Medway Council Employee Reviews

Found 50 reviews matching the search See all 52 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer focussed
Customer Contact Centre Manager (Former Employee) –  Chatham, Kent1 July 2018
Great team working. Good working environment. Low pay. Flexible working arrangements. Strong management support. Customer focussed. Good location within easy reach of local shops.
Pros
Fexible workig
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team to work with
RSW (Current Employee) –  Rochester19 May 2018
I have thoroughly enjoyed working in my current role, the only reason I am looking for another position is due to there not at present being any career advancement prospects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality of work
Children Social Work: Shadow (Former Employee) –  Chatham23 February 2018
My typical day at work was shadowing the social workers. I learned a great deal about how the system work at the Looked aAfter Children Department. The management was efficient but working on a hot desk environment, you get busy all the time and skipping meals is common. The hardest part of the job is lack of induction for the agency's workers as well as not having enough time to build up relations with the team. The most enjoyable was learning how to deal with stress and in the end see the results of your work done.
Pros
job satisfaction
Cons
lack of induction
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Medway, Kent3 January 2018
Good local authority to work for, the benefits for staff are very good. They let us down when they sold us out. Wages were very good, will work with staff
Pros
Good pension
Cons
They sold us out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and energetic atmosphere.
Digital Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Chatham28 December 2017
Medway Council are good to work for although they do sometimes make rash decisions. Other than that, it is somewhere that is enjoyable, people are great to work with and does have excellent opportunities to progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied
Behaviour Support Unit Manager (Former Employee) –  Gillingham6 December 2017
Enjoyed working with a varied group of professionals.
Gained a vast amount of experience working in various departments in throughout the school.
Budget constraints were a drawback.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A tough but enjoyable environment
Head of Category Management (Current Employee) –  Chatham26 November 2017
Like most public sector bodies, the organisation is trying to deliver services with an ever decreasing budget. A lot of great people who are dedicated to delivering great services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Rochester3 September 2017
Met great friends here. Management changed - lots of staff left.
Hardest part: paperwork, short notice for observations, book scrutinys, learning walks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large organisation
Projects & Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  Strood, Kent17 July 2017
Good work/life balance
With diminishing staff, jobs are not continued when staff go on annual leave
Good social arrangements
I love my job. I have learnt a lot where it is very interesting - no two days are the same
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Senior Admin Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Chatham, Kent12 July 2017
Company ok to work for but depends on the people you work with

It is a very busy council to work for, challenging at time. The area that I work within sees that transformation of a Childs life not always for the better.
Pros
None
Cons
Not flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working
Count Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rochester, Kent30 June 2017
its a good place to work, you meet lots of people and learn new skills. the hard part is the hours but as a team the hours fly by. you have to be good at counting and have self motivation.
Pros
you learn new skills
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working environment
Housing Officer (Former Employee) –  Chatham, Kent22 April 2017
Enjoyed everyday of my working time at Medway, will go back in a beat if the opportunity arises. Very good working environment and supportive management team.
Pros
flexible working hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ive ever worked
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  gun wharf17 January 2017
Job desc is not the job i was given
pay is far lower than advertised - the pay scales are incorrect
the pay is on the low end - you never get to the high end
no progression
co wokers all miserable
had to leave as made me depressed
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Crossing Patrol
School Crossing Patrol (Current Employee) –  Chatham21 December 2016
A typical day at work for me is standing outside a primary school mornings and afternoons to help people cross the road safely. In my opinion this is good as it gives me time to do other things during the day as well. The hardest part of the job for me is to stay warm when its cold. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting new people and saying good morning and good afternoon to everyone who walks past or crosses the road everyday.
Pros
Not working long hours
Cons
Being cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training available, leave entitlement good
Community Development Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Chatham31 October 2016
Varied and challenging, good and supportive colleagues.
Some out of hours working but not very often.
It can be very rewarding seeing the difference our services make to local families.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working conditions
Housing Officer (Former Employee) –  Chatham31 October 2016
Good team work and helpful colleagues to assist in great working relationships leading to a quality service provision. The job was made worthwhile with satisfied management and customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting workplace
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  gillingham kent17 October 2016
my typical day at work is serving customers helping them with any enquiries making them feel welcome in the café. I learned how the café operated and all of the importance of the kitchens well being. I found the management was good if I needed any help or had any questions they would be able to help me in every situation. I got along with my co workers I would cover shifts for them and would help and give them advice if they needed it. I think the hardest part of the job would be on the weekends when there would be events and it would be pretty busy on the day and the hours would be long. the most enjoyable part of the job would be getting along with the other co workers i.e. if there was a busy event day we would be able to cope under the pressure serve all the customers and have good days working well in a team.
Cons
busy weekend days and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team, frequent chnage of manager leads to inconsistency
Family Support Worker (Current Employee) –  medwat2 August 2016
no payrises, im still on the same hourly rate from 6 years ago
inconsistency in management
lack of supervision although is now being reviewed
Pros
flexibility
Cons
no pay rises
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a student
Recreation Assistant/Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Hundred of Hoo Leisure Centre8 July 2016
The flexible work hours - being on a zero hour contract - was very beneficial to balancing my work life and social life. The management were always helpful, and the staff were easy to get along with.

However, management from the top was incredibly poor. Cuts to casual hours and changes to how the leisure centre was run made working quite difficult at times.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Constant changes in the workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring, repetative and low wages
Customer Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chatham18 June 2016
I work in customer servives and haven't enjoyed any of it. The money is poor, the management is awful and it's the same thing everyday. I can't wait to move on.
Pros
Monday-Friday, Holidays
Cons
Boring, Repetative, Poor Management, Short Staffed. (This list can go on and on)
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Medway Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 52 reviews
513
421
313
23
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Medway Council Reviews by Location