policies intended to make the UK a better place. In particular I enjoyed the strategic nature of my position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ministry of Defence. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 357 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9