Ministry of Defence Employee Reviews

Found 262 reviews matching the search See all 392 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workforce and Management
Transition Manager (Current Employee) –  Headley Court23 July 2018
The staff are friendly and very professional and the Management provide excellent support and are approachable to all staff. Line Managers provide the opportunity and freedom to use your own initiative yet are supportive to your needs.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
it is re-locating to the East Midlands
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive well managed workplace
Executive Officer - Budget Manager (Former Employee) –  York18 July 2018
Much more structured and driven than the Ministry of Justice. Professional Management in place and goals and objectives clearly set. Full training given and Line management happy to assist when new items appear.
Pros
Great Atmosphere and a structured day
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civil Service
Civil Servant (Former Employee) –  UK and Europe16 July 2018
20 years of working in numerous bases around the UK and Europe was the best job I have ever had. The variation and ability to change posts meant one was able to try something new and gain experience in a myriad of areas from personnel to engineering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacking Engineering work and low pay, however extremely good work life balance
Technical Through Life Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol12 July 2018
There is little true Engineering work to be undertaken and you have to fight to not be moved away from it. Your trained skills are undervalued and management will seek to make you fit in any unfilled role they have however the work life balance is extremely good. They offer 25 increasing to 30 days holiday as standard and operate a true flexi system allowing employees to take up to 36 extra days a year without management approval. They also allow you to work the hours you need to fit around you life, for example I start very early and am able to pick my daughter up from school whilst maintaining my full time hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Profile
Interim Facility Manager (Former Employee) –  Brecon, Powys29 May 2018
Complete facility management of a prestigious high profile site. Dealing with the client at a very high level. This role required the ability to influence and build productive relationships with a variety of external stakeholders and senior ranking officer and other dignitaries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employment if no commitments
RN POLICE (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire23 May 2018
I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in the RN, however, stability is now non-existent and work\life balance is questionable. If you have no responsibilities or commitments this is a perfect job for you, with promotion prospects.
Pros
Healthcare, dental, holiday allowance, security.
Cons
No stability, poor work/life balance, no union and therefore no say, an expectation to work all hours at no notice, sometimes for months on end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atypical Government Organisation
Senior Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fareham9 May 2018
MOD staff are in the main non specialist roles covering a multitude of different tasks as required. Like most Government organisations relies on the dedication and goodwill of its staff.
Pros
Flexible Working
Cons
Long hours, poor salary, little training opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Career
Civil Servant (Former Employee) –  London, High Wycombe, Salisbury, Germany, Bristol8 May 2018
I had a fantastic career with the MOD, had the opportunity to work in various locations, and in a variety of roles. The work was interesting and rewarding, loved working to support the work of the Armed Forces. I had opportunities that just don't come up in other companies - to attend university and study for a Masters Degree, to work overseas, to travel overseas, to negotiate with other Governments, to attend Parliament, to brief MPs. Some places and roles were better than others inevitably, but in the main the MOD was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you put in, is why you get out.
GNR (Current Employee) –  Scotland5 May 2018
The title speaks for itself, if you work hard and out I the effort, you will find yourself being given more opportunities and chances to advance up the ranks.
Pros
Experience, cheap travel, fun and you will make many friends.
Cons
Pay is a little low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable Workplace
Business Manager, RAF Bicester (Former Employee) –  Bicester27 April 2018
The people are friendly and helpful. The management is clear in its goals and provide training and guidelines to help achieve targets.

With flexible working hours, you cant go wrong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DIO - think twice
Heo (Former Employee) –  Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands16 April 2018
Job differed to what was stated in ad (apparently this is a common occurrence from speaking to other staff) and really poor as I never would have accepted the job. They struggle to get employees in so make job ads attractive - BEWARE!
Training on job ad not provided and limited from training due to over expenditure on budgets
Poor direction and guidance from clueless senior management who are sitting around waiting for retirement and their pensions
Little or no training which was stressful
Progression in my team was based on who management liked vs skills and attributes & limited opportunity for progression
Poor management behaviours and very outdated style of management - not leadership in any sense
Toxic working environment and high levels of micromanagement
Slow paced and boring
The worst CS department I have worked in yo date
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Information Manager (Current Employee) –  Woking16 April 2018
Personable working environment often presented with challenges due to the nature of the work. Good work life balance is presented but can sometimes involve longer working hours
Pros
Flexible Working
Cons
No pay progression in band
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol10 April 2018
OK place to work however the new pay scheme is awful. It should go back to how it was before with the pay grades and better progression opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first real job
General Hand (Former Employee) –  Aldershot26 March 2018
this is thirty years ago and i damned if i can find anything useful to say that is relevant today. i was a general labourer and cleaner doing odds and ends until army cuts made my position unnecessary
Pros
long lunch breaks
Cons
none that i remember
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Andover23 March 2018
I learnt to do general office admin jobs such as filing, computing skills, writing E-mails and taking phone calls.
The team were very good and friendly towards me, making it a much more relaxed atmosphere.
Pros
Got a lift in each day
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a company that looks after you
CSO (Former Employee) –  Fareham, Hampshire14 March 2018
hard work for reasonable pay,good workmates,questionable managemet,and no longer the job for life culture it used to be,but all in all the thirty years i worked them i felt safe and well looked after.
Pros
good pension
Cons
mediocre wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone.
Royal Engineer (Current Employee) –  Catterick12 March 2018
Long periods of time spent away from family. Last minute deployments and jobs. Testing conditions and institutionalised living. Apart from that a good salary, secure job and some great life experience.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Time spent away. Demanding hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely diverse job roles
Army Commando (Former Employee) –  Plymouth6 March 2018
A typical working day would include equipment care and preparation. Typically you would expect to go away 6 months of the year for training or operational duties. I learned many skills such as driving multiple vehicles of different sizes and capabilities. Personal fitness was and still is kept to a high standard.
The hardest part of the job would be time away from home (2 months plus).
The most enjoyable part of the job was working within a small professional organisation with a high entry standard as it inspired high self confidence and great camaraderie.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reprographic Officer
Reprographics Operator (Former Employee) –  Nottinghamshire23 February 2018
I enjoyed working with the people and the equipment within the department. The typical day would consist of Photocopying, Scanning, Printing and Binding, along with fielding telephone calls and emails.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supporting our military personnel
PA to Director Service Liaison (Former Employee) –  Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands12 February 2018
Working behind the scenes to enable the tri-service personnel do their most important job protecting our nation. Opportunities to progress with hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ministry of Defence. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 392 reviews
5170
4132
368
213
19

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture