Lidl Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Customer assistant/cashier (Current Employee) –  Darwen, Lancashire4 May 2018
Hardest part of the job is getting your breaks. being so busy, sometimes it is hard for staff to fit in the legal breaks.
All staff are working very hard. I've got a better understanding of the demands on shop personnel and management.
Working with customers is the best part of the job. no two days are the same and interacting with people is very easy for me.
Pros
10% employer discount card
Cons
very physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Picker/Packer (Current Employee) –  Exeter, Devon3 May 2018
very good teams and understandings;
good food at the coffeteria and a lot of many things to learn and you can meet new people and make friends.
flexible schedual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but good pay
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Coatbridge2 May 2018
Depending on the shift you work different roles within the store, this means each day is similar but not exactly the same. I have learned to be quick on my feet and time efficient during my time there. The hardest part of the job would definitely be the work load and the heavy early morning shifts, and the most enjoyable part would be the work environment.
Pros
Good pay, flexible hours
Cons
Long shifts, late finishes, demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Asking too much if you
Priduction Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Wimbledon, Greater London2 May 2018
Expect to do what would be 3 jobs of work squeezed into one person and paid for one person. After years of being given more and more to do I'm leaving and a credit it to its over arching culture in the business.
Pros
10% staff discount
Cons
Overworked and under paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good,fun working place
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London28 April 2018
It was good place to work,but management need to improve to listen to staff.Payment,holiday,pension was good,paid break was also very good initiative.
Pros
good money, discounts
Cons
1 person need to do 4 peoples job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hadley, Shropshire26 April 2018
a good place to work for. typical work day would consist of serving customers, replenishing shelves. as well as doing date check and temperature checks. management wasn't the best when i was working there. hardest part of the job is trying to memorise the codes to the fruit and vegetables
Cons
trying to memorise the fruit and veg codes
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Haverhill24 April 2018
Working at lidl was ok until i got diagnosed with a chronic illness, then it became hard to manage and i was constantly having to take time off. i couldn't cope with the lifting.

I would recommend working here if you are in good physical shape and can manage high pressure and a fast pace job.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable but Challenging
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow23 April 2018
An excellent place to learn or develop new skills. It can be rather intense and tiring with regards to customers and the physical aspects of the job but it is all valuable
Pros
Develop Skills and Good Pay
Cons
Tiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you value your life as a human being, do not work here.
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom22 April 2018
Working for this company left me with severe depression and anxiety, due to the horrendous mistreatment from management, and the company itself.
This is a company that employs intimidation as a management tool, one especially favoured by company directors/auditors/upper management during their relentless store visits.
No aspect of your appearance, attitude or mannerism is left uncriticized, leading to staff being ground down to nothing if you try to endure it for too long.
Any hope of a personal life is out of the question, you will be expected to give that up for this company. You may receive a good payslip at the end of the month, but what's the point if you have no time to enjoy it?
Honestly, I could keep adding to this review until my fingers wear down to the knuckle.

Just take my advice, don't.

You're better than this.
Pros
High pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 149No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend management with this company unless you live to work.
assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  North West19 April 2018
Unsociable hrs, 50 hrs plus per wk and expected to do extra. Pay not good when you actually work out your hrly rate. Regularly working through breaks.
Rotas two wks in advance when should be three.
Lack of communication, team spirit and team development.
Management rule with a tell approach.
Pros
discount off shopping
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good role but robotic
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Braintree18 April 2018
enjoyed my time here but found it very restrictive to grow as a manager. I think it is best for colleagues who are starting out in their management career
Pros
good salary
Cons
poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boaring
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London17 April 2018
Expected to work silly shift patterns with no regard for family or social life.
Over worked In a repeatative mind numbing job
Get stuck on tills most of your shift with a poxy 30min break.
Told to work at a stupid fast pace, with most managers moaning about staff
Keep moving staff around to other stores which can create a unstable environment.
Pros
Good basic salary
Cons
Early starts late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would'nt go back
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Nottinghamshire16 April 2018
Decent pay but really rubbish hours unless you book holidays off weeks and weeks in advance. Also you get really frowned upon if you ring in sick and the management can be really unorganised and immature.
Pros
discount
Cons
long hours, really difficult to book time off, favouritsm
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Manager
Store Assistant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Nottingham15 April 2018
Awful Management, expect the world and never give any praise for the hard work you put in. Pay is great but expect to be treated like a worthless slave for it
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits not a good work life balance
graduate scheme (Former Employee) –  England12 April 2018
long hours, no work life balance, expected to work over 50 hours in one week with no recognition for the favours you have given. changing as a company however never follow through.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, stressful demands
Customer Assistant/Cashier & Trainee Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Woodley12 April 2018
At first it was a job like any other, however, 10-hour shifts with possible overtime are exhausting. I was encouraged to be a duty in March 2018 manager (supervisor), I was informed they would be a training programme into the summer after applying. I was given disjointed crash-courses from different members of staff and thrown into the metaphorical deep end of being a duty manager over 2 weeks before the application was even available. I still don't know what I am doing after nearly a month of having things hurriedly explained to me and the interview for the job is next week!
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok if you do not have any other commitments
sales assistant/duty manager (Current Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire11 April 2018
its ok unless you have a uni or college course along side it and then they say they will accommodate but they do not. make you work over your contracted hours. Change the rota without telling you.
Pros
good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult company to work for in the end
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Dereham, Norfolk10 April 2018
when I first started the job was enjoyable, but then the criteria for each member of staff changed, less time to work delivery, having to scan more items per minute. it became stressful working there
Pros
good rates of pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Penicuik9 April 2018
Every day would be busy and fast-paced. Being kept busy and learning new roles. Would be kept busy as soon as you entered the store. The best part was the smell of the bakery.
Cons
very long hours to very short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic environment
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southampton9 April 2018
manager yelling at staff and customers, manager does not give you enough hours (makes you compensate by sending you to other stores), bad company culture
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 75No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lidl. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 4,102 reviews
5890
41.3K
31.1K
2452
1400

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture