Liverpool John Moores University Employee Reviews

Found 65 reviews matching the search See all 68 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Programme Administrator (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside6 September 2019
This is a good employer to work for, the benefits out way anything, with good salary, holidays, flexi time and pension.
Can be very adaptable to assist with good work life balance.
Not much room for progression though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot whilst I worked for JMU
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Merseyside19 August 2019
Working for JMU was good, the people who I worked with were the best. Downfall is the pay and what is expected of you to do in your pay grade. No overtime available.
Pros
Good holiday allowance
Cons
Long hours, pay not great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace in LJMU
Formula Student Team (Former Employee) –  Liverpool15 August 2019
The member of formula student team at Liverpool John Moores University welcomed me with open arms when i was trying to join the team. The teamwork between each other is amazing!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer
Legal Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Liverpool13 June 2019
love working here
feel very accomplished
management is amazing
the solicitors that volunteer are always so nice and helpful and explain everything to us
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Nurse
Student Nurse (Current Employee) –  Liverpool12 June 2019
Currently Studying adult nursing at the University. I love the course, it makes me excited for my future carrier and supplies me with the tools and help i need to get there.
Pros
Close to accommodation
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside9 June 2019
1 Week of work experience at the Universtiy was one of the best weeks of my life, the staff where so welcoming and easy to talk to, the person in charge made the time I spent there so worth while.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employment practices
Support worker full time (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside8 May 2019
Working culture is stuck in the 70s some place with old managers acting as there are no employee rights. They can't even stick to their own polices. Lots of lovely people who have worked their from the time it was a good employer but things have changed and not for the best. Those who stay, stay either to retire or not by choice.
Expect long hours, no working from home at all.
Senior management foster a culture of living in fear of loosing your job continuously.
Maternity leave is 4 week! sickpay is also on similar lines.
Pros
location
Cons
no flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Accommodation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside3 May 2019
Great place to work. Great environment, amazing staff at the Student advice and wellbeing centre.

Accommodation team are the best and manage the team great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Web Developer (Former Employee) –  Liverpool20 February 2019
Fun and enjoyable place to work, great people and good work life balance balance. Constant scope for professional development, but senior management along with departmental tribalism was often a problem in relation to day to day workings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Payments Administrator (Oracle) (Former Employee) –  Liverpool City Centre, Merseyside14 December 2018
Loved the staff here. I was covering maternity leave.

I felt at ease coming in and helping cover the accounts team. I loved Oracle.

The enjoyable part of working there was the atmosphere of the staff. It made it easy to work.

I knew I was there temporarily so made sure I didn't get too attached.
Pros
Good balanced work load and location
Cons
Contract ended
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supporting Team
Executive Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Liverpool12 December 2018
RIS is a good and supportive team to work in, however my role is not stimulating or challenging enough compared to my previous roles therefore I am now looking for another job.
Pros
Felixible working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance, few opportunities for progression
Faculty Administrator (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, UK1 December 2018
Hours were good with flexible working available and management were generally straight forward. There was little opportunity for progression and the job security was lacking due to many posts being offered as fixed term contracts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University experience
student (Current Employee) –  byrom street14 October 2018
LJMU is a great university.

The staff are really kind and will help you with anything.

Byrom Street campus is nice, there is a starbucks which is too expensive but there also is a nice café with lots of vegetarian options and is really affordable and tasty.

Im in the science department.
Pros
nice cafe
Cons
no meeting place (pub)
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly bunch,
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside3 October 2018
Generally the comouter science staff are quiet and friendly. There is a tall overbearing staff member thats creates a lot of friction between other staff memebrs and students, Apart from that Its a nice envirioment to work.
Pros
Nice relaxed atmosphetre
Cons
Some awkward colleagues to contend with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly yet professional culture
8-week Internship (Former Employee) –  Liverpool27 September 2018
8 week internship was truly enjoyable. Project leader was friendly and informative. Staff across all departments seemed to be willing to help if required.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enjoyable experience
Research Assistant in Computer Science Department (Former Employee) –  Liverpool13 September 2018
i would work from my office with other PhD students while researching into new topics within Fog computing.

I learned a lot about research design as well as publishing papers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Helpful.
English and Creative Writing Student Consultant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool25 July 2018
Even though, I was only consulting within lessons the members of staff are forthcoming and helpful, which helps create and amicable and approachable environment. The students, subsequently, become far easier to talk to as they are willing to share and divulge in their own practices of writing.
Pros
Great Staff and Students.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, collaborative and educational place to work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Merseyside12 July 2018
Excellent collaborative and engaging working environment that gave me the tools to go on and achieve great things in the field of academia. The staff at LJMU gave me the freedom and independence to develop myself as not only a researcher and teacher but as a person, whom I developed my confidence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helper
Leisure/Sports Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool5 July 2018
Typical day consists of assisting the staff with activities such as netball or harnessing for rock climbing. Then afterwards cleaning up facilities and returning equipment.
Pros
Fun enviorment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great History
Various Positions (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside5 July 2018
This has always been a great place to work but recently the culture has changed and it's been harder to feel the same pride that I used to at working here.
Pros
Some flexibility
Cons
Constant changes and poor communication from senior managment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Liverpool John Moores University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 68 reviews
534
424
37
21
12

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Liverpool John Moores University Reviews by Location