Marks and Spencer Employee Reviews

Found 4,116 reviews matching the search See all 4,618 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good for seasonal work
Customer Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Redhill, Surrey11 August 2018
There were a lot of young managers who lacked experience. No feedback was given. A 20 discount of M & S products up to a limit, if a temporary staff. One set of uniform given but they were out of stock for gloves to stock fridges and freezers. this maybe only applies to temporary staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stratford, Greater London11 August 2018
Overall Marks & Spencer is a good company to work for. Good opportunities are provided for all workers and there are chances for you to progress your career in M&S.
Pros
Good relationship with colleagues
Cons
Hard manual work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freindly enviroment
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Basildon11 August 2018
I Have spent 35 years with Marks & Spencer, my only reason for leaving was redundancy and losing the job I enjoyed doing within the company as an Admin and Finance assistant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Paddington10 August 2018
Only worked two weeks work experience worked in various depts , very enjoyable, very friendly staff made me feel very comfortable, my grandmother worked there for 27 years and loved her job, I would really like to work there

Really enjoyed the staff restaurant, nice working atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting environment to work in
Work experience clerk (Former Employee) –  London paddington10 August 2018
Loved my work experience here, very interesting building lots of different depts to work in and see how marks and Spencer is run, reception very busy and interesting,
Pros
Company are very good to staff, staff discount, restaurant etc
Cons
Didn’t work there long as only 2weeks experience while at school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't go near...
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester10 August 2018
People aren't friendly in the office. It suffers from having a clicky environment. People will throw you under a bus to save themselves.

Same jobs in the same department are advertised every 2 months.... Dont waste your time
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
No flexibility on working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to do a placement
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swansea10 August 2018
This was a great place to do a placement with Remploy. I would have liked to have carried on with the role if there was a paid opportunity available. It was fun and challenging, management was really supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely Staff, But not great Management
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  St Albans9 August 2018
Great place to work, to meet new people and make friends, however management were not great.

Great benefits, 20 percent staff discount.

Holidays and days off, for temp workers is bad.
Pros
Good discount, supportive employees
Cons
Long Hours, Breached contract for notice period ending
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke8 August 2018
Pros-
possible growth
great team
lots to learn
great discount in all departments/family discount





Cons-
bad management
long hours
quick turnover of staff
Pros
Great team.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work for
Customer sales advisor - part time (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff8 August 2018
were always considerate about my life and work balance till it came to Christmas then it was an issue other than that very good to work for and would go back if i could.
Pros
clean work areas
Cons
not many cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
CUSTOMER ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire7 August 2018
Management is a bit of a joke, with such a high turnover they found it difficult to keep track of all the staff and as such hours were very difficult to sort out. However apart from that fine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sale Assistant (Current Employee) –  dartford6 August 2018
very work driven and focused in all shops. time keeping is essential in all shops in order to ensure that daily tasks are met on time to allow the company to run smoothly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal retail job
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grays6 August 2018
stack shelves, make sure customers are happy, clear the floors when it gets busy and everything is thrown around everywhere
flexible hours because it's retail, colleagues were nice enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Section Manager (Current Employee) –  Sheffield6 August 2018
I have learned a great deal in my 19 years at M&S and have worked as an advisor then as a section manager the job role is a satisfying one but a hard one
I look after a team of 15 and have a good working relationship with all my colleagues
Pros
Job satisfaction, staff discount
Cons
Long hours large job role
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire5 August 2018
Work experience at M&S was very beneficial. I learned new skills from the workplace as well as gaining more confidence; I learnt how to speak and deal with customers in the appropriate, respectful kind manner. In the 2 weeks of work experience the best part was doing different things each day. For example, one day we could be stocking the shelf's and the next we could be ordering the stock in date order. The most enjoyable thing was meeting new people everyday as well as been presented with different dilemmas and questions. However, the hardest part of the job was dealing with difficult customers.
Pros
Free drinks, fruit and bread
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite a nice place to work
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fosse Park4 August 2018
I have actually enjoyed my time as a customer assistant there, mostly because they only seem to employ nice people. I only want to leave as I need a job in a different field and more money! I have learned a lot during my time there.
Pros
Peers, staff discount and other perks, flexibilty
Cons
Management could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackburn, Lancashire3 August 2018
busy working day, aways something to do
friendly staff members .

I enjoyed helping the customers and making sure people left happy!

Management were very helpful and made sure to keep you busy and that you were working to your best ability
Pros
20% discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Retail assistant (Former Employee) –  Colchester3 August 2018
The team is really kind and friendly and they are happy to help you if you are struggling or if your not sure on what you have to do I was only there for work experience and that I feel that I can see my self working there permantly.
Pros
Kind Staff
Cons
No Free Lunches unless its there christmas party.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer assistant
costumer assistant (Former Employee) –  Walkden3 August 2018
Worked 9am till 3pm
I was there for two weeks work placement while on the princes trust program at Salford college Worsley.
I enjoyed my placement it was very busy and the day went quickly, all the staff where very nice and helpful.
I wasn't trained on tills / online service or alcohol due to me only being their for 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, dependent on colleagues
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dumfries2 August 2018
Some stores have nice, friendly staff, whereas others they seem to think they are above customer service forgetting it is their job. Good pay system for youger employees especially
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marks and Spencer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,619 reviews
51.8K
41.6K
3815
2222
1176

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture