Marks and Spencer Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 815 reviews matching the search See all 4,436 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and beneficial
CUSTOMER ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Ealing, Greater London12 August 2018
Marks and Spencers has been one of the better companies I've worked for. The salary and benefits are more than generous for unskilled labourers and management allow workers to be flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely Staff, But not great Management
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  St Albans9 August 2018
Great place to work, to meet new people and make friends, however management were not great.

Great benefits, 20 percent staff discount.

Holidays and days off, for temp workers is bad.
Pros
Good discount, supportive employees
Cons
Long Hours, Breached contract for notice period ending
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke8 August 2018
Pros-
possible growth
great team
lots to learn
great discount in all departments/family discount





Cons-
bad management
long hours
quick turnover of staff
Pros
Great team.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and not very diverse
Work experience at M & S (Former Employee) –  London1 August 2018
Long boring hours and i only saw 2 brown people no word of a lie... I would say that everyone was very polite and friendly but thats it... Not much to say
Pros
Food upstairs in staff room, lockers
Cons
Long and boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice staff and Good salary
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City31 July 2018
My typical day at work was long hours and a short lunch break as they were short on staff. The job was enjoyable as I got to communicate with the public and help people out when needed. The worst part of the job was having to work long hours, when the shop wasn't busy I didn't have much to do and when first starting the job I wasn't given much guidance on what to do and had to ask a to of questions or figure things out by myself. All staff were friendly and nice, I got a warm welcome to the team and enjoyed my overall experience there.
Pros
A lot of locker space, Salary, Friendly staff
Cons
Short breaks and lunches, Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and easy
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cranleigh30 July 2018
working at Marks and Spencer is great, the clients are great and the staff are friendly and encouraging. I currently work weekends and the pay is also good. I see the same customers regularly and am able to build up a rapport with them. I am able to get free lunches in the staff room
Pros
free lunches
Cons
i cant think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great heritage just lost it’s way recently
Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  Southampton29 July 2018
Company who’s name is worldwide and has great heritage. Lost it’s way in recent years and now paying the price with having to cut back so much, so quickly to be competitive again however feels like at the cost of giving staff the work/life balence
Pros
Good staff discount
Cons
Getting harder to maintain work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely
Retail Assistant (Work Experience) (Former Employee) –  Wrexham26 July 2018
Nice place to work , lovely people , hours were ok and worked woth children and after school club , understand and helpful staff .took time to explain and help
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Early starts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
marks and spencers
Sales Assistant (Christmas Temp) (Former Employee) –  Glasgow25 July 2018
I enjoyed working as a temp christmas employee for Marks and spencers. It was my first job at age of 16 and the salary was good for starting out . Was fun to work with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire24 July 2018
Established company, good discount. Limited chance to progress. Salary bindings between jobs too small so staff do not always want to take more responsibility on.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Manager customer service (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth24 July 2018
Customer Service Manager at one the well respected and UK leading High Street Stores, Marks & Spencer’s. I was responsible for a team of customer services advisors, to make that we delivered exceptional customer service to the general public. I was also responsible for organising staff rota’s, dealing with customer enquires and complaints, team manage my team, promoting the features and benefits of Marks & Spencer’s.

• Day to day running of busy Customer Service Department.
• Manage team of 10 customer service advisors.
• Marketing and media strategies.
• Manage client’s expectations.
• Dealing with customer enquires? Complaints
• Organising Staff Rotas’.
Pros
Discount
Cons
On you feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good short term job
Operations (Former Employee) –  Brighton23 July 2018
Given large responsibility to have to be able to handle this but this also one of the perks of the job. you choose what work you do when so as long as it gets done there is no pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place with a good salary
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lisburn, County Down21 July 2018
Good salary and usually lots of hours to be taken. Job security for temporary staff is not that good as you may be released for certain periods of time then brought back.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Bad job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bluewater19 July 2018
Really enjoyed working there for the short time I was there, all customers and colleagues were friendly and helped pave the way for great work, help was always round the corner & the tills were easy to use
Pros
Meet new people, work as a team
Cons
Short lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workspace
Quality Controller (Former Employee) –  Kirkliston19 July 2018
Enjoyed my time here. I had to ensure products were of suitable quality for the store. The working environment was fine and workmates were friendly and I had no problems while I was here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was very good and i had a nice time being there and learning loads of diffrent things
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire12 July 2018
it was a very good job i loved working there.
i would like to go back to marks and spencer's.
A typical day at work was very hard but i got past it was hard.
Pros
the pros are you work with nice people and they help you out alot
Cons
to long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and very good at working around you.
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire6 July 2018
It’s an excellent place to work and I’m coming to 4 years and I haven’t got anything bad to say, it’s very welcoming place and hard work pays off, would recommend to anyone to get a place on here.
Pros
Cooked lunches, 20% discount
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast pace, targets driven environment with loyal staff
Commercial Manager (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire5 July 2018
People Leadership is the core of your day to day job and you strive to support your team to deliver the KPIs and sell to the customer.

A typical day will involve holding team huddles to set up the day, reviewing sales and service information. Based on this we will set targets, discuss actions and walk the sales floor to understand what the customer is seeing. We may make stock moves, change selling tactics, seek to upskill the team as part of the actions.

The most enjoyable part of the job is celebrating success when the team has delivered its targets and for me personally coaching and developing people to realise new skills and get excited about what they've learnt.

The hardest part would be the limitations placed on the store to trade by Policy, Head Office and Stock. The over complication of KPI measurement and bureaucratic communications on a daily basis can hinder the core of the day job.
Pros
Staff Discount. Generally can leave 'the job' at work. Staff Teams
Cons
Long Hours. Weekend Work. Weak Salary compared to role expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No but I've built up a good relationship with team members made a lot of great friends
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen4 July 2018
The company is a good place to work but I've been in the company for 22 years I've seen a lot of changes with management but the one thing about it is that where ever you go you always maintain a friendship
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an OK place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Basingstoke2 July 2018
a typical day at work is communicating as a team and interacting with customers, over the past year and half of working there i have gained a level 2 in hygiene, become a barista as well as customer service skills. However i do feel the management team can be a little lazy and unorganized at times. The hardest part of the job is have your working hours messed around as then you have to adjust to working at different times of the day, another hard part of the job is to keep up with the high standards whilst working through busy periods of the day. What I enjoy most about the job is when you have completed a task set to a high standard and the praise that is given from other colleagues as well as customers at times.
Pros
The people you work with
Cons
How lazy the management team can be
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marks and Spencer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,438 reviews
51.8K
41.5K
3786
2217
1171

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture