MEARS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive structure
Soft FM Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Livingston2 May 2018
strong support structure with helpful colleagues all around. Never a dull moment and a great company to work for. Such a massive name in all their sectors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to earn money lots of work on.
plumber (Former Employee) –  England6 April 2018
started off brilliant ! i remember my first day very well.
however as time went by... people came people went . the work force had completely change within 12months of being there & the work quality of other new tradesmen went downhill. i was finding myself repairing other peoples work and call outs more and more as time went by.
on a whole i had some good times and meet some good people; for me the best was gaining my experience and knowledge in a real life day to day work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Apprentice Joiner (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire20 March 2018
I miss working with Mears it was a real family based company that I often wish I was still at, I would hope to join back in the future. i learned plenty of skills that i use everyday.
Pros
good work collegues
Cons
dusty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Project manager (Former Employee) –  LONDON1 March 2018
Accountable for managing the delivery of critical projects, and for providing managerial
support for all the projects conducted by the company also responsible for providing monthly
financial and technical updates of any known issues/risks to Senior Manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fairly safe job but falls below the mark with salary.
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Canterbury26 February 2018
Carrying out reactive maintenance on a day to day basis. The salary is below the mark in comparison to other similar companies. Offered very little training in terms of advancement but are kept up to date with the electrical regs. Will be expected to be on a 24/7 call out rotor.
Pros
van and phone issued.
Cons
No guarantee of number of call outs and no retainer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, lots to do
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire11 February 2018
I enjoyed my experience here as there was a lot to do to keep me on my feet and it helped that I was with my dad and uncle who also work there. I’m going to be working here in the future
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Far away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite place
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Welwyn Garden, Hertfordshire5 February 2018
I have learned a lot here. Met some lovely people and long lasting relationships. I was doing night shift so the environment was different and much quiter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A shambles
Multi Trader (Former Employee) –  Taunton3 February 2018
After being employed for a specific role I was then launched into a completely different style role that was appallingly managed. left due to being a number not a valued team member
Pros
none
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rather not say
Senior Finance Administrator (Current Employee) –  Eastleigh9 January 2018
rather not say - I got made redundant and would rather not say anything about me experiences with Mears - I have always been advised if you can't say anything nice - don't say anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp job
Painter and Decorator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands8 January 2018
this was a temp job but i was working on coucil voids which i loved doing i was paid good rates and given a reasonable time to get the job finished all work blokes was polite
Pros
early finishes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care work
Care worker (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon4 January 2018
long hours, not all paid for, travel distance and time between calls sometimes unrealistic, big unpaid gaps between calls, lack of staff training and chances to gain nvqs, salary not very good, not much fuel allowance .other than that the job is good, going into peoples home and having a good feeling you have gone into someones home and helped them with daily things they can not do alone anymore, and making them smile is a major bonus
Pros
making a difference is someones life
Cons
long hours, poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melksham, Wiltshire2 January 2018
Not a great deal off work for willing staff. Expected to be on call without being paid. Expected to put your person life on hold. Not great communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Senior Planning manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester30 December 2017
enjoyed going to work I was a senior planner and looked after engineers workloads , kpis and sla's to make sure all jobs were completed on time and review the work loads
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues to work with
Line Manager/Coordinator (Current Employee) –  London30 November 2017
I have enjoyed my time at MEARS. The people I work with are fun and inspiring. Unfortunately trhere have been far too many job losses at the company and one's position is unstable
Pros
Can make people happy
Cons
Terrible hours with no benefits to working late
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Hersden14 November 2017
Mears is a Customer focused, enjoyable working environment. Employees work well together in a team and individually always achieving the best results possible.
Pros
The people I work with
Cons
Distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, Greater London7 November 2017
Horrific place to work.
Micro managing, unsupportive manager and low standard properties...
Nasty bullying manager... great colleagues shame manager isn't up to scratch.
Pros
I don't have to work there anymore or surpress the need to smash my face against walls...
Cons
Manager lacking insight or proper people skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Care Assistant for the Elderly (Current Employee) –  Chaddesden, Derbyshire18 September 2017
Mears is a nice place to work the only problem I am having is it is not set hours and pay as I am a community care worker and only get paid for the calls I do and I am now ready for the next level up and would love to work in a care home
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Don't get paid for travel time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good site
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Dundee31 August 2017
was a good place to work, good people, easy to get on with your work the management team were helpful so were all other trade employers. toilets an welfare facilities were an easy access an also suitable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire15 August 2017
Mears is a good working environment. Learnt how to care for people with different needs and met people's requirements the hardest part.of.the job was.palliative care
Pros
Meeting and caring for new people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work place
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gosport, Hampshire2 August 2017
Enjoyed the experience but the hours where to much and always asked to work on days off never had time to ourselves, some management where lovely others where rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MEARS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 140 reviews
540
434
345
210
111

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture