Lidl Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in progress!
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Bathgate, West Lothian18 January 2018
By far the worst employer I’ve ever experienced. A modern day sweat shop who had complete disregard for H.R. regulations and health & safety. This was quite sometime ago and I believe improvements have been made.
Cons
No lunches or breaks if Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t bother applying its donkey work!
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brighouse, West Yorkshire15 January 2018
I lasted 6 hours I hated every second of it too many managers and not enough store assistants. I was suppose to be getting trained but left to do things I couldn’t totally appalled by this Lidl managers swearing like troopers. Don’t work for Lidl it’s rubbish.
Pros
None
Cons
No training, Managers language appalling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked with shocking conditions
Anchor (Current Employee) –  Newcastle, County Down15 January 2018
Made to work in 4/5 degrees. Not acceptable at all as the comfortable working temperature throughout Uk is 13-16 degrees. Issue been reported and management in HQ don’t respond and are not in a hurry to fix the issue as we are never they’re main worry. Management in store constantly tell us this issue will be resolved whilst we all come into work with our own jackets and hoodies on below our work jackets as it’s that cold. Work life balance is poor as we either start at 6am and work through until 4 with usually no break or a short 10 minute break that we ‘need’ to rush to get back out. The their option is working 12-10pm which leaves you with next to no social life. Found the same problem in several stores but this is the worst. Wouldn’t recommend
Pros
High wages
Cons
Long hours, freezing working conditions, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good platform to gain confidence and experience of superb team work
Store Caretaker/Baker (Current Employee) –  Store 1110 in Dewsbury, West Yorkshire15 January 2018
Working at Lidl Store, has offered me team working opportunity. It has opened my knowledge to the potential opportunities that are available to explore.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
Minimal staff incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over baring Management!
Cartakere (Former Employee) –  Willenhall, West Midlands13 January 2018
I Loved my job. I liked the fact that I had gained the respect and trust of my manager and colleagues at the store where I originally worked.Problems only arose when I transferred. This being mismanagement, Some managers are overbearing, disrespectful and undervalue staff. Once this happens you haven't a leg to stand on. Because management will always side with each other. Therefore no matter what Lidl working policies state it's not actually a fair playing field. It's the manager's word against yours and in my case the manager and the area manager were friends, so I didn't stand a chance being only a caretaker. It's an ok place to work if you are lucky enough to have a decent manager.
Pros
Nice colleagues
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace
Duty Manager/cashier (Former Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare12 January 2018
Working for Lidl is a great job if you like to be on the go all the time. The fun never stops, it is not a typical cashier job where you only serve customers, when not serving there is always something else to do. Great employers, always treated me well.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Very physcal job
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lidl area manager
Area Manager (Current Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire12 January 2018
Simply unbearable in every way. Senior managers micro-manage to the degree us area managers are purely working hours beyond belief to try to make up for the company's inadequacy
Pros
Company car, salary
Cons
Work life balance, unreasonable pressure, unreasonable targeting, weak training
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands8 January 2018
Lovely staff to work with. Good hours and they pay a good salary. Very happy place to work and always feel motivated. Nice customers. Good staff incentives and discounts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 37Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy it
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Livingston3 January 2018
Did not enjoy my time with lidl you are treated like a slave no work life balance nasty management who think they are better than everyone sitting in there office all day TALKING about everyone and doing very little work apart from plotting there next affairs etc
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Felixstowe, Suffolk3 January 2018
Nice workplace
Friendly team
10% discount throughout the year and 20% at Christmas
Nice customers
Not boring
Strenuous
Good management
Friendly customers
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend to anyone full time
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hayes, Greater London3 January 2018
A typical day would last at least 30 mins longer than expected. The job definitely depends on the management and your team members. The money is not the effort by far. Nearly everyone I worked with suffered from long term back pains. The duty of care by my manager was missing.

Working in a small store might be better.
Pros
10% Discount
Cons
no duty of care to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor training
Store assistant (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham30 December 2017
Customer service, working in high paste working environment, taking part in all aspects of work of the store (checkouts, shopfloor, backstock, rotating the stock, date checking, bakery and customer services).
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Assistant
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morpeth, Northumberland29 December 2017
Just the same as any other store work really, although you work both the shop floor and the tills as well as being the clean up crew too. The deliveries would come in in the morning and you have to stack the shelves as well as running the store, its not a hard place to work but as you have to pull pallets around you need to be able to be active.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work BUT......
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff29 December 2017
Rubbish training
Constantly being told to go FASTER on tills even when there are pensioners who can't keep up
Extremely rude customers , probably due to the queues and having to wait around
Very physically demanding on shop floor when doing deliveries and working stock
At interview stage you are told by the Regional manager /Store manager that Lidl promises a good work/ life balance...this is utter rubbish ! Unless you specifically request short shifts , you are instantly put on lates and weekends.
Pays good though and the staff are awesome 😊
Pros
Pay and 10% discount
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Business Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee) –  Wimbledon, Greater London28 December 2017
Lidl has made a lot of progress since I started working there. Lots of training and development opportunities and great little company perks from time to time,
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire20 December 2017
Never get the shifts you are going to work , you are supposed to get a two/three week rota, does not happen , hours always short. and management is very bad.
Not been trained yet but put on tills straight away.
Cons
not organisation, bad managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wiltshire18 December 2017
Very well organised company to work with. would definable recommend them to anyone looking for a job. excellent management team at all time. friendly work environment at all times
Pros
great work environment
Cons
none 1
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't care about staff
Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Belfast15 December 2017
0/10 Dismissed for forgetting to pay for a packet of wine gums, absolutely a disgrace for a loyal staff member who went above and beyond for the company
Cons
The job
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cheap food low quality
Manager (Former Employee) –  Luton, Bedfordshire15 December 2017
50+ hour weeks sometimes you don't finish work until midnight and are then expected back in at 5am next day
you are expected to work very fast on very tight dead lines jump on and off till in and out of bakery clean toilets as u don't have a full time cleaner act as a security guard and put our self at risk
rotas change ever day so getting a balance between home life is impossible
no progression no training plans
management do not manage as they are working all the delivery breaks are skipped and sometimes only 15min you are not able to leave the store for breaks
never enough staff as productivity targets are unrealistic
no incentive no bonus
Pros
none
Cons
long hours low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burton-On-Trent15 December 2017
the first thing we did for the day was put away all deliveries. then it would be stock replenishment, and cleaning of the store after we would be given our roles for the day. i mostly worked on the tills, serving customers for a variety of backgrounds. handling cash, using tills and credit card payments. if it was quiet we would help tidy the store. fill shelves. the management was fair. i dont believe there was a hard part to the job. it was physical with the lifting. the most enjoyable was seeing different faces everyday. no 2 days were the same
Pros
good wages
Cons
physical
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lidl. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,256 reviews
5709
41K
3879
2349
1295

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture