Matalan Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Department assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Newport17 April 2018
No discipline, incompetent management
Very confusing for newcomers, unprofessional managers
Staff last between 1-3 months, that fact speaks for itself
Minimum salary. , illogical rotas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you work hard, you won't have a problem!
General Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Camberley, Surrey12 April 2018
Hard working employees at Matalan, Camberley do not have issues with management. However, other reviews on this site are written by ex-employees who were not completely hard working, nor flexible. I enjoy working here, it's fast-paced and there is never a dull moment. Everyone who works here is kind and there is a wide age range. Unfortunately when confronted with a rude customers there is a lack of support from management on occasions. The pay in this store is higher than the majority of retail jobs in the area and there is never a lack of working hours available as this Matalan is always busy.
Pros
Lots of hours, good pay rate and co-workers are amazing.
Cons
Occasional lack of support from management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent retail workplace
Customer service (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London11 April 2018
I worked there for under a month for work experience in 2013 and it was your usual 9-5 retail job that was the first job I ever had that taught me customer service skills.
Pros
You get paid
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Enfield10 April 2018
loved working at Matalan, never a dull moment, always busy, got to know most of the customers well...

lovely clothes and shoes and always so well organsied
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no career prospects
General Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lancashire6 April 2018
management expect you to be fully available yet only willing to offer minimum contracts, favouritism amongst staff, give the young staff all the hours due to cheaper wages.
Pros
no flexible working hours
Cons
most things
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weekend job
General Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradford6 April 2018
Average job really, I only worked here for a few months inbetween being in 6th form.
The wage was not very good but I was only young - it may be better for full-time employee's that have been there several years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford, Essex5 April 2018
its fun i have enjoyed my time at matalan it was a nicd place to start my career theres nothing overly wrong with it im just looking to move forward
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Operative (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside5 April 2018
Typical working patterns are shift work.
Plenty of opportunity to progress through business.
Opportunity to progress to management.
Target driven.
Working shift patterns.
The people make it a good place to work.
Pros
people focused.
Cons
Shift work pattern.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
seasonal temporary employee (Former Employee) –  Strood, Kent4 April 2018
The hours were very constricting to social life and the pay was very underwhelming for this loss. the jobs were very repetitive and some staff seemed to get more overtime than others based on popularity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside3 April 2018
I really enjoy working at Matalan, it’s a lovely environment with all polite and bright staff. Management is good, confidence is however low - not enough praises / thank you’s.
Pros
Lovely staff, amazing company
Cons
Payment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied work
Retail shop assistant (Former Employee) –  Stratford-upon-Avon31 March 2018
A good place to work. I had started in the admin and then worked in the store on the tills and shop floor. Everyone helped each other and the hours were to suit though extra hours were generally required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
indifferent
General Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds29 March 2018
you can easily progress in Matalan. going from a GSA, to a CS, to team leader. its an easy ladder to climb if you want to. the management can be unreliable and so can the rotas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience 2016
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Southport, Merseyside20 March 2018
I enjoyed doing my work experience here. Lovely staff, lovely workplace. I feel doing my work experience here helped me to improve with customer assistance and people skills.
Pros
Regular breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London19 March 2018
The colleagues are very friendly.
During my time hear my hours we reduced from full-time to part-time.

•Recovery-Pick up clothes from the floor and tidy the clothes on the fitting room.
•Tag clothes and making sure they have the right sale price.
•Customer service- Advice on products and support customers with their purchase, while on the fitting room or on the shop floor.
•Processing returns and refunds as required in line with company procedures
•Managing cash and payment systems in accordance with company procedures and policies.
•Handling customer complaints in a calm manner
•Operating the cash register and handling cash transactions with customer
•Resolve customer complaints, guide them and provide relevant information
Pros
discount
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bridgwater19 March 2018
Matalan is ok to work for if you want weekly pay then yes go for it.
I worked there for 11 months and I was still on weekly pay that Christmas temp money so that was a bit annoying. staff there are lovely and friendly.
Pros
discount
Cons
weekly pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer skills
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire17 March 2018
Good place to gain confidence, talk and see the general public daily! Gain experience from a whole range of varieties like cash admin, customer services, merchandising, deliveries, sale set up etc.
Pros
Ability to be able to grow within the company if wanted to take the next step
Cons
Long hours, no thought of social life outside of work ! Expect a lot!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and high standard work place
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway17 March 2018
Everyone was great to get along with and I was votes employee of the month every month I worked there, only reason I left was because I had to move back to Newcastle and I was working in the Matalan in Dumfries in Scotland.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly yet demanding
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Kendal, Cumbria15 March 2018
The hardest part of working for Matalan is promoting new deals and getting new people to sign for Matalan loyalty cards.
Despite this management were always encouraging.
The most enjoyable part of the job is organising where new stock is going to go.
There was great team morale amongst the staff and plenty of opportunities for extra hours.
Pros
Family discount
Cons
Pressure to promote
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no hours low money
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire15 March 2018
no hours and low hourly rate supervisord don't care no one takes pride in there work if you was to go onto an area that the person before hasent cleaned up or smartend up this is reflected on you as a person and to work on the tills you have to be very quick if you are not you get brought into the office and have warning and told to improve
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good place to learn the basics of retail.
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees15 March 2018
For me personally a typical day at work would involve starting the day by checking the tills and making sure everything is in order for the rest of the working day. I've learnt everything from being on reception and dealing with complaints to working in the warehouse and preparing stock.
The really positive thing about Matalan is the people you get to work with, everybody is really helpful and friendly and never had any problems.
The biggest negative thing for me is not being able to get as much overtime work as I would like.
The most enjoyable would again be the staff I work with and the customers.
Pros
Friendly staff and flexible hours.
Cons
Lack of overtime and poor advancement opportunites
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Matalan. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,379 reviews
5308
4426
3424
2128
193

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture