McDonald's Employee Reviews for Shift Manager

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eventful workplace.
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham14 August 2018
customer service, cashier, serve food in a timely manner as well as food safety.
manage and run the sore as smooth as possible. clean and sanitised as directed.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
low pay, high pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly environment
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London13 August 2018
Food Preparation and cooking the wide variety of food we offer involves using a broad range of equipment and tools. I needed to produce orders to a consistently high standard and understand that quality control is vital.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, challenging and rewarding
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  London12 August 2018
Fast Paced, challenging and rewarding. Customer experience is at the heart of everything that the company does with excellent thorough training to ensure this happens. Career progression is good.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Was non-contracted hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life At McDonald's
Shift manager (Current Employee) –  Bristol6 August 2018
A typical working day would be to set shift up with floor plans and targets, on how many seconds you would want a crew member to do a specific task i.e. serve a customer or perform a task. also to count petty cash for tills, and also to follow a DPSC (Daily Product Safety Checklist) to make sure food was in date and was safe to serve to customers.

Workplace culture was good had a mix of people from different countries and believes.
The hardest part of the job was sometimes staff shortages, if one person called sick or didn't turn up you may have to change the whole floor plan. The most enjoyable part was meeting different people from different countries and believes that go on well with each other
Pros
You get to eat food through a break allowance system
Cons
Long hours and Sometimes staff shortages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Llanbadarn-fawr3 August 2018
A great place to work wherein I made lifelong friends, day in day out the job does get a tad repetitive but the people are what make the days go by easier.
Pros
Free break food, was very secure in my job progression
Cons
Workplace environment working with part time students is sometimes tense
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and Fun
Advanced Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Swansea2 August 2018
Working at McDonalds is as much fun as you make it. There is no doubt that it is a very busy company and each day is different to the next. But i believe you get out what you put in, you make a lot of friends for life which makes working there enjoyable, its like one big family. Just like any business it has its hard days when it comes to angry customers or staff that let you down, but you realise that some people literally just see you as servers and not real people. You will get talked to badly by customers and then will annoy you, but the gratitude of others out weigh it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
London Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  London26 July 2018
It was good working experience as I got to learn different culture as i was working with diverse crowd there. Training was amazing and so as the support from co workers.
Pros
free food
Cons
less pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London23 July 2018
Fun work environment
Management can be a bit hard to talk to and not compassionate about your situations
'Flexible' working hours - when they need you not when u need them.
Hardest part of the job was working in the kitchen with no air-conditioning only extractor fans
Best part of the job was the people your working with
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Horrible work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Gloucester23 July 2018
very good working life love the people could be doing a number of stations during the day and night the benefits are great and easy to use and get hold off.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  West Midlands21 July 2018
I joined when i was at college at 16 as a shy child who wanted some extra pocket money. Since then I have been lucky to work with some amazing people i will keep in contact with my entire life. There has been times which have been hard but the times where the place was a great place to work exceeds that.
I would recommended anybody looking for something new to try McDonalds. Every manager at my store joined as part time, but they all loved the place that much they stayed and went further and further in the company.
Pros
Many places to progress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worst place
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire17 July 2018
Far too much pressure put on you for making burgers. Not worth the stress at all. Particularly as a shift manager. Constant visits, far too tight constraints on labour budgets.
Pros
Free food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make it what it is
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Bideford, Devon16 July 2018
Working for McDonald's was a very successful decision not only have I learnt key skills that I will take with me into everything I do, but I've met some truly wonderful individuals.
The hours can be complimenting and you can still lead a very balanced lifestyle outside of work.
The pay is substantial enough for the role you perform.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Can be very stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only stayed there so long because of the people i met
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria15 July 2018
Mcdonalds isnt a very nice place to work as there is a lack of equality by certain managers there. but i have met some friends for life. and gained some skills while working there
Pros
met some frends for life
Cons
long hours and underappreciated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job that pays the bills in the end.
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Bilbrough13 July 2018
It has good days and bad.
The bad tend to out-weigh the good.
Being management gives you nothing but head aches.
Work life balance is non-existent.
The hardest part of the job, is getting out of my car when I get to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Corstorphine, City of Edinburgh11 July 2018
Overall it is a very flexible and social place to work with a very social team and environment. However because of this it can cause complications such as inner work friendships and relationships as well as gossiping and drama.
It is fast paced and requires quality control and accuracy.
Pros
free lunches flexible hours
Cons
not great pay managment can be negative
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love to work
As a shift manager (Former Employee) –  London10 July 2018
quick career opportunity. much pressure to work under but lot to learn from the big company. one of the best working place so far. recommend everyone for fresh start.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and hard work
shift manager (Current Employee) –  Rugeley, Staffordshire7 July 2018
its a fun place to work with alot of different apportunities for you to progress and always work towards different changes and promotions for you to excel in the role you do.
Pros
free linches
Cons
difficult customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Doncaster2 July 2018
After working for the company for 4 years I have experienced how good the company is and would recommend this to anyone that is starting a new job or an experienced worker
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy environment but fun workplace
Shift manager (Current Employee) –  Bournemouth30 June 2018
is alright, the thing is that is a good company but the job is hard sometimes, is really busy and sometimes you don't have enough staff, so customers always complain and I understand that, but all the restaurants are different, I've learnt a lot and I'm really grateful with McDonald's
Pros
flexibility
Cons
not enough staff to work smoothly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great while studying
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Wales30 June 2018
Brill place to work when studying and if you chose to stay plenty of opportunity to advance up the chain and a good benefit and education package too .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McDonald's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 131,217 reviews
533.7K
438.1K
337K
212.9K
19.6K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

McDonald's Reviews by Location