Matalan Employee Reviews

Found 1,435 reviews matching the search See all 1,462 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly employees
General Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brislington10 September 2018
Nice people work there, with fun and relaxed work culture and convenient work hours, especially for a student. However minimum wage is not enough to live off.
Pros
friendly employees
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not considerate of Christmas temps
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stockport5 September 2018
Long shifts, monotonous, not too much training, ended up working 5 days a week even though i was on a 4 hour contract. The management did not want to hear bad news or no. the staff were lovely.
Pros
convenient location
Cons
pay, management, personal life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Worksop, Nottinghamshire5 September 2018
the work was ok, good and what you would expect for a retail job, especially at 16 as a first job. But the management treat me like something they had found on the bottom of there shoe and treat everyone like they were disposable and nothing like humans, they didn't care at all.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard and unsociable place to work
Department Manger for Menswear and Kids Wear (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon29 August 2018
to much job expectations.
not enough prospects
not enough time in the day.
poor quality staff
unsociable hours.
poor rate of pay.
not the best work ethic.
Pros
nice product
Cons
unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Customer Service Adviser (Former Employee) –  Swindon27 August 2018
Can work long hours and are expected to stay if needed.

If you turn down shifts then you will not get overtime.

Pay is minimum wage even for bank holidays.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Poor Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding.Fun.Glad to be part of the team
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire26 August 2018
i am fortunate to have a job with Matalan. It is such a thriving workplace. I have received three scratch cards in total for various rewards for working hard. The management are very down to earth and there is so much to do. The fashion is so up to date and is for all ages and genders
I love Matalan
Pros
Scratch cards for rewards for good work
Cons
Breaks go fast. but thats jus normal work life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Goods In Operative (Former Employee) –  Skelmersdale26 August 2018
Wouldn't recommend matalan as a nice place to work at.

You're constantly on your feet, running around picking clothes that someone ordered online, putting them on a labeled hanger and then sending that batch down a conveyor belt. Often the clothes that were on the order are not where the computer says they should be which often impacted on your hourly average picking rate but it was worth the money.
Pros
None
Cons
Do not accommodate for Holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Street
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  North West26 August 2018
Retail buzz. Teamwork. Seasonal changes. Long term employees. Sales based. Established. Family owned. Fashion for all. Accessible. Large organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire25 August 2018
Worked there for over a year and worked very hard in my job, did everything I was told however other people that had been there a quarter of the time were promoted before me and we’re given more trust.
Cons
Not treated well. Unequal work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Managment
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bangor22 August 2018
Easy job, Management were really good. Shifts, hours and rotas weren't ideal but not bad for retail.
Staff are friendly, I got trained on multiple areas. Training was good. Staff were helpful and positive.
Cons
poor hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London16 August 2018
Managers and colleagues were rude and two-faced
Didn't make you feel welcome at all or acknowledged you
No staff benefits
Only benefit was uniform. could wear whatever bottoms and shoes you want as long as wearing Matalan shirt
Pros
uniform
Cons
poor management, rude colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly place to work
General Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberystwyth, Ceredigion16 August 2018
Matalan in Aberystwyth was a very friendly and relaxed place to work. During my typical day at work I would unload deliveries,put out new product onto the shop floor and serve at tills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Cash Office Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire12 August 2018
it can be hard on a day to day basis .
i have developed new skills with working there and have got as fare as i feel i can .
management are supportive.
hardest part about working there can be the long days .
but the people i work with do make work more fun.
Pros
staff disscount
Cons
don't get bank holidays off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Merseyside8 August 2018
There wasn’t enough work, people were shipped in and out quickly, the pay was poor, it was overcrowded with workers, communication with senior and management was poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great work environment
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Crawley7 August 2018
The work environment wasn't very nice. The management was very confused on what was going on. The staff was also very confused as to what was going on. The staff wasn't very polite. The staff room was a complete mess.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for.
General Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brighton5 August 2018
it is an ok company to work for, the minimum you can work is 8 hours, a typical work day varies from dad to day/ shift to shift. the hardest part of the the job is the fitting or the recovery shift.
Pros
discount
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough job that pays well.
Warehouse Operative/Picker (Former Employee) –  Liverpool4 August 2018
You're constantly on your feet, running around picking clothes that someone ordered online, putting them on a labeled hanger and then sending that batch down a conveyor belt. Often the clothes that were on the order are not where the computer says they should be which often impacted on your hourly average picking rate but it was worth the money.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours, tough enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, Fun Environment to work in
Retail assistant on a temporary Christmas contract (Former Employee) –  Oldham, Greater Manchester2 August 2018
Although i was only there for a short time, I could tell Matalan were a good company to work for. I received full and thorough training when i started and was also assured i could ask my collegues any questions when I was unsure of things. I learnt all the skills required for my job and i know i will be able to apply them to other retail jobs. Management were really accomodating, as this was my first job, and would ensure i was progressing well in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere and great team
Floor Manager (Current Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire31 July 2018
The work ethic is great, the team are amazing to work with. Loyal customers due to the excellent customer service we provide. Both the management team and staff are very hardworking
Pros
Get recognized for your hard work
Cons
Last minute events
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Totally dependant on where you work.
General Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  United Kingdom27 July 2018
I've worked at 3 stores and have found that the job itself is relatively easy, but the reason many stores have a high turnover of staff is the fact the managers can be dreadful. I'm still currently working for them at a smaller store and the management team here are amazing, so understanding and very easy to talk to. On the other hand, at a previous store, a manager expected 100% availability and if you were working another part time job, they would expect you to put Matalan in front of it (even if it payed better, that wast a valid reason.

The people make it, make friends, get on managers good sides and you should be set.
Pros
4 hour shifts possible
Cons
can be mindnubbing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Matalan. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,464 reviews
5321
4449
3445
2141
1108

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture