Metropolitan Police Employee Reviews for Police Officer

Found 209 reviews matching the search See all 577 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and rewarding job
Detective Constable (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London7 December 2019
The organisation has undergone a lot of changes and management structure The people are great the management lack in understanding and in many cases exactly what the job and what they are asking of staff requires and have no empathy for its staff this is mainly due to forced financial cut back anyone looking to join can make the most of the opportunity with the right attitude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employer
Police officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London4 December 2019
They work you to the bone, and you have to watch you’re back on the streets as well as in the station, they have very poor mental health help and don’t care about you as a person. Wouldn’t not recommend as a career, you would be best working in the private sector
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Police Constable (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 December 2019
Enjoyed every minute it was fast paced and full of excitement ! Rewired commitment and team work of the highest standard by ordinary people becoming extra ordinary people ! Very stressful and taxing at times but well worth the hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother!!!
Constable (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London2 December 2019
No work/life balance. Management ignore all Occupational Health advice. Individuals get punished for having time off with serious illness, IE Cancer, Mental Health.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Culture
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  North London, Greater London29 November 2019
If you want to be bullied, discriminated, for race gender age, then this is the job for you.
If your face doesn't fit than you will have a hard time, apecially if you are older, more your complain mush harder it will get, playground attitude of colleagues also takes it toll on officers. ALL OF THE ABOVE WITHING INSIDE THE JOTHE JOB
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it used to be
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London20 November 2019
If you want to be treated as a number and not a person then this is the job for you. Management have eroded nearly all sense of team spirit from the officers on the street. If you're selfish and will do anything to progress your career then this is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great times
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  London18 November 2019
Loved working there. Every day was a challenge. Saw the best and worst of life. Great people and public. Why did I transfer?
I hark back to the good old days. Now i imagine every day is a recurring nightmare. Think seriously is this the role for you. Poor pay, politics and little support. Now even a poor pension.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  London15 November 2019
There are lots of better jobs that you can do than being police officer. I worked for them for 28 years. Never experienced racism until I became a police officer and it wasn't from the public. Bullying is rife too and unless your face fits you'll have a really hard time. On top of that the SLT are horrible and only interested in their own careers in getting their next rank. They will feed you to the wolves to get this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Uniformed Police Community Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London21 October 2019
Interesting work, fast passed, a lot of pressure yet enjoyable at times
Not easy if you are a single parent
Shifts are tiring
Working nights is hard
But overall is a great opportunity to work for the Met
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Who can you trust? No one.
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London26 September 2019
Working for the Metropolitan Police Service was one of the worst experiences of my life especially having dedicated 15 years to them, the last 4 years in particular were the worst.

An organisation that is keen to promote equality and diversity as well upholding a strong sense of honesty and integrity is nothing but deceitful and discriminatory. You are better off trusting the "criminals" you deal with rather than your colleagues or managers who are only willing to support you if there is a benefit for them, outside of that you are on your own hung out to dry by an organisation that tries to sell an image that is rapidly crumbling from within. Figures speak for themselves when you look at staff turn over vs those that used to see it as a long term career.

There used to be prestige and respect in being a police officer and you had to work for it, now it's harder to get a job in a supermarket than it is to get into the Met who now take on anyone and call it "Diversity".

The staff they have are incompetent unlike the old guard who are slowly fading away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  London10 September 2019
The Metropolitan Police Service is a great organisation to be apart of and I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the Met. However, I recently relocated in Yorkshire and subsequently transferred to another police force.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met police officer.
Police Constable (Current Employee) –  London30 August 2019
Being a police officer is a vocational job. If it's for you, then you will exceed goals and get job satisfaction. Helping vulnerable people, get the fairness and protection they deserve. Stopping or interrupting organised crime and gathering the evidence that will result in achieving justice. The other side of the coin includes a possible change or reaction from friends or family, shift work and public attacks both verbally and physically.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work for
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Hammersmith26 August 2019
excellent teamwork and good management who are more than happy to help and support you always a good workload guaranteed breaks and always leave on time excellent opportunities to progress and self develop
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vocational work with great job satisfaction.
Police constable (Former Employee) –  Bethnal Green, Greater London7 August 2019
I served as a Police officer within the Metropolitan police service for 5years. I loved a lot of my time there though nothing is perfect. The pay is not great but that depends on your personal situation. For younger people with less life responsibility its diffenately a fair salary. It is shift work and if there is an incident that requires your attendance, its your duty to help. Therefore planning events on the same day as early shifts remains a risk. You are face to face with members of the public who have a very varied experience and idea of what you do. Though in my opinion 70_80% of the time you are respected for the difficulties you face daily. I is hard but rewarding work and it is a disciplined service. In my opinion it's vocational, if your the right type of person it's great if not you may struggle at times.
Pros
Job satisfaction
Cons
Negative attitudes towards the organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good life experience
Police Constable (Former Employee) –  East London, Greater London24 June 2019
I gained some excellent training and ability to develop within the organisation. I was supervised by some excellent sergeants and worked with some extremely professional colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once great has fallen
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London25 May 2019
A once great organisation has sadly now become entrenched in budget cutting to the detriment of the staff and the public. Morale is at its lowest owing to poor management throughout.
With re-investment and a change of management style, it could become the service the public and its staff deserve.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed most of my 30 yrs
Police Constable (Former Employee) –  London22 May 2019
Joined in 1991 when it was a job for life and it was fun and very enjoyable. Now since the PC culture has crept in and its more for jess I would not recommend it to anyone. Terrible hours and hard life balance. Days off cancelled without much notice and promotion very much if your face fits etc. There are better jobs ou there for better money and prospects. I am so glad I retired when I did. Avoid at all costs.
Pros
Colleagued
Cons
Shift work. Volume of work. Political correctness
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retired Police Officer
Police Constable (Former Employee) –  London11 May 2019
Looking back I really enjoyed my time within the Service, there were ups and downs but the positives was life experiences you can take forward to a future employer.
Pros
Working as a team
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not if you have a family
Constable (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London6 May 2019
If they wanted you to have a home life you would have been issued one.
Some great opportunities, but you will have to fight to get their as management see you as a number to fill a space.
expect short notice shift adjustments to deal with what ever the politicians have fixated on recently
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Police Constable (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London20 April 2019
a typical day at work would involve being on patrol taking calls and dealing with situations happening in front of you

most enjoyable part of the job is helping people in need
Pros
exciting job
Cons
very long hours and huge amounts of paper work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metropolitan Police. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 577 reviews
5207
4188
3120
228
134

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Metropolitan Police Reviews by Location