Marie Curie Employee Reviews

Found 70 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One day fundraising
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  London11 July 2017
I volunteered for one day to raise money for the charity. The day included walking around one high road and collecting donations, answering questions and being friendly.
Cons
outdoors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Shop Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Bedford, Bedfordshire21 June 2017
Marie Curie is a great place to work for experience. Volunteering for them has boost my confidence and given many opportunities to develop my skills. I have also met a wide range of people and created bounds for life. It is also a pleasure to know that the little bit of time you are giving will help make a difference to someones life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering
SHOP VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Waterlooville, Hampshire14 June 2017
As a volunteering job to gain experience in retail, the Marie Curie shop offered a fun environment to learn the basics. The job invloved sorting donations restocking shelves and accurately handling money when selling items on the shop floor.
Pros
Doing good for the community
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Shipley22 May 2017
all the staff are friendly and very easy to get on with. can help yourself to drinks/biscuits. jobs are pretty easy-going but still good experience to have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supporting clients in their own homes during the night.
HCA (Current Employee) –  Surrey20 May 2017
Applied in September 2016 and officially started on the 10th of February. Nearly 5 months. Very disorganised organisation, only offering bank work to HCA, no guaranteed income or work and hierarchy system. No one one knows anything or who is responsible for what when you need help. I will never recommend this company. The rewarding part is the clients and family. Marie curie don't care about employees no personal touch.
Pros
Can't think o fany apart from clients and family members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly enviroment
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Kirkcaldy, Fife17 May 2017
its a fun and enjoyable environment to work within . during the job role your are required to work within a hard working environment at difficult times .
Pros
£3 max for lunch
Cons
flexiable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working enviroment
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cleveland26 April 2017
brilliant place to work in a the staff are great and nice to have a chat with about work and other things and also i get to make tea for the staff and also learn how to steam clothes properly.
Pros
voulnteer
Cons
3-4 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Dartford25 April 2017
I worked for the Dartford branch for 10 months and thoroughly enjoyed working there as a volunteer. The manager and the people that worked there were friendly. The work was varied which made it more interesting, no days are the same.
Pros
Discount
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham4 April 2017
Such a nice place to work with lovely friendly people to work with also. Lovely customers too, work is easy but very rewarding, as all voluntary work that is done is aassive help to the charity
Pros
Breaks when you want
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Charity Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester12 March 2017
Its a great way to get involved by helping charity organisations so it is a new and exciting experience for me to go on the streets and asking for donations towards a good cause.
Pros
Meet friendly people
Cons
Some people can be rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but rewarding
Regional Manager (Former Employee) –  south region9 March 2017
pressurised due to the workload, however was very rewarding as you dealt with people from all departments within the charity.

most employees were committed to the work of the charity, which had an ethos of putting people first.

it was sometimes hard to manage your work load due to the time pressures and daily demands on your time from people you managed as well as other departments.

Achieving objectives was the most rewarding part of the job.
Pros
rewarding
Cons
dealing with berivement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working here
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside3 March 2017
working in Marie Curie it was fun because i never knew what to do in my job but i learnt after been given the chance and i loved it but i ad to leave to go to age Uk.
Pros
dinner breaks, wonderful manager and staff
Cons
not paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in Marie Curie
Volunteer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barnard Castle, Durham28 February 2017
The Maie Curie charity is a really bad charity to work for because the paid staff and the volunteers really are unfriendly and they dismissed me for no reason at all
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work so much fun and care in the job
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  Larkhall, south lanarkshire28 February 2017
Great place to work with a great bunch of people, every one pulls there weight to get through the huge mountains of work load every single day
Pros
You dont dread going into work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wallington27 February 2017
working at Marie Curie was only temporary,as it was work experience, but it gave me the necessary skills to get a paid job, which helped towards the process of achieving my current job at m&s.

working there was nice as it had chilled out, friendly environment.
Pros
long lunch
Cons
long, quiet hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on staff as to whether it is a good work culture
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Highbury & Islington Station8 February 2017
Good training,poor line Manager made it a not nice place to work at.
Poor communication from Manager and expentincy to be in two places at the same time made it difficult to enjoy my time there.
Most of the volunteers were fine though.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Old dragon in charge!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding to work for such a great charity.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Scotland5 February 2017
Raising funds for Marie Curie on a daily basis is challenging but very rewarding. It is important to know the the jobs are hard and sometimes stressful but knowing you are helping terminal patients is the driving force behind my commitment to the charity.
Pros
Great place to work.
Cons
Low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canvey Island, Essex9 December 2016
I done work experience at Marie Curie for 1 month and I really enjoyed my time there. All the workers were very lovely and easy to talk to.

Daily tasks would be to help sort donations, use the till to serve customers, sort window display, price products, steam and hang clothes.

The best part of this experience would be meeting customers and helping them out if they needed anything.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my favourite work place
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff10 November 2016
Marie curie was one of my favourite experiences of work life the people and the environment was so welcoming and enjoyed evey minute of working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  London10 November 2016
Best colleagues ever, absolutely reliable and fun. Honestly, such a nice charity. The work environment is very friendly and the projects are super interesting. Can be demanding, but what isn't?
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marie Curie. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 74 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

Marie Curie Reviews by Location