Lidl Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire11 September 2017
Very well run company to work within. The working conditions are very good and staff are catered for at all times. Staff discount is available if needed within the company .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Port Talbot11 September 2017
@the and the surrounding area and the surrounding areas that are available in your area and the other side effects of mobile phones in the UK and Ireland
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Duty Manager and Training Mentor (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire7 September 2017
lot of work to do
not enough people
management is ok
friendly
have to be ready for over time
the payment I think is ok
nice team but if can be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire7 September 2017
very hard work you have to do all jobs virutally youself including pulling in deliveries and putting i out and a long working week but a high salary f
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, but pays better than other supermarkets
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Poole7 September 2017
Start at 5am or finish at 10.30pm
working deliveries, tills, bakery
discount card
good pay
flexible hours
management always changing
no consistency with management or hours
Pros
discount card
Cons
early mornings late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place i ever worked
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Southampton4 September 2017
Unorganized, poor management, shift changes from day to day with no notice, unreasonable hours, working 3 weekends in a row before getting a weekend off.
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay you well in order to keep you
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oswestry, Shropshire4 September 2017
Loved the actual job but the training & management were a joke. There's a reason they're the best payers - it keeps people in their employment!! Training was pretty much non existent, management unapproachable & selfish. Hours inflexible.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer assistance
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Worcester, Worcestershire31 August 2017
Very good please to work for
You will get trained for the job expected
It's a hand on job
You will need to be up for any job thrown at you.
You need to be flexible with hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
picker
selection (Former Employee) –  Wednesbury, West Midlands29 August 2017
typical day in the new wednesbury ldc is that you start at 1255.u get ten minutes to travel to your area of work on a motorised truck.

you pick using a headset which is counter productive from your point of view but from lidl point of view they can see how fast you are going.

management immediately above you is pretty much okay these guys are under immense pressure,and will eventually heap that pressure on you if you ae underperforming.

workplace culture is fine dependent on where you are and what you do. i.e chatting away for ten mins is liable to getting you told off.

hardest part of the job is the long hours.you really dont know when you finish.if you dcide to do your contracted hours only this is unnacceptable and you will be shipped out pronto.

enjoyable part of the job is money for most people used to minimum wage this is a pound above it and you can make some decent money if you sacrifice your family time.

i would recomment lidl distribution however only on a short term basis if you love your family time, if you dont then happy days :D
Pros
money
Cons
long hours that only get longer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and great company
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Torquay, Devon28 August 2017
Learnt an awful lot within Lidl, Started at the bottom and made my way up. Learnt Ordering, dealing with deliveries, customer service, money management, working under pressure, communication with staff and customers.
The most rewarding part of the job was to satisfy other people.
Pros
Pension scheme, Always something to work towards within company
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, however sometimes stressful
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk27 August 2017
Fast paced environment, most of time busy.
I have developed my communication skills and customer service awareness.The hardest part of work was waking up early morning
Pros
Discount Card
Cons
Different shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant branch manager
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  East London, Greater London26 August 2017
running the shift,
responsible for stock ordering
freshness control
team work - motivating, helping each other, sharing tasks.

responsible for chash handling- cashing up tills, counting safe and etc.

responsible to achieve companies goals- productivity, write offs, inventory focus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Newton Aycliffe, Durham24 August 2017
Good wage, good work hours. Unfortunately the work was temporary. Also inhouse forklift licience, secure car park available. This job would of been perfect if it was not temp.
Pros
Good work hours & wage
Cons
Temporary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff, out of office hours programs
Accounts Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wimbledon, Greater London22 August 2017
Lidl is an international company offering quality products in competitive prices. Working in the Head Office in Wimbledon is interesting. At the Administration department everyone is working hard to reach the targets and keep the deadlines.
The company offers study support for their employees and other training options.
Pros
Employee discount card, pension schemes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slightly above average pay but long hours
duty manager (Current Employee) –  Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire22 August 2017
Good company to work for part time as they are very flexible however full time employment will lead to a poor work life balance. Job satisfaction is very often dependent upon the management at the time. The company offer very little in the way of benefits.
Pros
flexible if part time
Cons
long hours and poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Braintree, Essex17 August 2017
Lidl is a fun but hard work.
The day to day jobs are the same each day witch are
working tills, putting out store, managing staff and getting them to work in the lidl way
Pros
Discount cards
Cons
Long working days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improvement can be made
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Woolwich15 August 2017
I felt management was poor, no one knew how to run the store. We had muitple applicants for Lidl in Woolwich and they were all moved to somewhere else because how out store was being run to the group and I still feel we could do better as a company in woolwich. The hours may be long however it is good pay and I can't argue with that. However I wouldn't get my fix hours a week. So for example I'm on 25 hours per week. I only get 16 hours. That's something I'm not to happy about.
Pros
Making loads of money
Cons
Didn't get all my hours I was promised in my con
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working day
Smdi Store Manager (Current Employee) –  North Wales14 August 2017
lots of hard work productive
good management skills
very rigid with its expectations

hardest part of the job is jusggling all tasks daily but can be rewarding when you can achieve the tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work for in aycliffe RDC
Picker/Packer (Current Employee) –  Newton Aycliffe12 August 2017
Management are an absolute joke, they will rinse the life right out of you just to hit impossible targets, threaten you with your job on a daily basis.
Pros
Non
Cons
The whole work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blood, Sweat and Not Enough time
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Pollokshaws11 August 2017
Starting at 5am and running about pulling pallets and getting delivery out the before the store opened at 8am
learning all the time but how to manage time and staff and deliveries
Management in the store i worked in where not great as they would leave things for you to do and if you didnt get through it all they would be on your case all day
the hardest part of the job starting very early in the morning and not knowing when your are finishing
the most enjoyable part of this job was the constant learning and getting my personal licence for alcohol sales
Pros
good rate of pay and flexable working pattern
Cons
not enough time to finish tasks set
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lidl. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,027 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2