Miller & Carter Employee Reviews

Found 181 reviews matching the search See all 190 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Waiting Staff (Former Employee) –  Kettering, Northamptonshire4 October 2019
Management team there is abysmal, toxic work environment, constantly expected to become a drone of the company. Job security is high but often times where you aren't given enough hours or manager gives better hours out to their preferred waiters. Very unsociable hours which is part & parcel of the industry and hard to get time off
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Unsociable hours, Poor management, Rude team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ive ever seen
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Epping, Essex3 October 2019
Management are very much focused on money and not a single care is given about the workers. the only thing being meeting the target. the management will lie to you to get it their way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok if you are under 30
Chef (Former Employee) –  Hereford1 October 2019
Left for better job not enough prep done for service.
Always defrosting at last moment.
If you were punctual and loyal you were taken advantage of.
No real advancements so left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff and great work environment
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Langdon Hills, Essex24 September 2019
Working for miller and carter is great as the staff are lovely and always try and cover your shifts for you if needed. The pay is good and the guests give good tips.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make sure you know your position before you apply because half way throught they will tell you that they hired you for a different role and blaim you
Chef (Former Employee) –  Dartford18 September 2019
they will tell you that they hired you for a different role and blaim you when you argue about it to them. Than they will decide to say it's pointless arguing with them or that it is not there fault
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours. Never leave on time. Always down your neck
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work/ bad work colleagues
Kp (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh16 September 2019
I get treated pretty badly although it’s the way I always get treated now so I just put up with it but if you just keep your head down and concentrate on the work it’s a good place to work and also if we do good sales wise you’ll get a free burger mid shift and a free pint and the end of the shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Enderby16 September 2019
The hours aren't great as you could be working all day everyday some weeks then just nights others.
Hours drop then go up and then drop again.
You may be contracted to certain hours but you're not actually guaranteed them.
Always expecting more and more from you no matter how hard you work.
The team are brilliant but when it comes to getting problems sorted they are useless.
Pros
Good team, can have a laugh
Cons
Bad hours, no time for home or private life, bad wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work very Polished
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff14 September 2019
Hard working putting the guest first, enjoy the experience of a great Steak House. Where the culture is polished. Hard working a place were the guest are here for the experience of great quality food.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes13 September 2019
it was fine, guests are guest but it is part of a huge company so sometimes you get forgotten about.

food is nice and it is quite busy all the time which was good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Management, bad contract
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire2 September 2019
The management at the restaurant were always friendly however the contracted people I was employed under were an absolute joke. Salary given for the hours worked was pretty decent though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team and management
WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  Aughton20 August 2019
Great atmosphere and team to work with, opening a brand new site was perfect to get to know everyone.

Miller and Carter was a great company to work for, training was intense but organised and well planned to help use understand everything we needed to successfully serve guests with a high quality service.
Pros
team meals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoying working for a well known name.
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Liverpool16 August 2019
fantastic people to work with, great food, hard work but enjoyable, always make sure everywhere sparkles and that you can see your face in the brass handles
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Engaging
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Cheshire Oaks15 August 2019
My time working at Miller & Carter allowed me to learn they have good management and a good job culture. Good working hours and friendly staff, also learn lots of skills encompassing cocktail production and the restaurant business
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow.
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Telford and Wrekin, Shropshire15 August 2019
Poor wages and tips,
Staff were mostly horrible and the management had blatent favourites. The managers would join in with other staff while gossiping and also talk to them about other peoples situations to do with work which is a massive breach in trust.
Uniform is ridiculous and so hot, but yet managers can wear almost whatever they want.
Made £10tips within 4 weeks, job advertised as full time but never got more than 25 hours a week,(tips for barstaff shared depening on hours worked over 4 weeks but yet staff who had worked less made more due to being the favourites)
The bar was filthy and staff didnt care about cleaning or loss of stock due to being out of date in the bottle fridges.
I can safely say this has been the worst company i have ever worked for.
I would never leave at my allocated time to finish, and when on a close would never get paid untill the time i actually left.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
All of the above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont bother
Supervisor/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Sherwood forest11 August 2019
No sociable work hours, never get to leave at time scheduled, management are useless and don't do anything, made to wear ridiculous uniform in all weather's, have to hand out most of your tips at the end of the night and if you havnt got it you have to give it out your own pocket! No progression opportunities and way too much expected of you for the wage and gratitude receive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I have ever had
Team Coach (Former Employee) –  Grantham, Lincolnshire5 August 2019
They don’t pay you, the skim hours team hours from the team to come under budget, wether you worked it or not, every pay day 6/7 team members all calling in to complain about pay. The Gm and Dm are lying about what they work as well, barely a 20 hour week out of them, yet being paid 48.
Vile, spiteful DM who uses loud aggressive chefs to back her up when she is challenged. It was the worst 3 months of my life. Oh a
Pros
None
Cons
Every single second
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all that
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire3 August 2019
trash job. managers had favourites and will punish you for being ill when you can’t help it. favourites always had sections and were able to make money least favourites never had any shifts. constantly gave dirty looks to members of staff.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely HATED it
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Northampton31 July 2019
I lasted a week. Managers were rude and demanding. I was expected to know everything as soon as I walked in. Everything I did was critisied. They expected maximum effort while paying minimum wage. If I was on a 5 - finish I never got a break. DO NOT WORK THERE.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everythinng
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Chef for a year
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London30 July 2019
It's a kitchen, not easy as everywhere. Whether you will like it or not depends on the team you will get. Produce quality is really good for a chain restaurant.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soulless corporate nightmare
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Kidlington24 July 2019
Despicable treatment of employees by everyone from general management upwards. Expected to give your life to a company that treats you as sub-human, pays minimum wage and profoundly exploits young people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Miller & Carter. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 190 reviews
552
444
347
217
130

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture