Marks and Spencer Employee Reviews for Retail Sales Associate

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience review
Sales Floor Customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Handforth19 June 2018
organised but busy and you have to deal with irritating customers. I only did work experience but the staff all seemed very friendly can be overwhelming if you are in a big store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enthusiastic and polite
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon Hull18 June 2018
During the day I helped replenish stock on shelves and keep shop tidy, help with any customer enquiries. Manager was very approachable and assisted me with all aspects of my work experience. My favourite part of work experience was the whole experience apart from the last day when I had to leave as I really enjoyed it. The workplace was a very happy uplifting environment and it taught me many skills working with the public and I have taken these traits with me into my own personal life.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Not having the required stock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive experience
retail assistant (Former Employee) –  Marble Arch, London17 June 2018
A typical day at work consisted of assisting customers with enquiries, displaying new merchandise, assisting tills and managing fitting rooms. The workplace community was very diverse as I was working with people from different age and ethnic groups.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds1 June 2018
Both the shop and the supermarket were always kept nice and organised making it very accessible to everyone. Everyone within the management were all very nice and happily helped me settle in the new environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes some days not over days
Warehouse/Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlton1 June 2018
A good company to work for, but the store I work for the management is poor they show no respect to you and are trying to screw me over by moving my shifts. I do want to stay with the company but am looking at moving to a new store, the store I work for has been ran into the ground and I need to get out asap
Pros
work force are nice good people, kind would work with them all day.
Cons
Management are a joke as I say have ruined the store why i want to leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff23 April 2018
Work Experience at Marks and Spencer was great. The staff there was brilliant and everyone works there well as a team. They keep you well aware of Health and Safety in the store.
Pros
Excellent group of people
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to Work - M&S
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes31 March 2018
I worked in M&S for my school Work Experience. I Loved it. Really liked meeting and working with my colleagues. I only worked there under 3 weeks but was treated like a permanent member of staff.
Pros
Gave me confidence to interact with the Customers.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
two weeks work experince
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Speke16 March 2018
I really enjoyed working in the cafe and in the warehouse, I learned the in's and outs of working a busy retail store.
I loved working close with people so I can learn basic and new skills.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Staff didnt understood that I was type 2 diabetic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A head start
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ocean Terminal, City of Edinburgh7 March 2018
I was sent to Marks and Spencers as part of there Marks and start campaign which helps people with difficulties getting back into work to ease there way in. I suffer with severe anxiety but the team helped me to push through that and really boosted my confidence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
simple retail
Retail Assistant and operations assistant (Former Employee) –  Alton, Hampshire1 March 2018
your basic retail life. their needs are more important to them than yours.
standard supermarket retail line of work.

a standard day of work is serving customers and restocking the shelf's.
Pros
non
Cons
hours not thta great. they can change your hours without warning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardwork
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham27 February 2018
hard working and fast pace in the public sector long hours Monday till Saturday 9;45 till 7 or 9 depending on if they are busy during the day
okay lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Retailer and Till operator (Current Employee) –  Broad Street11 February 2018
Fun place to work with good time table.
Friendly and helpful managers and colleagues.
Good experience on communication and team work skills.
Friendly environment.
Pros
time table
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
STORE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire9 February 2018
one of the better supermarkets you can work for, customers are fairly respectable and jobs although repetitive are not too boring. lots of overtime available around Christmas and school holidays which is useful
Pros
20% staff discount
Cons
repetitive job, customers sometimes rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Retail Assistant (Temp P/T) (Former Employee) –  Llanelli, Carmarthenshire5 February 2018
sucks when your contract ends, loads of stuff on staff discount, tons of food in staff kitchen, christmas party was awesome. filling up the box now tbh
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  London16 January 2018
PLanning lessons and workshops a big part of the working day. Very social environment to be part of. Really good experience and personal development. Fun management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galashiels10 January 2018
I was always happy to get up for my day of work, to see the staff, and get stuck in to my jobs at hand and help anyone that needed help. Also having my own department to work on.
Pros
Great job all round
Cons
Sometimes having todo longer hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, full of opportunities
Store Operations Assistant (Current Employee) –  Doncaster5 January 2018
Working at M&S has been fun, my job covered most aspects, helping customers, repairing/moving equipment, accepting/sorting deliveries and I have gained a lot of skills and had a good time whilst working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family away from home
Retail Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Norwich1 January 2018
I love working here, I feel so welcome at M&S, from my first day everybody was so welcoming and kind. The management were clear and kind and everybody has a smile on their face - even around the stress of Christmas!

I love the place, and if a full time, permanent job comes up then I'll snatch it with both hands.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for m and s
Northampton Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northampton31 December 2017
I really enjoyed myself working for a company like M&S I only wish I could have continued after xmas of 2008I was working in their food section at Northampton store on the till ., replenishing and showing customers where things were if they required it
Pros
good team spirit have a laugh with others have discounted goods as I worked there
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging
Salesfloor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes19 December 2017
Great retailer to learn about the business,
Good communication with head office.
Teaches you to work in a big team and engage with people outside your given section.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marks and Spencer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,321 reviews
51.7K
41.5K
3770
2208
1168

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Marks and Spencer Reviews by Location