London Borough of Hillingdon Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Senior Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Hillingdon4 June 2018
Again, there have been many changes to this work place - this is due to governmental funding - and therefore feel that 10 years after working for this place it wouldn't be right for me to say anything about the organisation.

However, when I did work at the organisation, I loved working there because I had been there for a period of time and also loved the social atmosphere of the staff and young people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Older persons housing officer (Former Employee) –  Hillingdon, Greater London17 January 2018
working in a call centre Answering emergency calls from our care line users. Dealing with police, ambulance and fire service..........................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's about the money
Ict (Former Employee) –  Civic15 December 2017
Destroyed ICT by letting most of skilled and experienced staff go in restructure. Staff and stakeholders were not consulted about proposed changes only after it was decided. Current staff still asking people who have left how to do things. Hillingdon have now proposed to scrap sick pay, special leave and travel expenses. No job security reduced pension no Flexi time poorly managed from the top. Why would you !!!
Pros
Can't actually think of any
Cons
Everything you get in private sector you don't get here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not In Good Shape
IT (Current Employee) –  Uxbridge, Greater London24 October 2017
Owing to a terrible restructure not suitable for an ICT department, skillsets have gone and nobody is sure how to acheive the aims of the restructure, as nobody seems to know what they are!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst places I have worked
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge5 October 2017
The staff were very hostile and although I worked on a part-time basis was regularly expected to work longer hours and put the company before picking child up from nursery. Good work was very rarely recognised. Unfriendly atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would rather not
Executive Officer (Former Employee) –  Hillingdon13 September 2017
Would rather not comment

Nice enough people but too ridged, no flexibility at all.

Treated like children, though some people needed to be micro managed

good location

Good work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Transport Officer (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London13 September 2017
I have worked in several areas at the council, however, I have come to feel as though, I have constantly been moving sideways, instead of progressing, I have developed as an individual, and increased my potential and abilities in my employment.
Pros
Early starts and finishes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Government
Community resourses (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, Greater London11 September 2017
Every day different and the roles are what you make it. Hardest part was sometimes funding and limited budgets but that comes with the territory. Good location and management support most of the time. Nice offices and majority of colleagues great.
Pros
Canteen and great location. Nice offices.
Cons
Long hours, no payrises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insufficient numbers of permanent staff. Stressful.
OT (Former Employee) –  Adult Social Care25 July 2017
Currently there is low morale within the work force. Not enough frontline staff. Over a number of years as staff have left they have not been replaced with permanent staff. There are difficulties recruiting. As with the majority of boroughs everything is governed by a diminishing budget.

Having said all of that I enjoyed working with my colleagues for a very long time.
Pros
Mobile working.
Cons
Insufficient staff leading to pressure i.e. Work quotas being realistic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering for Victim Support
Victim Support (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Hillingdon28 June 2017
This was a lovely job as to getting to know victims via telephone or face to face contact. To reassure them that everything is fine and where they can get further help.
Pros
Own time to volunteer, support always available.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its all about saving money and not the staff
Staff (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge15 June 2017
Stressful job, management don't care about staff.
All about saving money, impossible deadlines and staff breaking down in tears because of this issue.
Pros
Lovely people working there
Cons
Not looking after their staffs mental health.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, yet little upward mobility
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  London29 March 2017
LBH Libraries provide a great first stepping stone into library and information services roles. However, the pay scale isn't as competitive as some central London organisations and needs more available training for full librarian qualifications.
Pros
Great first step
Cons
Long hours, uniform
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
test
ICT Procurement Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hillingdon, UK14 March 2017
not much to say aobut this - I worked as a work experience student and it was good experience. I learned quite a bit about computers and software during my 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Council Typical
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ruislip Manor10 March 2017
I worked for London Borough of Hillingdon Libraries. It is one of the best boroughs to work for when it comes to Libraries as it is one of the few which is fully staffed by hired individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work place
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  London24 January 2017
Lovely team. Great training benefits. Day to day job was varied and rewarding. Dealing with a lots of different disabilities. A place where you can have fun!
Pros
Good hours. Good annual leave and lieu time benefits
Cons
Higher management would do a lot of tick box exercises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated strong environment
Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Hillingdon, UK20 January 2017
LBH are in a precarious period due to government cut's but are working through this. It demands dedication but is slightly weak on appreciation and acknowledgement
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employers
Street Cleansing (Current Employee) –  Hillingdon Borough28 August 2016
Exciting work, outdoor & rewarding. Friendly people ,good hours if any down side non contractual ( Not permanent ).

I've learnt how to work as part of a team & enjoy getting good feed back from the public on the jobs that myself & team have achieved.
Pros
excellent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Deputy Supervisor - Tech Admin (Current Employee) –  Hillingdon7 May 2016
OK to work for, lots of re structuring going on, reducing chances of progression. However, lots of nice and talented work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social worker
Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Hillingdon, ENG14 January 2016
I enjoy my work with older adults.
I have a very good team and management support
My manager is flexible when I need support
Pros
I am very happy and committed to my work at LBH
Cons
flexibility and staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team
Gas Technical Officer (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, ENG7 January 2016
I worked with a great team in housing and environment
LBH was a very diverse and very large government organisation and very different from by previous council at Three Rivers DC.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at London Borough of Hillingdon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 44 reviews
513
413
39
26
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

London Borough of Hillingdon Reviews by Location