London Fire Brigade Employee Reviews

Showing all 53 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a career, now just a job.
Firefighter (Former Employee) –  London13 January 2020
One of the most exciting jobs available with the tightest of bonds between crews. Unfortunately it seems you have to sell your soul to climb anywhere of importance in the rank structuring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Firefighter
Watch Manager (Former Employee) –  Islington, Greater London15 October 2019
As a Firefighter the work is challenging and rewarding.
The regular training instills confidence in dealing with a variety of incidents.
The ability to work as part of a team is crucial.
Promotion and advancement is encouraged and supported by management.
Pros
Job satisfaction and comradery.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, dangerous, sporting and friendly.
Watch Manager (Former Employee) –  A27 Clerkenwell.8 October 2019
It's the London Fire Brigade, how much more does anyone need to know.
The busy stations are the place to be for excitement and lasting friendships.
Money is reasonable, and advancement is fair and available to all.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
London fire Brigade
MTC (Former Employee) –  London Headquarters2 October 2019
Taking a lead and to make judgements across specialist Projects Management M&E maintenance services & technical designs in all projects and ensure compliance with Health & Safety Technical Memorandum in terms of management policy, Site visit, inspection, specialist crane management, Specialised works (Road Closures), working with local authorities obtaining work permeates; validation and verification, operational policy and technical guidance through and associated to CDM 2015. Also building upon Health & Safety Regulation and compliance are adhering, JCT (Joint Contracts Tribunal), Documentation, Mechanical & Electrical specification.
Pros
Lots of travelling
Cons
Too many sites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make of it
Emergency responder (Former Employee) –  London2 September 2019
A demanding way of life, hours of boring mundain and dull as dishwater work followed by intense action, if you can put up with the rough then the smooth is worth it, I guess.
Pros
uniform provided
Cons
Long hours of boring repetitive work, London weighting is not worth much
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, bad management
Multi Task Trainer (Former Employee) –  Greater London21 August 2019
I was , I believe the most qualified medically trained person there?
I enjoyed teaching medical emergency situations and management. The job was not just at the training centres but at stations also. The Senior management were retired FireOfficers, who were quick to get rid of you, however if you put them in your place, i bet they could not do your role?
Pros
Training, Fire Service community
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Specialist Paralegal - Grenfell Tower Inquiry Team (Former Employee) –  London5 August 2019
Friendly professional team. Great camaraderie. made everyone feel valued. The project was one of high pressure with tight deadlines however everyone was pleasant and we all worked well together to achieve our deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Information Management Officer (Current Employee) –  London23 July 2019
London's fire and rescue service is the busiest in the country and one of the largest firefighting and rescue organisations in the world. LFB can offer lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull day
Firefighter (Current Employee) –  London12 July 2019
Constantly changing job with different unique challenges every day. I never have a day where I dread going to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Control Room Officer (Current Employee) –  Merton19 May 2019
The job is very fulfilling and I've enjoyed being part of the emergency services. Shift work is a good balance and the pay reflects this role also. The day to day working conditions are a lot better than some other places I have worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure place to work
Training Programming Officer (Current Employee) –  Southwark, Greater London26 April 2019
A secure place to work. Secure as in a potential job for life. The recruitment process could do with a lot of work, though.It can be very frustrating and the lack of willing to make the change that is needed makes it even more so.
Pros
Lots of leave
Cons
Lack of progression opportunites
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place i have ever worked
London Fire & Rescue FireFighter (Former Employee) –  London16 April 2019
All duties of firfighting skills with tools and ig machinery. A great bond with work colleagues and a great place to work. Learning new skills and techniques everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lively and active atmosphere
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Isleworth, Greater London23 February 2019
I usually began with data entry input. There were numerous online Fire Safety forms to complete.
I learnt that Fire Safety involves a lot more than fighting fires.It centres on educating businesses to have safe systems at work. I also learnt that HMOs or houses of multiple occupation have a strong legal duty to have fire compliant systems in place.
The managers were quite open and told you exactly what they needed done.The workplace was friendly and open. The Fire Officers were always ready to help.
The hardest part of the work was to chase up fire Officers on a particular job. The most enjoyable part of the job were the frequent gifts from an appreciative public.
Pros
Time off / annual leave
Cons
Long commuting time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Payroll Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London30 October 2018
Data input
Recruitment
Contracts
Processing absences
Inductions
Typing Letters
Processing timesheet
Team Work
Record Keeping / Filing
Booking
Photocopying
Pros
Flexi Hours
Cons
Working and Studying
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible!
Training (Former Employee) –  London14 October 2018
This was an amazing part of my life and gave me a massively new found confidence, LFB are extremely caring in person situations and highly supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Workplace and large employer
Driver Trainer (Former Employee) –  Greenwich10 July 2018
Very aware of diversity in the workplace, they offer a very inclusive work environment with a wide variety of roles and employment opportunities across greater London
Pros
Very inclusive, good salary
Cons
Funding issues born out of being a publicly funded body.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great fun
job experience (Former Employee) –  Erith, Greater London29 June 2018
i had a great time. i learnt alot. i met new people. i learnt how to do things i never thought of doing. i was interested in soething i never though of doing. it was great fun and a amazing experience.
Pros
meet new people
Cons
dangerous
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring.
Fire Fighter (Former Employee) –  London18 May 2018
I found this work place boring.

There, are so many events and situations you can go to and they end up to be the same.

There, is a lot of down time and that gets boring.

It was not for me and I left after 3 years. There, is a lot of discrimination and indirect dislike.

There, is a very old way of thinking and there is not very much tolerance or acceptance of difference.

All of the above, caused me to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Firefighter (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London9 May 2018
I have done this job for twelve years now, I enjoy every second and haven't once experienced the monday morning feeling! Opportunities are there within the brigade to go as far as you like and experience lots of different things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career
firefighter (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London27 March 2018
Loved every day I worked for the London Fire Brigade. Enjoyed the different challenges, the ongoing training, the excitement of never knowing what would happen next.

Most enjoyable part of the job was definitely working as part of a team.
Pros
Job satisfaction
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at London Fire Brigade. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 53 reviews
527
415
38
22
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.1Culture

London Fire Brigade Reviews by Location