MAKING SPACE Employee Reviews

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 37 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly rewarding
Volunteer Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Derby7 May 2019
Wonderful experience and very supportive team. Lots of variety in the volunteering opportunities and many chances to get involved. Volunteering is flexible and rewarding
Pros
Making a difference
Cons
none!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues more like family as we spend so much time together with working shifts, great banter and team work
Senior Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside28 November 2018
Worked as a support worker and progressed to senior, only moved on because the service was being taken over by a new care provider.!company perks ie buying annual leave is a bonus. Great training, fab HR, worked with great girls who felt like family
Pros
Company benefits, fab teamwork
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  north west19 November 2018
very poor work life balance, no support from higher management, pay for newer staff not comparable to the work expected. If you genuinely care and want to make a difference i would look elsewhere
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
God place
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire28 March 2018
Ok to work for did a lot of training and helped local community encouragingly service uses to get involved within the area and local services and networks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, with lovely people
Domiciliary Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Wigan21 March 2018
Hard work, but rewarding knowing that you are helping vulnerable adults to remain independent and at home by supporting them and providing a good quality service
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent service
Residential Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire17 October 2017
Making space has continued to grow within the mental health setting. It’s provision of care is exemplary and it always strives to provide excellent working conditions as well as maintaining the care of adults suffering with enduring mental health issues.
Pros
Invaluable training procedures
Cons
Hours are sometimes life impacting
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
part of my voluntary work, I assist (Current Employee) –  Derbyshire24 August 2017
visting a paerson living with dementia in theri home, and facilitating creative stimulation and companionship.
patience
managing my timetable
the majoty of my clienta where at end of lif, and it was sad when they passed away.
not geting too atached to the client
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire13 May 2017
Great to see employment advisors in action working along side people with mental health issues. Learning so many interpersonal skills on this placement
Pros
Fantastic staff member to shadow
Cons
Not enough service users!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful company
Befriender (Former Employee) –  Sheffield10 May 2017
Great experience. I volunteered as a Befriender, managing my time around my studies to aid people with mental health problems and helping them with day-to-day care. This gave me the opportunity to interact with people and learn more about their struggles on a personal level, by visiting them in their homes and also aiding them and other carers on outings and day trips. While I was doing this, I was able to work alongside professionals and gain real experience and advice while in a practical work place environment. Full training given, including becoming a ‘Dementia Friend’ and Safeguarding
Pros
Great experience
Cons
Change in location/management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place for gaining experience & the best of training.
Tenancy Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Rochdale, Greater Manchester5 January 2017
everyday is different.
I have learned a lot about different diagnosis in mental health, about service users as individuals, about all other services in & around Rochdale. I have learned a lot about myself & abilities to do my job role well.
lone working can prove to be difficult with occasional work overload hands on & paperwork.
I have a very good relationship with all my tenants which makes everyday worth it.
Pros
flexibilty (working our own daily calenders)
Cons
poor wages & alot of responsibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff
Volunteer Befriender (Former Employee) –  Middleton8 December 2016
staff were lovely and friendly, training was helpful. i found it useful as a volunteer here as my first volunteering experience- it got me out there are gave me confidence to do more and also go on to become a nurse working with similar people, good experience as a starter for this type of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alarming management attitude
Employment Advisor , mental health (Former Employee) –  Stafford14 November 2016
I worked at making space as an Employment Advisor , from day one l was told that l must follow protocol or they will let me go .
I got it the first time , but when it got to everyday l realised the management were dictorial and bullies .
After a week and not even out in field yet , l had enough of their attitude .
I resigned within 8 days .
Pros
Working independently
Cons
Bad management attitude, no security
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Wigan31 October 2016
you learn as you go, about the people you support, the people you work with and the company that you are working for, everything has its pros and cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job
Floating Mental Health Support Worker (Current Employee) –  31 Huntsman Way, Leicester, LE4 7ZG27 October 2016
You have your own set of clients that you need to support who has schizophrenia, bipolar, personality disorder and learning difficulties.
Pros
Each day at work am developing on my skills
Cons
No security
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork and safety is the key
Care Support Worker (Current Employee) –  bailey court27 September 2016
Love my co workers were family stick with each other no matter what. Hardest part of the job would have to be the emotional stability you have to have with tenants
Pros
socializing with co workers and tenants
Cons
management not very helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Nuneaton6 July 2016
My co workers are fantastic, I love meeting new people and making a difference to people suffering with Mental Health issues.
Pros
Paid Exspences
Cons
Not enough voluntary work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
recent changes have made a poor work environment
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  wigan5 July 2016
Work life balance is non existent, management has poor people skills
Under staffed
The 6 C's are promoted but not followed
This USED to be a nice place to work
Pros
none
Cons
work life balance none existent
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good to work for
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Wigan15 June 2016
I start work at 7am and work till sometime 6pm or 11pm with a 1hours break in that my co-workers are very good, The management
are ok but need to get more staff as we are working till late at night
I love my job and looking after the service users,
Cons
long hours no a long enough break
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dreadful employer
Former employee (Former Employee) –  North West.4 May 2016
No real support, ineffective management who take no responsibility for the effects of their lack of support, dreadful bullying behaviour from senior staff and managers and support given to colleagues who are allowed to cherry pick what they want to do leaving all other work to be picked up by their overburdened workmates. Truly poor, avoid.
Pros
None.
Cons
Endless.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Confidential (Current Employee) –  Wigan25 April 2016
Plenty of progression within the company, never felt as supported in a role. Staff team know their stuff as do management. Big recent changes and all seem for the better
Pros
Great holidays
Cons
Too much cake
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MAKING SPACE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 37 reviews
510
49
310
21
17

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture