MEARS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, lots to do
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire11 February 2018
I enjoyed my experience here as there was a lot to do to keep me on my feet and it helped that I was with my dad and uncle who also work there. I’m going to be working here in the future
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Far away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite place
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Welwyn Garden, Hertfordshire5 February 2018
I have learned a lot here. Met some lovely people and long lasting relationships. I was doing night shift so the environment was different and much quiter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A shambles
Multi Trader (Former Employee) –  Taunton3 February 2018
After being employed for a specific role I was then launched into a completely different style role that was appallingly managed. left due to being a number not a valued team member
Pros
none
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rather not say
Senior Finance Administrator (Current Employee) –  Eastleigh9 January 2018
rather not say - I got made redundant and would rather not say anything about me experiences with Mears - I have always been advised if you can't say anything nice - don't say anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp job
Painter and Decorator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands8 January 2018
this was a temp job but i was working on coucil voids which i loved doing i was paid good rates and given a reasonable time to get the job finished all work blokes was polite
Pros
early finishes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melksham, Wiltshire2 January 2018
Not a great deal off work for willing staff. Expected to be on call without being paid. Expected to put your person life on hold. Not great communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Senior Planning manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester30 December 2017
enjoyed going to work I was a senior planner and looked after engineers workloads , kpis and sla's to make sure all jobs were completed on time and review the work loads
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues to work with
Line Manager/Coordinator (Current Employee) –  London30 November 2017
I have enjoyed my time at MEARS. The people I work with are fun and inspiring. Unfortunately trhere have been far too many job losses at the company and one's position is unstable
Pros
Can make people happy
Cons
Terrible hours with no benefits to working late
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Hersden14 November 2017
Mears is a Customer focused, enjoyable working environment. Employees work well together in a team and individually always achieving the best results possible.
Pros
The people I work with
Cons
Distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, Greater London7 November 2017
Horrific place to work.
Micro managing, unsupportive manager and low standard properties...
Nasty bullying manager... great colleagues shame manager isn't up to scratch.
Pros
I don't have to work there anymore or surpress the need to smash my face against walls...
Cons
Manager lacking insight or proper people skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Care Assistant for the Elderly (Current Employee) –  Chaddesden, Derbyshire18 September 2017
Mears is a nice place to work the only problem I am having is it is not set hours and pay as I am a community care worker and only get paid for the calls I do and I am now ready for the next level up and would love to work in a care home
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Don't get paid for travel time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good site
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Dundee31 August 2017
was a good place to work, good people, easy to get on with your work the management team were helpful so were all other trade employers. toilets an welfare facilities were an easy access an also suitable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire15 August 2017
Mears is a good working environment. Learnt how to care for people with different needs and met people's requirements the hardest part.of.the job was.palliative care
Pros
Meeting and caring for new people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work place
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gosport, Hampshire2 August 2017
Enjoyed the experience but the hours where to much and always asked to work on days off never had time to ourselves, some management where lovely others where rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none productive and bully mentality
Gas Engineer (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester27 June 2017
Horrible firm to work for I have been threatened by managers on numerous occasions. We are paid the lowest in the hole of the UK . Have to do 24 hour call out as well as coming in to do day shift at 8 am
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caring
Carer (Former Employee) –  North Tyneside, Tyne and Wear21 June 2017
This company is reasonable to work for but unfortunately the zero hours contracts are unpredictable at best. The best part of the job is service users satisfaction.
Cons
unpredictable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester20 June 2017
The bosses wont think twice about throwing u under the bus and when they help you they talk so rude and they talk to u like your a child i wouldnt work for mears in the customer service side of things
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely clients
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire7 June 2017
I really loved working for Mears, i was given a lot of opportunities to excel my skills. I started working for mears in Lincoln whilst at university and they kindly moved me to Barnsley over the summer. all staff were welcoming in both areas and were always there when i needed help. All clients were nice and understanding. the only downside is management was slightly unorganised.
Pros
24 hour assistance
Cons
slightly unorganised management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Administrator (Former Employee) –  West Bromwich2 June 2017
Working hours were great. Salary was good and management pushed and made room for improvement to work up the ladder. Enjoyed communicating with members of the public.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Traffic / travel time from workplace to home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive busy fun
Helpdesk Administrator (Former Employee) –  Livingston North1 June 2017
Very busy thriving work place where everyone is treated like a member of the Mears family. Amazing people to work with unfortunately my fixed contract came to an end. I will miss the work our clients and colleagues
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Heavy workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MEARS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 133 reviews
537
433
342
210
111

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture