Marks and Spencer Employee Reviews

Found 4,509 reviews matching the search See all 5,077 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham, Gloucestershire18 May 2019
Lots of benefits which come with the job, especially discount on there food!
Learning experience when dealing with customer complaints and returns.
Great team I was stationed with, had a laugh and made lots of friends
Pros
Discount
Cons
Difficult customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay and staff undervalued
Customer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Chichester18 May 2019
Poor pay and staff undervalued, good team however management were not supportive and staff were not given the recognition they deserved. Discounts and bonus were not enough of an incentive to stay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely People
Retail Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire18 May 2019
The best thing about working in the retail customer service is the people you work with, the hours are between 7.45am and 10pm and you do not get any extra for working unsociable hours.

My manager was fantastic and was part of a great team, you do have to hit your NPS and as long as you did that there wasn't any real pressure.

No real opportunity to progress within the department and when the store staff got a pay rise due to the minimum wage going up the office staff were excluded from this. So not very fair when it comes to pay.
Pros
Free parking, 20% M&S discount card
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fosse park17 May 2019
Good Place to work great staff lovey customers. great working environment.the people are friendly and a joy to help. great perks to working with them such as discounts and schemes.
Pros
employee Discount
Cons
management can be pushy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent17 May 2019
- Successfully implemented and enhanced creative displays to attract new customers
and excite existing customers in order to maximise sales
- Consistently updating in store displays, following layout guidelines from creative packs
and inuencing changes based on specic store needs
- Supported with customer service and sales working as part of a wider team
- Analyse display performance using available reporting to inform future display
decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pruductive and fun workspace
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barnstaple15 May 2019
Enjoyed working for the company, really fun work space and a group of really nice and helpful members of staff. if there was ever a issue there was someone there to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable company
Section Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Beverley15 May 2019
Reputable company which i spent a year and half working for. Job progression is not huge but the salaries offered are a fair reflection of the work compared to competitors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, stuck up managers
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire15 May 2019
Was here for a long time, never had the same manager for more than 12 months. People constantly get moved around without a choice.
Managers seem to be getting younger and younger with no idea how the real world works which makes it difficult if you have problems as you feel you can’t talk to them.
Management are all about sales of credit cards which should be the banks job and not yours as a sales assistant. You’re constantly pressured into getting people to have a card and have staff from the bank watching over your shoulder constantly.
Pros
Good wage
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
M&S Blame Culture / Poor Management
International PMO (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London14 May 2019
M&S Blame Culture / Poor Management
Worked here for under a year and suffered work related stress due to bullying and a blame culure . Do not advise working here
Pros
M&S Food
Cons
As above
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  london,14 May 2019
It was great engaging with customers and the work and life balance was great overall, i have learnt to communicate better and be able to get along in a team. However, as i am moving to a different destination i wasn't able to transfer due to there being no vacancy in the area i am moving to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Leeds13 May 2019
I enjoyed working for Marks and Spencer. I was behind the scenes but felt part of a team. I worked a variety of shifts from early morning to late nights.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work place but not the same anymore
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire12 May 2019
The company has changed for the two years I've been there and I'm wanting more in life and I think moving forward, looking for a new job is what I need
Pros
I enjoy my job
Cons
People never recognise your good work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful managment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Derby11 May 2019
Staff are the only thing that kept me going there managnent team have no idea what they are doing never back you up when you get an aggresive customer as they are too busy stabbing each other in the back ! There are no benefits anymore lack of staff and how staff are treated makes the moral low
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Bad managnent
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring company in the dark ages
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh11 May 2019
Little progression opportunites.
Very poor pay with little chance to increase salary.
Dated management principles.
Little support or training provided.
Every day in work felt like a week
Pros
Every second weekend off. 20% discount
Cons
Little progression opportunities. Bland and boring culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary vacancies
Cashier/Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hackney10 May 2019
Nice department store , stock control
cashier duties
ok
Nice friendly environment
long hours, re stocking larger stores

good team work in the store. good customer service care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was work experience
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harrogate10 May 2019
This position was temporary and wasn't permanent i wish it was because M&S is a great company to work for it just well never came true because of it only being a work experience position
Pros
Great working environment
Cons
Wasn't a real job was only working experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Salesfloor Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  kings road, london, United Kingdom10 May 2019
good salary, nice and understanding managers.
room for growth
flexible hours
staff discounts
good work relationship between workers
very good way for students to earn money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work placement
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hartlepool, Durham10 May 2019
I completed a 5 week work placement in the Hartlepool store. I was involved in doing date rotation and front facing all the stock on the shop floor. I really enjoyed this work placement and would highly recommend this role.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bristol9 May 2019
Marks and Spencer’s was my first job and a great one at that. The hours were catered to my needs. The team worked really well together and the management looked after their staff well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace management helpful in general
Customer service advisor (Current Employee) –  Enniskillen9 May 2019
Management are very helpful,flexible with days off. However you may work different hours every week. Good opportunities for progression within the store.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
Working different hours every week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marks and Spencer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 5,077 reviews
52K
41.7K
3906
2256
1210

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture