Lidl Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management very poor
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southend, Essex10 December 2017
Great company overall great pay and hours always there, trained in all aspect of supermarket retail although in store management very poor. Loved the job but management is very poor speacialy store managers assistant Collette very rude to new stuff. Store 0743 Southend on Sea
Pros
Never have break on time
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harpurhey10 December 2017
It's hard work and the days are long, a lot of variety of tasks to do. It does get busy and stressful at times but great colleagues and good management at shop level make this a fun place to work
Pros
Pay
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackheath8 December 2017
just evertime you go up or down a pound on your till, you feel like your job is at stake. other than that it is a fantastic company to work for and i hope i can be kept on a permanent basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not something i would do again thats for sure
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Luton4 December 2017
Typical day at work during training you'd be sat in front of a computer screen for your full days work, worse place ever as new starter, constant rushing around and you get many members of staff telling you to do different things
Pros
Pay rate is good
Cons
Ridiculous training scheme, Small lunch break, lack of care from staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing team to work with
Customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Saltash30 November 2017
experience working at lidl was great as i met some amazing people and i worked in the store helping people and had brilliant training and i gave me a good insight into working with the public.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morden Station29 November 2017
Job Roles:
Assist the Assistant Store Manager and Store Manager with all areas of store operations.
Operate the checkout and handle cash and carry out regular freshness checks to ensure we offer the freshest
produce.
To enjoy working in fast-paced, varied environment, hitting targets and meeting deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well paid hard work
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Bristol28 November 2017
You will need to be a honest hard working person as this is a fast pace and constant working retailer. However you are well paid and if you put the effort in the rewards are in your own hands.
Pros
salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glad to not be working there anymore
Caretaker/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Lutterworth27 November 2017
all was good for years, then a different department moved into the offices I was assigned to, I didn't fit into their circle and when making my life unbearable and miserable did not get me to leave, they ended the contract with my agency, took me on via T.U.P.E law, then made me redundant.

horrible people, shame because the previous department were a really nice bunch to work with.
Pros
some people are nice
Cons
others are unpleasant to say the least, and treat cleaners like 2nd class citizens
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun team to work with, unsociable work hours, physically demanding
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire24 November 2017
Depending on when you start your shift 5am starts consist of putting out stock until we open which can be quite strenuous. Late shifts usually consist of being on the tills as it tends to be very busy, if you get off the tills you're de-carding the store. Some late shifts can finish 10pm or later depending on how busy the store was.

I work with a good group of people at Lidl but I am aware some store managers can be quite lazy and unapproachable.

Good rate of pay and flexible with hours, if you need a shift covering (usually) someone will do it for you. Not as easy to get more hours if you want them though.

Very busy, fast paced environment but will be rewarding if you want to progress within the company.
Pros
10% discount, good team
Cons
5am starts, late finishes, physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff brilliant company
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff21 November 2017
I enjoyed it here it was fun and outgoing. Staff are amazing and you learn new things quickly here not just one thing you learn a variety. Good to work for
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Traveling so far away
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Belvedere, Greater London19 November 2017
It's very close to home and good place to work. people here are great to work with and well managed. The hours of work is good. The discount for staff helps with the family shopping
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy enviroment
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire19 November 2017
i would start my day at lidl doing picking using voice machine on ppt truck i would pick from the freezer or chiller or fruit and veg stacking the products onto pallets then shrink wrapping the pallet and taking it to its lane to be deliverd to store
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but that's what I liked
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterlee, Durham18 November 2017
I loved working at Lidl in peterlee. The staff and costomers were fantastic. The manager who trained me was great.I learnt a lot from all the girls their
Pros
God staff
Cons
Late finishes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Inverurie, Aberdeenshire18 November 2017
Fast paced and everything is worked around being productive within the store. Stores are run by a store manager and then an assistant store manager. You can have as many duty managers within your store as you like .All staff is part time and you have to be flexible with your work hours as its open 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Training mentor (Current Employee) –  Middlesbrough's16 November 2017
Very hard working culture targets to be hit work on your own initiative.company going through a change in direction for the good.good pay get paid for every minute worked
Pros
Good discount
Cons
Long shift's
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent.
On site project manager (Current Employee) –  Scotland16 November 2017
Lidl is a company you'd really need to think about joining. Your work life balance will be put in jeopardy. The salary is good yeah but the work is brutal
Pros
Money
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive and hard working
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare, Somerset3 November 2017
it was a very good place to work , where you had pick rates , , each employee had their own pick rate , but we some times competed with each other, The management were very helpful and easy approachable,
Pros
free use of canteen, free fruit on tuesday, biscuit friday and 10% discount card
Cons
some times work ran out
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Crowborough, East Sussex2 November 2017
Company focuses on productivity. To make targets and force staff to work long hours. No balance. Early starts. And late nights. Customer service is no longer a priority. Till speeds are always checked and have long queues.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun
Deputy Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Caister-on-Sea, Norfolk1 November 2017
Early start at 5 to get delivery done!do orders and other paperwork jobs that need doing!long hours which means I don’t get to spend much time with my family!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd work there again
Store Assistant/Non Food coordinator Manager (Former Employee) –  Caerphilly30 October 2017
Long hours and lots of overtime was available. Couldn't really take my breaks because it was so busy and management didn't really let me take my breaks. Apart from that it was hard work, allot of grafting and I enjoyed it! I love working hard, makes the day go quicker.
Pros
good wage
Cons
Long hours, never get your break, allot of grafting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lidl. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,020 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2