Matthew Clark Employee Reviews

Found 53 reviews matching the search See all 54 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drivers and drivers mate are sound
HGV Driver class 2 (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire16 April 2019
Avoid like the plague “ worked at Southampton depot and the management Couldn’t organise a pxxx up in a brewery “inside and out the trucks are filthy and a major divide between office staff / drivers /mates / warehouse
Pros
Aren’t any
Cons
Long hours / major divide between office staff and warehouse and drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management???? What is that
Clarks gofor (Former Employee) –  Wetherby, West Yorkshire2 April 2019
You might as well walk out of your induction on a final warning.....the two dept managers AKA Bald buddies (baldy and short baldy) clearly blindfold there selves to work......office transport staff clearly have a go on each other off to get further up the company.....only help people who are willing to be YES MEN!! Bad to work for and don’t know there hand from there elbow....AVOID AVOID AVOID
Pros
Clocking out
Cons
Clocking in
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish not good moan a lot
Driver delivery (Former Employee) –  Shepton Mallet, Somerset31 March 2019
Management bunch of idiots rude and unprofessional always having a moan at you and accused of stealing I wouldn't recommend anyone to work here they sack me for dropping beer
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A VERY unreliable company who pay a very poor rate and do not value their staff. The safe working practices taught in training are not followed!
Drivers Mate (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire25 March 2019
SADLY I CANNOT RECOMMEND WORKING HERE AS IT IS JUST TOO DANGEROUS ON A PERSONAL SAFETY LEVEL. I was hired through an agency who usually provide excellent and well paid opportunities. I am a very experienced Drivers mate who has understood the value of customer service which is what has made me so successful in the roles I undertake. I was offered the chance to come to Matthew Clark and the first impression was good. A nice clean fresh new warehouse with a good well designed yard with plenty of staff parking. I attended the training day and was greeted by friendly informative staff, at this point things unravel. Various people were late or had wrong information so the rest of us were left hanging around waiting, this gave the appearance that nobody cared about time keeping in this workplace. Various staff came through the room to get coffee etc and although a lot had been there many years they all immediately came in spouting very negative attitudes and making sure the new starters knew just how bad it would be. Various negative judgemental comments were passed about us before we even started!

The training course was very good well presented and very informative. The course was a mix of theory with Multiple choice questions at end of each section ( This was not graded) and a practical session with the Trucks and equipment with a major focus on Health and safety and correct manual handling. We actually were able to try the techniques shown. This depot serves South coast and London.

After training I was hired for rest of the week (job
is temp to perm) and was sent out
  more... with a driver the next morning who was pleasant enough. However to
my horror I found that the things we were shown in training were not even thought of! The equipment to do certain manoeuvres was not even on the truck! The day proceeded in a dangerous manner. I was told that we didn’t have time to follow trained procedures and we better just get on with the job. This involved lifting heavy weight dangerously and also put safety of other staff at risk. The driver did not even allow me to do the paperwork involved with my job though I was perfectly capable. The shift went fairly smoothly and was pretty uneventful. I was very careful to safeguard myself as much as I could. Breaks are not taken as the drivers set the break up on the trucks and you work through them. We returned to depot and debriefing was done. I left to return home expecting to come back next morning. I was called by the agency that evening and told we were no longer required with immediate effect! Feedback and a reason why was asked for and none has been given. Perhaps I have had a very lucky escape!!
  less
Pros
Able to buy alcohol at very reduced prices from company warehouse
Cons
No regard for safety and welfare of the staff very long routes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job poor management
Driver (Former Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire9 March 2019
As a former employee this used to be a great place to work, management have unfortunately let the place slip into a state of decay. Moral has become so rotten it became a place unbearable to work in. Unless friends or family with management expect a hard time. Management couldn't organize a knees up in the depot
Pros
None
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish place to work, rubbish wages and rubbish people up in the office
Drivers' Mate (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire18 February 2019
Everyone talks behind your back and stabs you in the back, 8 hour cut off point for your wages so you dont get paid over 8 hours worth of work and you can be on the road for 11 hours or potentially longer and for £8 an hour. Everyone who works upsairs in office/debrief are back stabbers
Pros
20p for coffee
Cons
Rubbish job rubbis workers rubbish wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was agency worker ,
Drivers Mate (Former Employee) –  Harrogate, North Yorkshire3 February 2019
You start at 6 in morning get your wagon then go ,
Do drops at the locations you have been given ,

In this job I think you should be paired with the same driver permanently rather than always changing ,
Pros
U may get a free drink at a club or pub etc
Cons
Early starts, possible long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dundee
HGV 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Dundrr27 January 2019
Worked there for Agencies full time staff on salary.so don't get paid if work late or so they say.seems norm some companies.so if you driver you not suppose take break but you get docked for 45 minutes each day.massive overhaul of system needed all over Scotland.no wonder shortage Hgv drivers.you end up fighting with drivers mate cause management.
Pros
Wage
Cons
bust ure tacho
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Whitchurch, Bristol7 January 2019
Matthew clark was a fantastic place to work, i did work experience for a couple of weeks. The staff was fantastic was a smile and always willing to have a little chat if they had the time
Pros
Hot food canteen
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team but managers are a joke
Werehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Wetherby, West Yorkshire7 January 2019
The place its self is a good place to work for but the managers are a joke at wetherby depo you only get recognised if u allow to be walked all over by the night shift managers and not for doing a great job, the managers are only interested in making them selfs look good but soon as you say anything out of turn you will be disciplined and in some case sacked but that depends who you are and how much u kiss bum by saying sorry
Pros
Meeting great friends apart from that theres no pros to work at this company
Cons
Long hours for no xtry pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wanting Blood From A Stone
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands29 October 2018
At Matthew Clark they expect you to work all the hours possible without any extra payment. This expect in my line of work, but I never even got a thank you. A typical day during December would result in me being out of the house for 15 hours door to door without being a allowed a single day off.

None of the staff are given any recognition and are treated very badly
Pros
Cheap Booze
Cons
Very Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Drivers Mate (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow24 October 2018
Matthew clark is a good place of work with plenty of potential for movement from warehouse to drivers mate or other departments within the company. good salary and good incentives within the work place.
Pros
easy to get to
Cons
shift pattern does not suit me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management. Company just rescued from administration. No teamwork. No work life balance. Internal promotions are given to 'friends' history of ne
Lgv driver (Former Employee) –  Kent18 October 2018
It's ok but some of the managers are weak and well not good, wages are god that's about it. Hours can be long especially at busy periods i.e. Christmas and Easter. Holiday entitlement is good to be honest but organisation and like I said some mangers are for want of a better word hopeless. If your face fits your good to go but if it doesn't we'll be warned...
Pros
Holiday and wages
Cons
Some por managers and general organisation is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
HGV Class 2 and 1 driver (Current Employee) –  Wetherby8 October 2018
Average hours of 35-45 realistic
Great lads to work with
Job and knock
Supportive management
Average wage not amazing but good for what you work 25k
Pros
Staff management work life balance
Cons
Wagons are rubbish
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical workplace
Matthew Clark Telesales Executive (Former Employee) –  Bristol6 September 2018
Constantly promised progression and other things within the workplace, it is never lived up to. Poor management and many people taking time off for stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No organisation
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire27 July 2018
I worked for Matthew Clark for a month I was made aware that it would be a permanent job but was only temporary. There was no organisation and my job role changed every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transport
Driver (Current Employee) –  Hedge end25 July 2018
To heavy a work load for the pay hence an extremely high turnover of staff with poor morale as many of the current staff a looking elsewhere and will be leaving in there droves .
Pros
Not much
Cons
Just a number
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace.
Drivers Mate/Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Shepton Mallet25 July 2018
at matthew clark you provide a series of multi drop deliverys to all over the south west. it is a very enjoyable job and i wouldnt knock it.
just a few things could be improved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extra hours expected every day, no notice, no extra pay
Accounts Assistant (Former Employee) –  RUNCORN27 June 2018
Poor management. Company just rescued from administration. No teamwork. No work life balance. Internal promotions are given to 'friends' history of nepotisim.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insecure work place
Drivers Mate (Current Employee) –  Bedford, Bedfordshire2 May 2018
Unfortunatley some of the office staff make this a horrible place to work. The office staff bring their home problems to work which causes them to lose focus and perform unprofessionally & have also been known to punish people for taking days off SICK, which is also in my opinion absolutely ridiculous.
Pros
wage
Cons
unsecurity
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Matthew Clark. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 54 reviews
517
410
39
27
111

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture