Mecca Bingo Employee Reviews

Found 225 reviews matching the search See all 226 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Hull Clough road30 January 2019
I would like to be given the chance to work at Mecca bingo it's a fun club and the place to be for a fun night out.ive always wanted to work for Mecca but I've never bothered before I've always been a customer at Mecca so I know the staff are the best friendly and polite .I therefore have decided to take the bull by the horns and apply for a position at Mecca .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work there
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  WOOD GREEN N2228 January 2019
I like working there but you hard to work weekend a lot and have to work all day buit the job was good and pay wes ok and I wold go back there if there ask me if I did not have to work every weekend
Pros
Good job
Cons
Job long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Customer Service Supervisor/Trainee Manager (Former Employee) –  Swindon13 January 2019
Every company has pro's and con's
Great people to work with.
Variety of skills to learn and progress on to other departments.

Fun enviroment, good progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier Southport
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Southport5 January 2019
Stay well clear management bullies especially the asst manager. No life no appreciation at all. Staff are all in cliche so stay away if you don't want to be bullied. A disgrace of a company
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment
TEAM MEMBER (Current Employee) –  Paisley, Renfrewshire19 December 2018
Fun and interactive with customers
Lots of skills learned
good relationship with customers
long hours, split shifts
only christmas day off
work from 10am to 11pm with 2 hour break but not enough time to go home and come back
Pros
fun
Cons
split shift long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca bingo
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow12 December 2018
If you enjoy working with the public it’s a very rewarding job. You meet loads of different people from all different backgrounds. It can be very long hours
Pros
Half price dinner
Cons
Shift pattern are long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Trainee General Manager (Current Employee) –  Hartlepool, UK9 December 2018
I have fully enjoyed my time with Mecca. I've worked up from Team Member to Management with great support.

Customers are at the heart of the business. It really is like a big family in-club. Customers and Team alike.
Pros
Community.
Cons
Split shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok workplace
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dagenham, UK5 December 2018
Is a nice place to work sometimes you get taken advantage of, but lovely staff lovely customers, decent management, really good training on all departments which is a bonus, poor pay
Pros
Excellent training
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for experience
Admin Duties (Former Employee) –  Wood Green, Greater London27 November 2018
Dark lighting constantly, gambling atmosphere, slow response to customers but staff have low responsibility which makes you seem helpless but its a good help to get you out of a situation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sadly not very good place to work
A Mecca nobody (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield.31 October 2018
The job is made difficult by the lack of staff on all but a couple of shifts. When there is sufficient staff the lack of training is shockingly evident, staff stuck anywhere regardless whether they have the skills or not. Team leaders are frequently absent from their own departments, mainly because they have been selected to go elsewhere (proper genius this). You only know which department you will be on when you turn up for work, which would be ok, however there are multiple start times for shifts, so when you turn up for the evening shift it could be anytime between 5pm-6pm (really not making it up). There is no indication that things will get better soon. If you are looking to come to work at the Chesterfield branch the general staff are quite nice but no-one else seems to care.
Pros
After 15mins of thinking..... None
Cons
Too depressing to list them all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty much a dead end
Bingo Caller (Current Employee) –  Glasgow29 October 2018
Split shifts. Could work for 12 hours and only get paid for 10. Only way to advance is if someone leaves. Many different departments so it didn't have to be the same thing every day.
Pros
Half price food
Cons
Split shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaner/team member 2016-2018
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester20 October 2018
I wouldn't advise working for mecca bingo unless you want to be over worked as it's always short staffed and not appreciate 1 bit. I worked hard cleaning. Always said yes to overtime working on the floor in the afternoons (checking claims) and not once did I get a thanks for it, I gave blood, sweat and tears into this job even though it was the worst job ever, because I wanted to be recognised and for what? Always felt like I was doing the job on my own because alot of them are useless. Thankfully I left in August this year. Management are a disgrace and just throw you on anything and expect you to do jobs you have never done before. Get put on the Rota sometimes when it's going to be busy without even being advised. No progression at all as management never have time to train staff up on other departments. Absolute joke of a company and not surprised everyone is starting to leave.
Pros
Free dinner
Cons
Nothing at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal first job
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Dundee18 October 2018
In this, I became exceptional in taking the leadership role and have also trained new staff on
Cooking and Bar when required.
It has also allowed me to develop my communication skills
and teamwork ability.
It has also allowed me to take on challenges with responsibility such as refusing alcohol.
It has also improved my ability to become more adaptable to the various situations which
may present itself.
As I also relocated I had to adapt to a different environment this allowed me to use the skills from my previous occupation and adapt them to the
different setting.
This also allowed me to improve my customer service as by being on Front of House I must
greet all the customers as they come into the premises.
Team Member within the Gambling industry with experience from 2015. Specialty areas include.
Bar, Book sales, Cooking, and Cash line.
In all of these roles, it was important to keep calm under stress and handle customer complaints in
a polite and effective manner.
It was also important to work effectively in teams and in this communication across departments.
To summarise the responsibilities of these roles which included; money handling, food handling
and food hygiene, serving alcohol and having full knowledge of the legal requirements of
gambling regulations and responsible consumption of alcohol.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly working enviroment
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen12 October 2018
A fun job that involved lots of socialising and getting customers to have an enjoyable visit. The job wasn't particulary demanding but very diverse. good promotion prospects
Pros
Friendly work enviroment
Cons
Some unsocialable working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Bingo Caller (Former Employee) –  London8 October 2018
I thoughorly enjoyed my time in the bingo industry working for over 30 yrs in this field & learnt an awful lot about customer service & also meeting people from all walks of life.
Working with good managers & supervisors was also a big plus
Pros
Good tips
Cons
Long hours occasionally
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca Drumchapel
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen5 October 2018
I enjoyed the work it was very active and most shifts flew in because you were kept so busy. The customers were lovely and the job was very active which to me is always a good thing. You always got your correct breaks which is rare these days however if your face doesn't fit with the staff you soon know about it. Most of the people who work there have been there for years and the ones who haven't are most likely to be related to someone who has. I personally felt that I was being judged on my personality not my work. The kitchen staff are by far the worst people I`ve ever worked with I used to dread going to work on a Sunday night as I was always on with the same group of people who made my shift very difficult. One night one of the kitchen staff told me I needed to speed up she was about ten years younger than me and I found this so disrespectful as I did triple the amount of work she did. I ended up complaining to the manager about her as she was speaking down to me because I was new and she thought I would take it.. This particular member of staff was related to management so of course the general manager wasn't interested in my side. We both got called up to the office and he took this opportunity to speak down to me and belittle me. He said that he employed me because he thought I was outgoing and made it clear he regretted his decision to take me on. I was ganged up on and bullied and shown no support whatsoever. I was new so my side of things wasn't considered. He made it clear he didn't like my personality and that I was a disappointment to him when all I had done  more... was my job much better than most of the staff in my opinion. I also got roped into training to work in the kitchen which was not what I applied for. The kitchen staff are the worst they are a clique and I`ve never been made to feel so unwelcome in any work place as I did in Mecca. If you are going to work here be prepared to be judged harshly if they don't like you they will make it crystal clear.  less
Pros
always get your break, nice customers keeps you fit with all the running around.
Cons
favouritism/ judgmental and horrible staff/ elemants of bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees, Durham26 September 2018
Staff are very much in a clique and if your new it’s extremely hard to fit in, management are disgraceful and do not care about staff and their welfare. Team members are great and welcoming but the team leaders are vile. No consideration for people who have children or college, expect far to much from staff when they are understaffed and not willing to recruit
Pros
Customers are lovely
Cons
Poor management, poor team leaders, same job different day
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working from home for online bingo
Chat Moderator (Current Employee) –  homebased16 August 2018
must be self motivated and practical, use work forum to keep up with daily promotions and work relevant news.

be able to work on a shift system as company operates 24 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK sometimes but very bad management and lack of staff.
Senior Team Member (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield7 August 2018
Worked here for quite a few years now and all in all hasnt been to bad but its declining quite rapidly.
The job roles are easy enough but i wouldnt like to be new starter now as is hard for them to get the proper training due to low staff and not enough staff that are clued up enough to even train.
Its always been a case of if your face fits regarding progression.
Its split shifts so not the most sociable job if wanting to do full time.
Its also flexi hours so can change your shift pattern with just a weeks notice.
I have enjoyed working with most colleagues over the years and connect well with a lot of customers so its not all bad but a lot of flaws and expect it to go from quiet shifts with plenty staff to busy shifts with less staff.
Pros
50% off food, Free bingo session a month.
Cons
Double Standards, Split shifts, low staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Senior Team Member / Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Ashford6 August 2018
There wasn't really a typical day at Mecca. I would meet and greet my customers by name ( you get to know the regulars ), see how their day has been and what they need from you. Serve them their books or make them comfortable with drinks at the amusements. I learnt self confidence and how to communicate better with others from my time at Mecca. How to be part of a team and how to make my customers' needs my priority. The hardest part of my job was dealing with complaints, some of them were not pleasant. The best part of my job, was my job. Everything from seeing my team mates to my regulars to wowing new customers to fund raising to the exhilaration of a Duty managing shift ( I did Friday nights ) going well. The structure of the Management system was very well placed and I am looking forward to being a part of a team again.
Pros
Free lunch on shifts lasting more than 6 hours with out a break.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mecca Bingo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 226 reviews
564
468
355
212
127

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture